
Congrats on the nice BGs


!! Awesome and hopefully, the inflammation is subsiding and that is why you are seeing improvement

. I’m hoping you were able to get some sleep!
I am so happy Wendy brought up and differentiated between the ideas of “well regulated” vs “tightly regulated” given that the TR protocol and it’s ranges were specifically developed and used for attempting to get cats into remission when initially diagnosed with DM vs for use as long term
maintenance of DM.
By moving from TR to WR, I do not think this is
de prioritizing DM or being selfish, but instead,
keeping DM a priority while also practicing what would be considered evidence based management of DM.
Some how the TR protocol seems to have become extrapolated and used or interpreted by some as the “preferred”’or “best” way to keep a cat with DM healthy and also the way to avoid issues with kidney disease etc.similar to what has been done within human medicine
in the past.
The fact of the matter is there are no case reports, small studies, large studies or even support from the thought leaders that a cats health, for cats who have DM, is better or protected against disease, helped with disease such as chronic pancreatitis, below 100 vs in the 100s or even 200s for some cats The caveat being, with some cats, once they hit 250 or a little higher,
and it is not every cat, they will show subtle signs of hyperglycemia such as eating more or drinking more, etc. Obviously, if this is the case for your specific cat (and it is for T who eats a lot if he runs higher—AlphaTrak 220-230) then you aim to keep their BG below that specific point. Others will not see symptoms or issues and for those cats, the BG Max might be as high as 300. Again, the goal is to have a nice,
healthy range and that range is one in which your cat does not spend significant time in the higher end of the range
nor are they at risk of falling into hypoglycemia if their body, the insulin, any number of processes doesn’t function exactly right one day (or your cat decides to sleep through some meals or doesn’t feel well)
Even with humans, euglycemia is modifiable and individualized by patient circumstance (from ADA)
“Well regulated” should be individualized for your cat and you. It is one thing to be sleep deprived, stressed out, playing with carb foods, poking the cats ear & limiting your life for a limited period of time when trying for remission (OR if it would help your cats health), but once that ship has sailed, it is time to grab that sail and
adjust it for the long journey (God willing) ahead

.
As with the Libre, it would be so nice if the SS used here could be modified (or ideally a 2nd SS created for cats no longer following the remission protocol) to have a customizable single colored range for BG (maybe a nice green color) indicating the well regulated range or ideal/safe range for YOUR specific cat vs utilizing the SS and color scheme incorporated for TR. As with the Libre, there would be red only if the BG drops below the designated range and maybe yellow if it goes above the range. In the end, one larger range and, unless and until you see something dropping out of that zone, there are no changes in colors and no emotional response to those colors

.....just a relaxed & happy cat AND cat parent.