10/22/20 Squeaky! AMPS 414 +4 = 410 +10=318 PMPS 257. +3=174

Good morning Jan! I hear you have a busy day ahead, hope it all goes well! Good luck with the new client :)

Good morning Tanya, thanks for the lovely greeting! Yes busy day.

Do you think Squeaky's going to come out of a bounce today? After the skipped shot yesterday?

Also wondering where to ask some general questions on how to manage the active nights. Sometimes I'm quite exhausted. If he has an active night I'm afraid I might fall asleep and not wake up to an alarm, or even several alarms.
 
I hope your work day goes by quickly. Hopefully Squeaky will slide down slowly today so you don't have to worry. It's possible he could come down faster though. If you are able you may want to get another test before you leave. You can ask any questions here and put the ? icon in your subject line.
 
I wish I had a crystal ball sometimes and could properly know exactly what was going to happen, but...cats do what they do :rolleyes:

The depot is drained a little, so my best guess (and it’s a guess), is that Squeaky will probably start coming back down later today. It’s not a bounce, but higher numbers from no insulin last night. The liver isn’t in reactive state, so should come down more naturally.

Are you away from home all day, or do you think you can grab a mid cycle test somewhere today to see how the numbers come down?

As for sleep, and managing an active cycle...I am very fortunate in that my hubby and I take shifts or swap evenings depending on my work schedule. He took last night for instance, because I am working later today. I work the evening shift, so I’ll take tonight.

I would defer that to others, but I think choosing shot times are important. For instance, if you have a 5 or 6am/pm shot time, that might leave a few hours to get a +2/+3 before work, and ability to test to at least +4 before bed with an option to set an alarm. Right now, I think your shot times are quite late, so staying up later is difficult. Yes, you may need to wake up earlier...are you a morning person or a night owl?
 
If you think about how to maybe roll your shot time back a bit earlier, just post, and ask...as there are some guidelines to roll it back by no more than 30 mins (15 mins per shot) per day, but could act a bit like an increase with a slightly earlier shot time.
 
Max liked to drop at night and I needed to be away in the afternoons soI shot at 6:00. His onset wasn’t until +2.5 so I could shoot, get a couple tests and even hit the gym before onset. It freed my afternoons and even on an active night I got to sleep by 1-2. I too had to manage it all on my own.

I hope your day goes well.
 
Great, thank you!!!! I like the concept of slow slides!!!! I will test at 2.5 and then see.

Oops decided to just do mid-day test. Save his ears!
 
Last edited:
Max liked to drop at night and I needed to be away in the afternoons soI shot at 6:00. His onset wasn’t until +2.5 so I could shoot, get a couple tests and even hit the gym before onset. It freed my afternoons and even on an active night I got to sleep by 1-2. I too had to manage it all on my own.

I hope your day goes well.

Just took +4 test. He hasn't eaten much at all this morning and sleeping a lot. I expect the sleeping with the change in temperature and season.

But it hasn't changed much in 4 hours... from 414 to 410....... Is there anything to worry about here? I leave in about a half hour (12:30), then back by 3 at the latest.
 
My take: You skipped last night, so that could be impacting the depot (draining it a bit). You also haven't seen much activity from Squeaky on this dose. A couple of mid-blues, and some yellows. If Squeaky were my cat I would feel fine stepping out for 2.5 hours.
You can always leave some food out for him if you are worried. A favourite food, perhaps.
 
My take: You skipped last night, so that could be impacting the depot (draining it a bit). You also haven't seen much activity from Squeaky on this dose. A couple of mid-blues, and some yellows. If Squeaky were my cat I would feel fine stepping out for 2.5 hours.
You can always leave some food out for him if you are worried. A favourite food, perhaps.

Many thanks. He always has food out except 2 hours before PS. I appreciate your response, now I can feel more relaxed. Thank you!!!!!
 
My take: You skipped last night, so that could be impacting the depot (draining it a bit). You also haven't seen much activity from Squeaky on this dose. A couple of mid-blues, and some yellows. If Squeaky were my cat I would feel fine stepping out for 2.5 hours.
You can always leave some food out for him if you are worried. A favourite food, perhaps.

When should I test next or can I wait to PMPS? I prefer testing as little as possible, he hates it.

Thanks.
 
When should I test next or can I wait to PMPS? I prefer testing as little as possible, he hates it.

