10/22 Gracie PMPS 324 +2 249 +3 221 +4 126 +5 72 +7 105

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27938

Recap:
AMPS: 225
+2: 208
+4: 255
+6: 267
PMPS: 293
+2: 307
+4: 313
+7: 267


Good morning...it's Friday!!!

WCR: 5Ps in place this morning!!! Heavy on the playing P. She and Tobey have been at it nonstop this morning...chase, wrestle, chase. DH and I went btb after AMPS, feed, shoot and it sounded like the WWF in our bedroom (sorry, from the cats, not us...we were trying to sleep). Gracie the Buttwhomper vs the Tobinator. I think Gracie won...she still outweighs him by a pound but he's a strong, muscular kitten. We're hoping that whatever was going on yesterday is in the past. If she doesn't show some blues/greens today, I'm going to wonder if there's something up with the insulin...it's only 32 days old but (until I read Sienne's post...THANK YOU) we kept it in the frig door so it probably wasn't stable insofar as temp and movement. Let's just hope it was a short bounce and we'll be back in business today.

Have a wonderful day...loved your condos this morning!!!

I'm sooooo ready for the FALL FULL MOON PARTY....let's get all the stuffs we need for grillin'. Can't wait to see Chef Mannie's menu!!
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie AMPS 218

Hey Marjorie - haven't popped in here in a few days, was just admiring Gracie's SS. you guys are getting comfortable in the greens. nice. funny you should mention the Lantus Lifespan, lots of discussion about that around the boards this morning. we've just made the switch to cartridges, opened my first one a couple days ago. mea culpa, shouldn't have waited so long. Shadow's numbers were still good but the new cart. packed a bit of a punch. I wasn't expecting that.
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie AMPS 218 +2 36!

Holy cow!!! We've been running around here playing and have a great time....this number was totally unexpected...what a drop. She hasn't been as enthused about the morning's breakfast choice and I wonder if that's why it dropped so fast. Fed 1 tsp 13% and rechecking in a few minutes. Wonder if she will bounce up because housekeeper came in as we were getting ready to test and scared the holy crappus out of Gracie so we might see something from that. FLAT YELLOWS..something cooking....no kidding gang!!
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie AMPS 218 +2 36!

Holy Cow! (That's not what I really said.) You may need to give her some karo with that low number. Recheck in 15.
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie AMPS 218 +2 36!

holycarp.jpg
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie AMPS 218 +2 36 +2.5 37

Thanks Ele...we did...just gave her some more 13% with karo....she over responds to the 18% so we'll try this first. Rechecking in 15.

No kidding MJ!!! This was TOTALLY unexpected...have never seen her drop like that. Now she's got Mannie beat.
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie AMPS 218 +2 36 +2.25 37

Sheesh Gracie! Eat your breffis! You gotta carb load before all that exercise. That 13% certainly didn't bring her up much, but they say it takes 20 minutes for food to get into their system. So i usually wait that long to retest, but I know that Tess responds well to food. Have you tried the FF Gravy lovers Beef feast? 15% and it bring Tess right up, the gravy is thin enough to squeeze out easily too.
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie AMPS 218 +2 36 +2.25 37 + 2.5 59

Ann...I think I have that but she is so carb sensitive that I wanted to just try the 13% which is tuna florentine with gravy. I was afraid to wait more than 15 mins with a number that low and a drop that big. I gave her 0% this morning because her numbers were so high yesterday and her AMPS was ok...it was only slightly lower than yesterday and she just kept going up yesterday. I think my BG is about 500 right now!! I need ~O) ~O) and breffis. Thankfully DH is here for moral and pokey support :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie AMPS 218 +2 36 +2.25 37 + 2.5 59 +2.75 76

Not feeding this 76 ...I'm sure some of it is still karo induced as it has only been 30 mins since we gave karo. Will continue to check her.
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie AMPS 218 +2 36 +2.25 37 + 2.5 59 +2.75 76

Nice job. :thumbup ECID and I've learned how Tess reacts. I know just about any food will stop the drop and I get a little clearer view of what it has done if I wait those few more minutes. Besides, once I test, get the food ready and she takes her time eating it, it is usually 20 minutes anyway. :lol:
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie AMPS 218 +2 36 +2.25 37 + 2.5 59 +2.75 76

Ann...great info and I appreciate it...I've used alot of info from you all to figure out (sorta) how to steer her but I'm not a master at it yet like some of you!!

