10/22 Charlie PMPS 148 +1 133 +3 49 +4 50 +9 205

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
yesterday

We decided not to shoot low last night.

Sienne: Thanks for the advice about shooting low. We have looked at a lot of people's spreadsheets (already before this), and I understand we have to learn to shoot low to stay low.

Still, I strongly believe if we would have shot last night she would have dipped under the acceptable threshold and earned a dose reduction and we would have been up all night. I'm not sure that would make sense either, as it seems 1 unit (or 1 full unit) is right for her right now. But who knows actually with this kitty?

In the future we will learn to shoot lower but I don't know if I will ever shoot as low as 83 again as I have learned that not only ECID. Charlie likes to dive and I need to make sure we're going to be wide awake all night long if we take risks like that. Last night wasn't possible. We were both just too exhausted.

Thanks again for the advice under pressure. Charlie was high this morning when we woke up (bounce? or due to no shot?)
Could be either. We shot a full 1 unit this morning and will test shortly.

Jill
 
Re: 10/22 Charlie AMPS 419 +3 324

Charlie coming down nicely at the +3, Jill. No worry about one skip shot but yes, we should learn to shoot low at a safe, in controlled situation. Hope you had a nice rest last night & Charlie slide down slowly in this cycle.
 
Re: 10/22 Charlie AMPS 419 +3 324

I would attribute it to both. Bounce and no shot.
It's all a learning curve. Hopefully next time will be a better timeframe and you will be able to shoot that lower ps. Charlie will dictate when she is ready to decrease.
She's the leader in this dance.
I hope she clears that high number sooner than later.
 
Re: 10/22 Charlie AMPS 419 +3 324

Hang in there Jill. You need to be mentally and physically prepared for shooting those lows. You have to do what's best for you and Charlie. We did it kind of ignorantly and definitely had a few long nights. So glad we did though, as Fur Ball responded positively well. :smile:

Have a great day.
karen
 
Re: 10/22 Charlie AMPS 419 +3 324 PMPS 148 +1 133 +3 48.6

Me too! We shot a bit low so lets hope she keeps stable for us.
 
10/22 Charlie AMPS 419 +3 324 PMPS 148 +1 133 +3 49 +4 50

Oh Charlie, I hate to say it, but I saw this coming. I HATE shooting low numbers with you! :YMSIGH:
Looks like it's going to be another long night.

Guys: Remind me what is the magic number for dose reduction again? Tonight's 1 unit was skinny 1 unit.
 
Re: 10/22 Charlie AMPS 419 +3 324 PMPS 148 +1 133 +3 49 +3.5

50, the magic number is 50. Charlie earned his reduction with that bg 49 @+3.
Don't worry about the dosage at this moment, deal with handling Charlie's low green first. Since its still early in his cycle, better to make him surf on a higher green. Did you feed him HC?
 
10/22 Charlie AMPS 419 +3 324 PMPS 148 +1 133 +3 49 +4 50

Fed 50 grams of LC (normal food) at +3. That took her up to 59 at +3.5
Now it's +4 and she's back down to 50 again. We gave her a bit of maple syrup and will test again in 15 mins or so.
 
Re: 10/22 Charlie AMPS 419 +3 324 PMPS 148 +1 133 +3 49 +4 5

Do you have anything higher carb? Maple syrup won't last long, and she may drop right back down after it wears off. Maybe some MC would get her surfing a little higher?
 
Re: 10/22 Charlie AMPS 419 +3 324 PMPS 148 +1 133 +3 49 +3.5

I am a member here in addition to others, who put safety first...Have I shot low numbers, sure, but usually I wanted to be around to monitor, as I feel that is important...I have shot low & left lots of lc,mc & hc foods around for Moonie to eat while I am gone..It is not my favorite, but it is part of the sugar dance...
Congrats on the reducie--You are doing great!! Hugs from us!!
 
Re: 10/22 Charlie AMPS 419 +3 324 PMPS 148 +1 133 +3 49 +4 5

I agree with Anne, I would use food instead of syrup if you have any. It will last longer and hopefully help her surf.
 
Re: 10/22 Charlie AMPS 419 +3 324 PMPS 148 +1 133 +3 49 +4 5

We don't have any on hand (except 1 emergency can of MD critical care canned food). Will go tomorrow to buy more. Will test again in 15 mins.
 
Re: 10/22 Charlie AMPS 419 +3 324 PMPS 148 +1 133 +3 49 +4 5

if you don't have higher carb web food, you can mix a drop or two of syrup into low carb food to make it high carb.
 
Re: 10/22 Charlie AMPS 419 +3 324 PMPS 148 +1 133 +3 49 +4 5

We tried that about ten mins ago and she doesn't seem to want to eat it at the moment. Thus, the syringe with a bit of syrup.
 
10/22 Charlie AMPS 419 +3 324 PMPS 148 +1 133 +3 49 +4 50 +5

+4.5 = 49 again. Ugh. Still trying with maple syrup and tuna this time. She is eating a tiny bit.
 
Re: 10/22 Charlie AMPS 419 +3 324 PMPS 148 +1 133 +3 49 +4 5

+5.5 = 65

We left out some LC food with a bit of maple syrup. Will go to bed and set an alarm to wake up and test again in a few hours, just to keep a bit of an eye on her.
 
Re: 10/22 Charlie AMPS 419 +3 324 PMPS 148 +1 133 +3 49 +4 5

+9 = 205

Assume we should decrease to .75 in a few hours when we shoot the morning AMPS?

Jill
 
Yup. You want to reduce to 0.75u.

Let me also make a suggestion. If you are going to get an early test, you will in most circumstances, learn more with a +2 than a +1 test. A +1 often reflects a food spike. Looking at Charlie's SS, if it's going to be a more than usually active cycle, you see the drop at +2. Tonight, you would have most likely seen a noticeable drop at +2 and you could have fed to slow the drop.

I also agree with you about last night. You were seeing dropping numbers at shot time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top