Thanks.
Well....I love testing and I'd love for you to get a test when you come home, and a PMPS so we start to have a better picture of what is happening with Squeaky. It's hard to ever know 100% what funny business a cat will get up to over eight hours, so it is hard for me to definitively say when I think you should test your cat next.

If he is eating well this afternoon, and given that you skipped last night's shot, I'd say you would maybe be okay waiting. Just going off previous cycles. But I can never know for sure. I like testing. Tests are important.

I get that he is difficult to test. I think an important question we should explore is what can we do to get Squeaky more comfortable with testing?
 
Last edited:
Well....I love testing and I'd love for you to get a test when you come home, and a PMPS so we start to have a better picture of what is happening with Squeaky. It's hard to ever know 100% what funny business a cat will get up to over eight hours, so it is hard for me to definitively say when I think you should test your cat next.

If he is eating well this afternoon, and given that you skipped last night's shot, I'd say you would maybe be okay waiting. Just going off previous cycles. But I can never know for sure. I like testing. Tests are important.

I get that he is difficult to test. I think an important question we should explore is what can we do to get Squeaky more comfortable with testing?

That is fair and a good idea. So far I have tried everybody's suggestions. He gets tons of love on either side of the tests. We start our routine with playing mouse. If he's feeling good enough he plays. If not, he sits and watches, if really not he sits and doesn't watch. Then I chase him a bit because if not, he doesn't get any exercise. Then he gets a full body massage which he loves. Then he gets his inhaler, no problem. Warm packs to promote blood flow. Rubbing to promote blood flow. Neosporin to dampen pain. Much of the time I get it the first time, but often it is still 2 or 3 pricks. Either I am lacking skill or Squeaky's ears are lacking blood! I show him each thing and let him smell. We look at the monitor together to see what the result will be. Then more petting love. He won't take treats from my hand but I have warm dinner waiting for him. Usually 2 to 4 kinds of food so he has a selection.

He used to come running when I told him we were going to do the inhaler. However, with the BG, actually we've started doing a bit of a chase, because that's the most exercise he gets. That's okay.

He is so very patient and brave. And he is smart enough to be passive and to hold still with the pricks. However, sometimes he cannot help but jump. And sometimes a little nervous twitch before the shot.

Thank you for your kindness!

I can't think of any way to make this fun. He's a smart cat and we do a lot together. Also he can only eat pork so there's not much in the way of treats for him. And he gets food all the time (except 2 hours before AM/PM BG).

We did not try foot pricks yet. That would be awkward due to the way I hold him when we do our routine. He sits on my lap like a baby with feet out in front. It would be hard to see.
 
Very frustrating. Took 4 pokes before we got blood. There just wasn't any in his ear. And this was the juicy ear. Sigh. For a few weeks we did really well, got blood on the first try almost always. I think perhaps it's just colder. Although I do try to warm up his ear.
 
He gets tons of love on either side of the tests. We start our routine with playing mouse. If he's feeling good enough he plays. If not, he sits and watches, if really not he sits and doesn't watch. Then I chase him a bit because if not, he doesn't get any exercise. Then he gets a full body massage which he loves. Then he gets his inhaler, no problem. Warm packs to promote blood flow. Rubbing to promote blood flow. Neosporin to dampen pain. Much of the time I get it the first time, but often it is still 2 or 3 pricks. Either I am lacking skill or Squeaky's ears are lacking blood! I show him each thing and let him smell. We look at the monitor together to see what the result will be. Then more petting love. He won't take treats from my hand but I have warm dinner waiting for him. Usually 2 to 4 kinds of food so he has a selection.
I'm not going to show this to Butters. She'd be jealous. Squeaky is living the dream! :D

Like Carla, I too will have a problem getting enough blood if I use Neosporin before I poke. Also, it can take days for me to get a blood drop to form if I use too much Neosporin on Butters' ear.
I am also finding that since the cold weather started a couple of weeks ago it has been much more difficult to get blood from Butters' ears. Maybe try to hold the warm pack on his ear for longer first?
I'm sorry it's so hard to get blood from him. I know how hard you are trying.
 