67 @ + 3.25...only gave 1/4 tsp 4% just to keep her from diving back down since nadir is still 2-3/4 hours.
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie AMPS 218 +2 36 + 2.5 59 + 3.25 67 + 4.5 73

I took some of the tests out of the subject line but my SS is up-to-date.

I had to feed her 1 tsp 0% at 4.5 because she was starving....she just kept walking back and forth on the bar and staring at their plates. I'm hoping that 0% will not affect her number as she is SURFIN'...finally!
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie AMPS 218 +2 36 + 2.5 59 + 3.25 67 + 4.5 73

Wow guys....I am wondering how Gracie will like her new lowered dose!!! She is really something else!!
Congratulations! Well done Marjorie!! :mrgreen: Woo-Woo!!!!
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie AMPS218 +2 36 +2.5 59 +3.25 67 +4.5 73 +5.5

Raja...shhhhhh.....we must be vewy vewy quiet; if they can't find us, they can't pokey us.
 

Attachments

  • Hiding.jpg
    Hiding.jpg
    31.1 KB · Views: 1,388
Re: 10/22 GracieAMPS218+2 36+2.5 59+4.5 73+5.5 102+6.5 125DO

Sorry I had to run the subject line together.

Recap of today:
AMPS: 218
+2: 36! fed 13%
+2.25: 37 fed 13% & 1 drop karo
+2.5: 59 fed 1/2 tsp 4% w/scant 13% gravy
+2.75: 76 did not feed
+3.25: 67 fed 1/4 tsp 4%
+3.75: 75
+4.5: 73 fd 1 tsp 0% as she was starving (didn't get all her minimeals in at +1, +2, +3)
+5.5: 102
+6.5: 125

So...regarding the protocol and a dose reduction, if a newly diagnosed cat falls below 40, it's an automatic reduction. However, a couple weeks ago,I asked Sienne the question: "if I do not steer her, she will fall below 40 and get a reduction". But Sienne explained that they earn the reduction when you are steering them and
they still fall below 40 and you have to work to get them up. Today, I don't believe that is the case and I don't think Grace has earned her reduction. Her AMPS today was very similar to yesterday (10/21 was 225) and since she was so high yesterday, I gave her a post AMPS minimeal of 0% hoping she could at least get to blue; she ate it all. At +1, I gave her another 0% minimeal but she was playing with Tobey and so I only got her to eat 1/2 of it. So I was not doing any steering...didn't think I needed to with an AMPS of 218. She did fall below 40 at +2 with NO steering AND she also came back up with a little 13% and karo. I only gave her one drop of karo once and then I was able to keep her up...even went back to 4%. Any thoughts?? I'm just afraid if I give her a reduction, she won't be able to hold it because she didn't earn it.

My other question is: what is going on physiologically (if anyone knows) that causes flat yellows to be followed by action in a lot of cases? If a cat has been in the healing range for a good amount of time and then bounces to flat yellows, is there something going on with the shed that causes movement after two or so cycles?

Thanks to the wise and experienced ones who can help me with these questions!!
 
Re: 10/22 GracieAMPS218+2 36+2.5 59+4.5 73+5.5 102+6.5 125DO

Numbers below 40 are an automatic dose reduction. Congrats! (I'm gonna make you memorize the Tilly Protocol -- all of it -- and there will be a test!!!!!)
 
Re: 10/22 GracieAMPS 218 +2 36 +2.5 73 +5.5 102 +6.5 125 DOS

If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!

Sienne...I stand COMPLETELY corrected :lol: :lol: and it wasn't you that told me that, it was Ann and she said "50" not "40" so I was wrong all the way around. My apologies. Ok...when's the test???? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/22 GracieAMPS 218 +2 36 +2.5 73 +5.5 102 +6.5 125

good luck with the dosecrease!

Yep, 30's need reductions for sure. We don't want them hanging out there much, after all, sometimes you have to leave the house or go to sleep and she needs to be safe.
 
Re: 10/22 GracieAMPS 218 +2 36 +2.5 73 +5.5 102 +6.5 125

YAY - Gracie got a reduction! AWESOME!!! and once again I am gone for a few hours, miss your condo, and all the fun! :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: Quite the drop there this morning - don't know if I would have expected that either - not with a 218 amps. nice catch!

Gracie! By now you are with us - isn't this hunting thing the best? Please tell cabanabean that the quail hunt was the best! They grill up real nice. I think he did a super job with the napkins yesterday - tell him that they added quiet dignity and grace to our table. And we thank him for letting us take them with us. Isn't it great that Teddy could come! Ok - back to work! kitchen crew is busy, relaxingly busy. ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 10/22 GracieAMPS 218 +2 36 +2.5 73 +5.5 102 +6.5 125

Gracie has to be one of the cutest kitties. Luv the photo.....Just luv her little round face.....

