10/22 AMPS 309; +3 235 +6 288 ; PMPS 262 +6 211 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

10/22 AMPS 309; +3 235 +6 288 ; PMPS 262 +6 211

Salem & Angus

Member since 2025
10/17 Post

Haven't posted in a few days, was getting over some illness on my part.

His Libre was removed today since it was expired anyway. Vet says she wants to keep him on 0.5 for now and do a fructosamine(?) in about 4 months. I've stopped testing every 3 hours and for now will only be testing pre-shots and +6/7 (I'm pretty sure this is where his nadir is). Though this is dependant on the pre-shot numbers since people told me I was testing too much.

I'm not entirely sure about keeping him on 0.5 because I feel like his numbers stay in the 200s most of the day. I know that's not super high but it's definitely crept up (though I suspect the Libre readings were off since I only started alphatrak like a week ago). I'm still so new to navigating this but his vet was so gung-ho and confident he was going into remission like, soon, despite him only being on insulin for less than a month. I'm less optimistic about this if he stays on the 0.5 but he's only been on that dose for about a week so I'm guessing he still needs more time to adjust? I think I just got my hopes up because of how optimistic my vet was lol.

Any input would be really nice here 😅 Sorry for the long rant post

Here's him in one of the Amazon boxes for cat-tax.
PXL_20251022_014003544.jpg

Edited to add: I've been looking at the SLGS thread, just been nervous to be adjusting his dose especially since he's changed from 2 to 1 to 0.5 in the course of like 3 weeks. Just unsure if I'd be jumping the gun by adjusting.
 
Last edited:
10/17 Post

Haven't posted in a few days, was getting over some illness on my part.

His Libre was removed today since it was expired anyway. Vet says she wants to keep him on 0.5 for now and do a fructosamine(?) in about 4 months. I've stopped testing every 3 hours and for now will only be testing pre-shots and +6/7 (I'm pretty sure this is where his nadir is). Though this is dependant on the pre-shot numbers since people told me I was testing too much.

I'm not entirely sure about keeping him on 0.5 because I feel like his numbers stay in the 200s most of the day. I know that's not super high but it's definitely crept up (though I suspect the Libre readings were off since I only started alphatrak like a week ago). I'm still so new to navigating this but his vet was so gung-ho and confident he was going into remission like, soon, despite him only being on insulin for less than a month. I'm less optimistic about this if he stays on the 0.5 but he's only been on that dose for about a week so I'm guessing he still needs more time to adjust? I think I just got my hopes up because of how optimistic my vet was lol.

Any input would be really nice here 😅 Sorry for the long rant post

Here's him in one of the Amazon boxes for cat-tax.
View attachment 74554

Edited to add: I've been looking at the SLGS thread, just been nervous to be adjusting his dose especially since he's changed from 2 to 1 to 0.5 in the course of like 3 weeks. Just unsure if I'd be jumping the gun by adjusting.
Hello, Salem looks so sweet in that box!
I hope you are feeling better.
A few things to note, when posting, please put Salem's name in your title like this:
10/23 Salem AMPS 309, +3 235......
(helps us know who the thread is about easily)

When you have a question (ie about dose) it's good to use the ? prefix in your title and put DOSE ADVICE in your title (you can delete that later when you get an answer)
So your question can be addressed as quick as possible.

Many times a +2 or +3 test will give you an idea how the cycle will go (if it will be flat or be an active cycle with lower numbers ahead).

If you are testing daily multiple times a day you don't really have a need for a fructosamine test with the vet (and save the expense).

It looks like you are following SLGS, so after a week at a dose you would evaluate how low the dose is taking Salem and decide if he needs an increase or not (post for help here so someone with lots of experience can help you decide what to do).

Please let us know if you have any questions! 😻
 
Back
Top