10/22/2010 Spitzer starting over @ .5; PMPS = 150, +1=129

Status
Not open for further replies.

BJM

Member Since 2010
yesterday

I figured I'd need to do so. The depot was either empty, or too low to do any good after 46-48 or so hours.
 
Last edited:
Re: 10/22/2010 Spitzer restarting over @ .5

Morning BJ....what was Spitzer's number this morning...
Wishing you well on the lowered dose....let's see what he does with that!
How is he feeling and acting? Hope all is good with you both!
Happy Friday!
 
Re: 10/22/2010 Spitzer starting over @ .5; +7=133

My apologies - had to dash out of the house without posting.
AMPS 203
.5 insulin
+7 = 133 ... this probably is when he'd be lowest, right?

He's had 2 doses of .5 units so far. The morning dose was about 1.5 hours under the 12 hour time frame, as I had to leave on a transport. This, I understand, is the equivelent of increasing the dose. We'll be back on the 9 am & pm from this point, baring any excitement.

WCR:
purring
preening
playing (or is that pestering? he does love bugging the older gals! LOL)

The litterboxes are in the basement, so I don't typically see him pee nor poo, unless he uses the upstairs box when I'm up there watching (sleeping through) TV.

I just spent 3 hours waiting to get my car fixed, holding up a rescue transport d*mn it. I had a flat, so I called AAA. I also called my friend to stop by the condo and make sure there was food available for Spitzer.

The tow truck came. He checked the tire, found 2 nails, and tried to fix the hole ... then discovered a much bigger, non-patchable hole on the inner side of the tire. We checked my car for a spare, found I had one, and when he tried to remove the lug nuts, found he didn't have the right size socket ... and the tire iron for the car also was the wrong size. When he went to start his truck, he discovered that he hadn't switched over to his 2nd gas tank in time and it wouldn't start. He called a partner to pick up some larger metric sockets. The large sockets finally arrived, the spare tire was put on, and I was able to hand off the dog to the next driver ... and hour after she was expecting me. Needless to say, she was peeved. I am soooo tired.
 
Last edited:
Re: 10/22/2010 Spitzer starting over @ .5; +7=133

Goodness BJ! What a day! It reads like a comedy of errors, only not so funny. Get some rest, you deserve it!
 
Re: 10/22/2010 Spitzer starting over @ .5; +7=133

but wait, there's more!
I'm helping run a convention this weekend, and still have errands to do for it! ARRRGGGGHHHH!!!

Spitzer is up on the top of the cat tree, sacked out after the afternoon food freshening I did when I got home.
 
Last edited:
Re: 10/22/2010 Spitzer starting over @ .5; +7=133

good luck with the restart. I hope we'll get some good information out of this.
 
Re: 10/22/2010 Spitzer starting over @ .5; +12=107 - ???

+12 = 107

So ... he seems really responsive to the insulin, and I really don't want to be up all night checking him for a hypoglycemic attack. Do I try to give him less than .5 or do I skip?

 
Last edited:
Re: 10/22/2010 Spitzer starting over @ .5; +12=107

We always have to do what is safe for the cat....if you are not going to be testing him, then I guess you are already decided on what you want to do, right?
 
Re: 10/22/2010 Spitzer starting over @ .5; +12=107

There's not enough days of data to know what will happen.
The scant data make me pretty nervous.
2 days of 1 unit nearly crashed him out.
It took roughly 48 hours to clear that.
Re-starting, he's dropped 100 points from just 2 doses at .5 units

Do they make Lantus in a less concentrated form?

I'm going to re-test him now.
 
Last edited:
Re: 10/22/2010 Spitzer starting over @ .5; +12=107

No, it doesn't come in a more diluted form...at any rate, will you be able to get some tests in tonight?

In the sticky at the top of the page "New to the Group" there are pictures of the smaller doses... just scroll down to see them: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139#p179336
 
Re: 10/22/2010 Spitzer starting over @ .5; +12=107

I can't offer any advice on the dosing, but do wish you luck. I hope things go well for Spitzer.

and wow on your day - I hope it improved.
 
Re: 10/22/2010 Spitzer starting over @ .5; +13=150

He's up to 150, so I'm going with 0.5 units

Will re-check a couple times before I go to bed ... and set the phone alarm to wake me up in 2 hours in case I fall asleep.

And making sure there is food out.
 
Last edited:
Re: 10/22/2010 Spitzer starting over @ .5; +13=150

Do you have cans of high carb gravy food on hand? Karo syrup? Just in case he is going lower, and you want to bring up the numbers,.....give him just the gravy and retest in 15 minutes. Okay? You will keep giving the gravy until his numbers are higher. Hoping he will surf the blues for you. I am so glad you will be testing him later....
 
Re: 10/22/2010 Spitzer starting over @ .5; +13=150

Yes, got the Karo & gravy.
 
Last edited:
Re: 10/22/2010 Spitzer starting over @ .5; PMPS = 150, +1=1

+1 = 129

freshened up the food downstairs.
 
Last edited:
Re: 10/22/2010 Spitzer starting over @ .5; PMPS = 150, +1=1

good, try to get him to eat a couple tsp of low carb to hold him here, then test at +2.
 
Re: 10/22/2010 Spitzer starting over @ .5; PMPS = 150, +1=1

He ate,

And promptly eluded me when I was going to test him. *sigh*
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top