10/22 Hoot AMPS 280, +2/203, +8/165, +10/213, PMPS 213

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pam & Hoot

Member Since 2012
Good morning and thank you for inviting me to join this group. I really need the help to get Hoot regulated a little better. I finally got the spreadsheet done lastnight. I'm just waiting for someone to tell me how much insulin I should give this morning. I think I was told .5 but want to make sure. And please let me know what I should or shouldn't be doing in this board. I'm trying to read everything but just haven't got there yet. I will, I want to help you so you can help me!
 
Re: 10/22 Hoots AMPS 280

Welcome to Lantus Land, Pam!

Here's the link to your thread from the Relaxed board so people can get acquainted with you and Hoots and get up to speed with what's been going on. Thanks for getting his spreadsheet put together.

Hoots' numbers don't look at all bad for having skipped last nights' shot. I suggested that you reduce Hoots' dose to 0.5u beginning today given how he dropped into the 20s yesterday. What I'm suggesting is getting Hoots on a dose that you can comfortably shoot twice a day at 12-hour intervals. (FYI: if you shoot late, like when you shot at +4.5 yesterday, your PM shot would be 12 hours later and not at your usual shot time. With having skipped the shot, you are back on schedule this morning.)

As we mentioned yesterday, you'll see better results with Lantus if you are consistent with both dose and shot time. We'd also ask that in addition to your pre-shot tests, you get at least one test during both the AM and PM cycles. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir (lowest point in the cycle) so spot checks during the cycle give you the data you'll need to guide your dosing decisions.

As you're settling into your routine, please take the time to read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. There is a huge volume of information there that will help you to get oriented to using Lantus and managing Hoots' diabetes. Most importantly, please ask questions. There is a great deal of experience and expertise here and people are very generous with their time and information. We're here to help in whatever way we can.
 
Re: 10/22 Hoots AMPS 280

Great! I will start him a .5. I feel like we might be able to finally get some control on this now. You have given me some peace of mind knowing someone will be there for me now. It's pretty scary and confusing at first nailbite_smile. Hoot and I thank you! :-D
 
Re: 10/22 Hoots AMPS 280

Hi Pam and Hoots and welcome to LL TR,

Your Spreadsheet is working fine. Sienne and Rhiannon have already given you lots of information about how to proceed. It is really good to have a protocol to follow so that you never have to puzzle about the "when" and the "how" and the "how much".

When you have questions, you can put a remark to that effect in your subject line. If a question emerges later in the day, go back to your initial post of that day and edit the subject line there (otherwise no one will see that you need help). Similarly, many of us keep track of our kitties' bg readings during the course of a cycle by editing the subject line in the initial post of the day to include subsequent bg numbers. This is a good way for people to keep track without having to pull up your spreadsheet every time, and it is a good way to spot potential problems.

Welcome again, and never be shy about asking questions. Everyone here wants the best for you and Hoots.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/22 Hoots AMPS 280

Thanks Ella, good FYI. So much to learn but I know I can do it with the help of everyone! Luckily Hoot is very forgiving with the tests. I t could be alot worse I think. Now I just need more parctice, LOL!
 
Re: 10/22 Hoots AMPS 280

Morning Pam,
I'm so glad you have come over here. This is a fantastic group and you will get lots of help. ( more eyes )
If you have time later, you might get that profile link working ( I thought you had a profile up yesterday but the link didn't work)
and a picture too. :-D
 
Re: 10/22 Hoots AMPS 280

Thanks Rhiannon, I will work on the profile. I don't think it ever was up. The SS was up and the link didn't work, but I think I got that fixed. I am about to test him again, then I have to be gone for a few hours, but will test when I get back.
 
Re: 10/22 Hoots AMPS 280

Welcome to Lantus Land, Pam and Hoots!

Jane here :mrgreen: I'm glad you made it over here! Sienne's suggested dose of 0.5u is a good, safe place to start. I understand how overwhelmed you must be with all there is to absorb - we all understand that!

Please ask ANYTHING you are not sure of, no matter how silly or trivial you may worry it might be. The only "stupid" questions here are the ones that are not asked :lol:

It can help to break down the vast range of information into topic groups. Say, (1) Lantus and how it works, (2) Dosing and how it works, (3) Testing BG, how it works, and why it's something we'll pester you aboug (4) Food, and so on. Just post any questions on any topic, and one of us will be here to help you understand the information, ok? We do a kind of tag-team system here - when you have late nights, we work the time zones to make sure no one is left alone when they need help. I'm in Cape Town, myself, so I first come on mostly when it's morning for me but late night for most of the others :smile:

Welcome, again!
Hugs,
Jane
 
Re: 10/22 Hoot AMPS 280, +2/203

Thanks Jane! I am looking forward to meeting everyone. It is quite overwhelming right now, but I know it will get easier and I am so glad that I now am not going this alone! BTW, I was in Cape town several years ago. I worked on a Cruise Ship that docked there. It is beautifl there!
 
Re: 10/22 Hoot AMPS 280, +2/203

Just a warm Lantus Land welcome to you and Hoots, Pam. We are here to help you in any way we can. If you need assistance, click on the ? button above the subject line by opening the FIRST post of the day and clicking "edit". Be sure you click "submit" when you are done. You can also ask for dose help, etc by putting "dose ?" in your subject line.

Everyone is very friendly and anxious to help so please be sure you take advantage of all the great resources here. You did a super job handling those low numbers yesterday.

If you need help with the profile, please PM me and we will get it done!

Have a great day and we're glad you are here.
 
Re: 10/22 Hoot AMPS 280, +2/203, +8/165

Thanks Marje! Everyone has been so wonderful! I feel so much better today knowing you all got my back! And Hoots #'s are so much better today. I really think I was just giving him to much, but I didn't know. And he is just being soooo AWESOME :-D He is such a great cat. I will work on the profile when I have more time tonight, I am still confused about how I name the profile and spreadsheet and add x-tras like you all have. I tried, but never seemed to get it right...Computers...or is it Computer Operators, LOL!
 
Re: 10/22 Hoot AMPS 280, +2/203, +8/165

Great cycle for Hoot today!

To fancy up your links:
  • Go to the link location -- the http:// location at the top of your browser -- and copy it.
  • Once you are in a text box, click on the square button with the URL inside it. This will insert the code to indicate that you are embedding a link in the text box. It will look like this: .
  • Inside the first set of brackets, type an equal sign (i.e., =) and then paste the location of the link. It will look like [ url=http://etc.]. (FYI - do not put a space in between the bracket and any code information. It's the only way I could reproduce the information so it woud appear in a way that you can see it.)
  • Between the two sets of brackets, type the name of whatever you want to call the link: [ url=http://etc.]Hoot's Spreadsheet[/url]
This will work for linking Hoot's SS, his Profile, or if you want to insert a link in your condo.
 
Re: 10/22 Hoot AMPS 280, +2/203, +8/165, +10/213

Thanks Sienna, Yeah, Hoot is doing great today! Amazing how much better it is when your not getting to much insulin. I love my vet but Wow, I could have lost my baby! :cry: I just think of all the people who don't take their pets care into their own hands and do what needs to be done for them, scary!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top