10/21 Twice AMPS 412 +4 346 +6 337 +7.5 290 +9 351 PMPS 443

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim & Twice

Member Since 2013
Twice seems happy today. Playing with his sock on his own. Rough night for us last night and because of that I was unsure about giving his insulin. Ended up giving 1.5 hours later than normal. He is on .75 units now.
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412

Wow...what a night for you guys. Congrats on the reducie, though! It's always great to see them playing and happy.

Since you shot late this morning, keep in mind that your PM shot needs to be 12 hours from the time you shot this morning. If you need to shift back to your original shot time, you can do so slowly. Personally, I usually shift 15 minutes per day because Trixie is super-sensitive to time changes, but others shift half an hour per day.

Have a great day, Kim!
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412

Oh oh. So, don't give tonight's before the 12 hr mark? Is there any room for leeway in your opinions? I normally dose him at 5am, today was 6:30am. I leave my house for work at just before 5:30am. Might I end up having to skip a dose after all?
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412

Given how Twice dropped last night, I personally wouldn't shoot any earlier than 6:00pm tonight. Others with more experience/more expertise in reading spreadsheets may be able to give you a better guideline on that.

One other option is to totally skip tonight, and then you could just jump right back in to shooting at 5:00am tomorrow. Without knowing anything about Twice's history (is he ketone-prone, etc), I can't really say for sure if that is the best option, though.

I do have to leave for work myself right now. What you can do to get more attention to your condo is go to your first post and change the icon to the question mark, then edit your subject line to say you have a question about dosing.
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412-Dosing question

There are a couple of considerations with regard to shot time. Please keep in mind that skipping is an option but it does have an effect on the insulin depot.

When you see a bounce the way you did this morning, you can "shoot through the bounce." What this means is shoot your previous dose and then reduce at the next shot time. This may help to get those higher numbers out of the way.

Under most circumstances, you can adjust shot time by either 15 min. at each shot or by 30 min. once a day. This should have a minimal effect on Twice's numbers. If numbers are still high, you may be able to move your shot time by an hour. The reason we are so judicious about shot time is that an early sot acts ike a dose increase and a late shot acts like a dose reduction.

I do think you would have been OK to shoot closer to your usual shot time this morning. Lantus onset for most cats is around 2 hours after you shoot. Since you are feeding at the time of the shot, this gives you a buffer.

I would encourage you to test and then post when you get home this evening. We can help you if you are unsure about shooting early.
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412-Dosing question

Hi Kim, I'm glad to see you made it over to Lantus Land! Great job last night. I hope your day is less exciting today and you can catch a cat nap :lol: It's good to see that Twice is playing, give him some scritches for me and tell him what a good boy he was to "suffer" through all that extra food and karo last night ;-)

In this forum they like you to link your previous days condo in your new condo, so here is the link guys:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=106580

I'm off to work now, have a good one!
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412-Dosing question

Kim, when you do your condo over here each day, it's helpful to add the link to the previous day's condo so people can quickly catch up on what's been happening.

Here's her link from Health

She just switched from Caninsulin to Lantus on the PM dose 10/19 and started at 1 unit. Her 3rd cycle was last night and Twice went to 38 so she's already had her first PJ Party!

Today she dropped to .75

Kim, some cats are more sensitive than others regarding pushing that time back, so we always suggest no more than 15 minutes per cycle, or 30 minutes per day. I know you have a time crunch problem with work tomorrow morning, so what I think I'd do is get a +10 today and then ask for advice....that will not only give you an idea of where he might be for PMPS, but it will also show if he's climbing then, and if it might be safe to push it a little.

We hate for Twice to lose momentum by skipping the shot, but it might be the best option tonight...it would guarantee a night's sleep for you, as well as allowing you to choose when you want to shoot for the AM cycle on Tuesday morning.
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412-Dosing question

Thank you everyone. I will definately be looking for more guidance today and I am going to try to get another day off work. Will know more later.
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412-Dosing question

Hi Kim. I read through your condo on Health this morning. What a night, huh?

I just wanted to say Welcome to LLand :)

Hope to see you posting often.
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412-Dosing question

Hi Kim, welcome to LL! Gosh, what an initiation, too!!! Sorry you had a rough night last night.

But - given that !!29!! :o :shock: nailbite_smile you had on 10/9 with caninsulin, you've been through the wringer from the get-go.

You've already had excellent detailed input on shot times & skipping or not, so I won't comment, except to reiterate Sienne's point that an early shot (more than the 15 min. each cycle or 30 min. once a day) acts like a dose increase & a late shot acts like a dose reduction.

:?: Sienne - if you read this can you give a late shot up to 30 min. once a day like you can with an early shot & have it be OK? I always thought it was 15 min. on the late side.
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412-Dosing question

So by my postponing the insulin this a.m., he kind of got a bigger reduction today than the actual 1u-0.75u? How will this affect us? By going slowly back on track to our original dosing schedule will his body think that tonight he is getting an increase? Getting the kit stocked now nailbite_smile
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412 +4 346 +6 337 +7.5 290 +9 351

I wouldn't worry about it this morning...especially after the night you had last night. He finally did bounce, and it can take up to 72 hours to clear, so you'd just want to hold the .75 for at least 3-5 days unless he drops below 50 again

The "protocol" says to adjust back 15 minutes per cycle, or 30 minute adjustments once/day, until you're back on your chosen schedule, so it shouldn't make much of a difference

Have you decided what you think you'll do about tonight/tomorrow's shot schedule? I know you were going to think about seeing if you could get another day off, so that may affect your decision.
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412 +4 346 +6 337 +7.5 290 +9 351 +11.5

Hi Chris. I am taking tomorrow off and I will be giving him his shot at 6pm(now). He is at 24.6.
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412 +4 346 +6 337 +7.5 290 +9 351 +11.5

I saw +11.5 24. and that scared me. I guess there's a missing digit?
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412 +4 346 +6 337 +7.5 290 +9 351 +11.5

You mean more than 24.6 in US numbers, right?
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412 +4 346 +6 337 +7.5 290 +9 351 +11.5

OK...that's 442 so I think you're going to be getting a good nights sleep tonight...and then tomorrow and Wednesday you could either go back to 5:45am/5:30pm/5:15am/5pm (and you're back on schedule Thurs at 5am)

or go back to 5:30 at tomorrow's PMPS and then 5pm on Wednesday's PMPS...and then you're back on schedule Thurs @ 5am
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412 +4 346 +6 337 +7.5 290 +9 351 +11.5

She's in Canada Dyana so is on that system

24.6=442.8 so she's more than high enough :-D
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412 +4 346 +6 337 +7.5 290 +9 351 +11.5

Thanks. That's what I thought, but had to clarify.
Looks like a good night's sleep for you, Kim. Take advantage of it, when you can ;-)
 
Re: 10/21 Twice AMPS 412 +4 346 +6 337 +7.5 290 +9 351 +11.5

Sorry about the number mix up Dyana. Got it fixed now. I will be getting a couple more tests in before I can even think about sleeping. I believe you all that it will be a quieter night... but I think I have a long way to go yet before I'm chillin. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top