10/22 Chester +4=77, +4.5=96, +5=101

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
Hi, Folks...

+11 = 117
pmps = 173 (0.5 units Lev)
+2.5 = 118

A couple of weeks ago, I had intentions of hopefully getting Chester tightly regulated so that he was safely within blue/high green most of the time.

Well, Chester is laughing at me. His does is now down to 0.5 and I'm glad I took a nap when I got home from work today because it looks like I might have to watch him closely again tonight.

I've lowered twice in the last couple of days...the first was earned. The second was just a gut feeling on my part that the .25 reduction wouldn't be enough. He seems to be doing nicely with the extra reduction (from 1.0, through .75 for a cycle, now to .5).

My vet has recommended that if Chester is <150 at pre-shot, not to shoot at all and see what happens. Actually, that was my first thought as well but now I don't know. Luckily I didn't have to make that decision, because he was above 150 (at 173). Keep in mind that I am using the AlphaTrak, so numbers are substantially higher than the Relion meter.

I feel a tad sad because the little man wants to play and I'm looking at that 118 and thinking...nah, let's keep those numbers up a bit more this early in the cycle. I normally give him a snack at +9.

Just a little nervous about where all this is heading. I'm blaming it on the full moon! :-D
 
Re: 10/22 Chester Trying OTJ Despite My Fears?

Maybe Chester is trying to tell you something? As long as you're testing and have HC food in the house, you're in control.
 
Re: 10/22 Chester Trying OTJ Despite My Fears?

Wouldn't it be nice if our own lives were like that? As long as were 'testing' and have food (and I'll add wine to that) we're in control? :-D
 
Re: 10/22 Chester +4=77 Here We Go Again!

Well, the little man just earned another dose reduction, testing 77 on the AlphaTrak. I gave him a little LC snack with a tsp of HC gravy on it and will test in 30 minutes.

The problem is...there isn't much more to reduce to!

I need chocolate.
 
Re: 10/22 Chester +4=77 Here We Go Again!

Since there isn't much room to reduce, I'd suggest shaving the dose. You want to try to keep Chester on even a few drops of insulin for as long as possible in order to allow his pancreas to heal. Reducing the dose by 0.25u would mean you are cutting the dose in half -- that's a lot when you get to these smaller doses.

Like I said, you may have wanted to stay in the blues, Chester clearly has a different agenda. I'd encourage you to post as often as you can. Coming down the dose ladder is, in many ways, harder than going up.
 
Re: 10/22 Chester +4=77 Here We Go Again!

Jaye and Chester said:
The problem is...there isn't much more to reduce to!

First of all, having not much room to go down is NEVER a problem! That's a good thing! But, there are several lower doses left. We went from .5 to .25 to .1 to 1 drop...and tomorrow we start an OTJ trial! So this is GOOD news!
 
Re: 10/22 Chester +4=77 Here We Go Again!

Great luck with your trial, Anne (and Muffin, of course).

When I measure drops with my syringes I get 5 drops per 1/5 unit. We'll be reducing from .5 but not going, as I thought we would, to .25. I'll try my darndest to do .5 minus one to two drops...right?

My husband is going to have a fit! With his eyesight he can barely find the syringe, much less drops! :-D He'll be taking care of Chester solo for four days over Christmas. Sure hope Chester decides he doesn't want any insulin by then.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top