And really nice job today....wow...216 to 36 in 2 hours....
 
Re: 10/22 GracieAMPS 218 +2 36 +2.5 73 +5.5 102 +6.5 125

how do i miss all this stuff!!!

nice work, guys...

btw :lol: :lol: :lol: on the WWF being the cats, not you...and on the pic
 
Re: 10/22 GracieAMPS 218 +2 36 +2.5 73 +5.5 102 +6.5 125

OOOooooooo I missed this wonderful day too!! What a great job you did Marjorie!! You got a dose crease Gracie dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat We are soooooooooo Happy for you!!
So proud of you for the great calm job you did today! Go Gracie!! Sooo Green :mrgreen:

Gracie girl! What a cool day you had today!! Will be happy t see you tomorrow night!! What fun we will have--Hugs Moonie :-D
 
Re: 10/22 GracieAMPS 218 +2 36 +2.5 73 +5.5 102 +6.5 125

Libby..Thank you for checking in!!! So glad to see you in our condo. Yes...I would not want to think she was doing something like this when we were gone...oh, no, wait...we hardly ever leave the house at the same time anymore :lol: :lol:

Michelle, Tena, Roni, and Anne...Thank you!!! If I'd REALLY been on my toes, I'd have gotten a +1 but I got lazy didn't I? She's says "I'll show you, MOM!".

Glad you all liked the pic. It would have been much cuter if she had left her big round eyes open but she hates the flash!

Moonie and Mannie...can't wait to be with all my friends for the Hunters Moon Party!! Glad you had fun catching quail today.. Yes, my papabean is one cool dude!!
 
Re: 10/22 GracieAMPS 218 +2 36 +5.5 102 +6.5 125 +11 333 ??

Wow...so quite a bounce for this little girl. Does it still apply that I can shoot the normal dose of 1u through the bounce and start the reduction tomorrow?
I was just thinking it might help bring those numbers down. OR, since she went so low today, is it best to just shoot the reduced dose of .75u. Not worried
about my sleep so much as what gives her a better scenario. Thank you!!!
 
Re: 10/22 GracieAMPS 218 +2 36 +5.5 102 +6.5 125 +11 333 ??

no expert here... but i would think you could shoot through the bounce with the regular dose and take the reduction tomorrow. You're home at night, and can watch her, test , etc.
 
Re: 10/22 GracieAMPS 218 +2 36 +5.5 102 +6.5 125 +11 333 ??

Thanks, Michelle...yes, we are home, we are watching...ever so vigilant now.
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie PMPS 324 Need quick ans pls

I was going to shoot through the bounce but her PMPS is just a hair lower than +11...probably negligble...+11 was 333...any suggestions? Thanks!
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie PMPS 324 Need quick ans pls

They are the same number. A difference 10 points is less than a 5% difference. If you want to shoot through the bounce, go ahead or you can start your new dose. Whatever you're comfortable with.
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie PMPS 324

Thanks....I shot through the bounce...just want to try and bring her numbers down a bit...we're home and can watch closely....inc +1!!

Will start reduction next cycle.
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie PMPS 324

Marjorie congrats on the reduction! BTW what I was describing was a special scenario for Tess because she has such a hard time holding reductions. She is being required to get into the 30s for a reduction, but I'm supposed to work to keep her out of them. We cheated a little yesterday snce she had been going into the 40s so frequently.

Gracie, tell Cabanabean that the quail are so good. Thank you for sharing! We don't have any more quail, the neighbors droolers chased them all off. :YMSIGH: -- Tess
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie PMPS 324

Hey Marjorie & Gracie, Congrats on the dosecrease!! What an amazing day you had! You did just great, Marjorie. (you too, Gracie, and I love your hiding picture). Enjoy the full moon party and the hunt!

Ella
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie PMPS 324 +1 297

Thanks Ella!!! A little heart stopping but we made it through. Thanks so much for having the kitties at your camp again! What a warm heart you and Edward have. Gracie is so excited!!! Have a wonderful weekend. I'm so glad you are still visiting condos!
 
Re: 10/22 Gracie PMPS 324 +2 249 +3 221 +4 126 +4.75 97 +5.2

what a night you guys had. I'm never gutsy enough to shoot thru a bounce - well, Shadow doesn't bounce. anyway, I always take my reduction straight away. plus, I like to sleep. :-D hope you'll be able to nap some and get caught up. Have a good Saturday Marjorie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top