I'm not going to show this to Butters. She'd be jealous. Squeaky is living the dream! :D

Like Carla, I too will have a problem getting enough blood if I use Neosporin before I poke. Also, it can take days for me to get a blood drop to form if I use too much Neosporin on Butters' ear.
I am also finding that since the cold weather started a couple of weeks ago it has been much more difficult to get blood from Butters' ears. Maybe try to hold the warm pack on his ear for longer first?
I'm sorry it's so hard to get blood from him. I know how hard you are trying.

Yah Squeaky is one spoiled cat!!! He knows how to work the mom. Definitely.

Okay I will try different things with neosporin. Maybe I should chase him more before the BG test. Get his blood flowing LOL!!!
 
I'm not going to show this to Butters. She'd be jealous. Squeaky is living the dream! :D

Like Carla, I too will have a problem getting enough blood if I use Neosporin before I poke. Also, it can take days for me to get a blood drop to form if I use too much Neosporin on Butters' ear.
I am also finding that since the cold weather started a couple of weeks ago it has been much more difficult to get blood from Butters' ears. Maybe try to hold the warm pack on his ear for longer first?
I'm sorry it's so hard to get blood from him. I know how hard you are trying.

RANT!!! TWO E-13's in a ROW!!!!! After the first prick which got NOTHING! I'm going to try a different meter.
 
RANT!!! TWO E-13's in a ROW!!!!! After the first prick which got NOTHING! I'm going to try a different meter.
I'm so sorry. How frustrating. I don't know if anyone has mentioned this to you, but you can put the blood drop on your fingernail and test from there. That way you hopefully have enough blood for a second test if you need it without having to poke again.
 
I'm so sorry. How frustrating. I don't know if anyone has mentioned this to you, but you can put the blood drop on your fingernail and test from there. That way you hopefully have enough blood for a second test if you need it without having to poke again.
Squeaky is doing well considering that skip last night!

Hi thanks for your messages. Okay usually I have barely enough blood, there would not be enough for a second test.

I had a different monitor I was using for myself, loaned it to a friend, and I was going to try it with Squeaky because it looks like it uses less blood to get a reading. I couldn't get it to work last night but I see that I didn't press the button long enough.

Frustration is present. However mostly I am just worried that I will fall asleep one active night and not be able to wake up for hourly readings.

I am beginning to think we cannot manage tight regulation. This time of year I don't have enough energy and I really need to get more sleep, plus I'm trying to heal some health conditions and need rest. Staying up all night with Squeaky on the edge of death, night after night, does not sound like a good strategy. Plus with all the difficulty with the blood and ear pricks. I am going to reread go low go slow and see if it is more suitable.

If the diabetes is due to the steroid prednisilone, and since we have taken him off it, wouldn't he be likely to go into remission anyway even on go low go slow? Without losing as much sleep? Is it a similar nerve wracking process?

If he doesn't, maybe we could try TR again in the spring. Your thoughts?
 
Last edited:
I wish I had a crystal ball sometimes and could properly know exactly what was going to happen, but...cats do what they do :rolleyes:

The depot is drained a little, so my best guess (and it’s a guess), is that Squeaky will probably start coming back down later today. It’s not a bounce, but higher numbers from no insulin last night. The liver isn’t in reactive state, so should come down more naturally.

Are you away from home all day, or do you think you can grab a mid cycle test somewhere today to see how the numbers come down?

As for sleep, and managing an active cycle...I am very fortunate in that my hubby and I take shifts or swap evenings depending on my work schedule. He took last night for instance, because I am working later today. I work the evening shift, so I’ll take tonight.

I would defer that to others, but I think choosing shot times are important. For instance, if you have a 5 or 6am/pm shot time, that might leave a few hours to get a +2/+3 before work, and ability to test to at least +4 before bed with an option to set an alarm. Right now, I think your shot times are quite late, so staying up later is difficult. Yes, you may need to wake up earlier...are you a morning person or a night owl?

Hi Tanya, Well life is just a bit messy right now. I'm not out all day. Tend to be a night owl, but I'd really like to change that. Oh life is just complicated at the moment.
 
I'm so sorry. How frustrating. I don't know if anyone has mentioned this to you, but you can put the blood drop on your fingernail and test from there. That way you hopefully have enough blood for a second test if you need it without having to poke again.

Finally catching up on messages. That sounds like an interesting technique. Sometimes we don't get a blood drop, that is so challenging. Nothing comes out at all. Sometimes a tiny bit on the cotton round on the other side of the ear. Frustrating.
 
Back
Top