10/21 Shishi AMPS 288 +5 167, need help with dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

will and shishi

Member Since 2010
Hello all

I'm still quite new to the board and would like to thank you all in advance for your help. I came to the board for help a month ago and this was the post.

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=26201

Since then, I have cut out all the dry food and switched to a low carb wet food. (Wellness Chicken) And monitored her BG closer.

I know I have made alot of mistakes in terms of regulation before I came to FDMB, partially my fault and vets fault. But I am focused on doing it right from now on.

I am still having trouble finding the right dose for her, and still overwhelmed at some of the regulation techniques and terms. I should get used to them eventually.

But I would like to ask for your help to find the right dose for her, please take a look at Shishi's spreadsheet, and I am most grateful for your suggestions.
 
Hi Will I can't advise you with your dose for Shishi except to say if you stick with the advice that you get here you will get to the best control you can. So many cats just in the month and a half that I've been reading condos and others SS I have seen wonderful improvement in so many kitties it gives me such hope I will see my own cat OTJ. It can be overwhelming in the beginning getting used to the regulation and the commitment it takes to see this through. I would like to encourage you to give it a chance. Everyone will be here for you and Shishi.
 
Nice job on cutting out the dry food and getting more tests!
Although I can't really give you any advise on dosing, I'm sure someone will be along who feels comfortable doing so.
Welcome to LL!!
 
Hi Will

glad to see you posting here.
Welcome to Lantus Land!

Here is a quick link to your first thread on the board (your's isn't highlighted as a link, don't worry, we help you along!)
Shishi's first post in Health

I'm going to throw the protocol link your way, you'll find up top as a "starred" sticky thread.
Protocol for Lantus Land

Lantus does require patience and consistency holding a dose for a given amount of time to work well.
Others will be by to review your SS (spreadsheet)
Learning the ropes does get easier as does knowing your way around here ;-)

A link to New To The Group for helpful reading too.

Quick question so that others can help out here, what is your schedule like?
Your shooting schedule in particular, and are you around in the evenings to get spot checks?
We do like to encourage as many as you can to help fill in the blank. Weekends and days off are good days for curves as well.
For your information, quite a lot of kitties tend to go lower in the evening cycle.
So with that, we encourage those spot checks and most especially a before bedtime check.

One more question, are you testing at home for ketones in the urine?

Hope to see you posting when ever you can!

PS: a link to the Lantus Land Slang Dictionary this should help!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

Ronnie has provided links to much of the important reading. (You didn't realize there would be homework, did you?) There is an overwhelming amount of information in the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. The protocol and the New to Lantus notes are probably the best places to start. Great job with getting your Profile and spreadsheet both up and running AND home testing.

As far as dose, for the moment, I'd hold the 3.5u dose. I would like to encourage you to get at least a before bed test every night (i.e., a test before you go to bed, not before Shishi goes to bed). Many cats run lower numbers during the PM cycle so it's important to have an idea of what's going on. Likewise, if you don't get any tests during the PM cycle, you're missing half of your data.

One quick question... When did you start your Lantus? The only note I saw on your SS was that a new bottle was started on 5/5. If you are using the same vial of Lantus, it may be a bit toasty. Most of us do not get 5 months from a bottle.
 
One quick question... When did you start your Lantus? The only note I saw on your SS was that a new bottle was started on 5/5. If you are using the same vial of Lantus, it may be a bit toasty. Most of us do not get 5 months from a bottle.


That's a very good question. posted by Sienne, let us know ok?

Are you by any chance using a 10ml vial or the 3ml vial?
Whichever one it is, and if by any chance it has been opened for more than a month, it may be toast.
As you can see in the link below, manufacturer's recommend a 28 day usage. However some members here have been known to get a bit more out of it. By a couple of weeks or so.
More links! Check it out k?
Lantus & Levemir: Proper Storgae & Handling
 
Hello All

Thank for all the help, and the warm welcome. Sorry for the late reply. I had to run out for a while.

My schedule is kinda strange, Shishi gets AMPS around 11:55am EST and PMPS around 11:55PM EST. It gets confusing because its so close to the AM-PM change. I usually sleep around 2am EST and wake up around 11am EST

I am able to spot check in between, and willing to wake up in middle of night to check for PMPS + 1-11.

Shes been on lantus since Feb 4, I switched bottles on May 5 to rule out bad bottle of lantus. My bottle is still the same one from 5/5, it is the 10ml vial exp june 2011.

I am able to test for ketones at home, using keto-stix. I am collecting urine with the plastic wrap over litter box method, if there is a better way or trick, I would like to know. I usually don't catch her going to the bathroom.

Should I Be getting the 3ml vials or the 10ml vial? I did not know that vials go bad after a month. This is very helpful. Cost is certainly a issue.

I will indeed further my reading and study of proper use of lantus.
 
Hi again!

alright, so you are in Ontario, my tips are: Costco, 5 pack of 3ml vials is approx $95
about $120 at Shoppers Drug Mart.
And you don't need a prescription, plus at Costco you don't need a membership to purchase.

I would defiantly consider replacing your vial.
I believe the expiry date is meant for a "sealed vial".

The 5 pack cartridges (3ml) has been known to be a better deal economically, rather than the 10ml vial.
What kind of syringes are you using?
If you don't have syringes with 1/2 unit markings, you may need them down the road.
BD is a common brand available at most pharmacies.

Right now it is friday, if you will be around, start a new thread/condo with today's numbers.
Have a good day!
 
Morning, and welcome to the Lantus message board. :)

From what I understand about Lantus, you need to hold the dose for 6-10 cycles (3-5 days), and then increase it in increments of 0.25u, and in some cases 0.5u. I think most of us increase it by 0.25u after a period of time.

I'm sure that someone will be along shortly to help you.

Good luck, and I wish for a day filled with good #'s! :)
 
Will --

No worries about your shot times. As long as it's straight in your head, it's not a problem here. It's why we don't use the hours on the clock but hours from shot time. The members here are from all over the world so talking in terms of the time on the clock would be very confusing.

How long a container of Lantus is good for is a matter of debate. The manufacturer states that it is good for 28 days from the time you open your container. Members of the German counterpart of this forum indicate that they've been able to use Lantus for up to 6 mos. Most of us don't get that duration out of a container but it really does vary. If your Lantus looks cloudy or if you see "floaties," then your Lantus is no longer viable. Generally, a cat's response will become unpredictable when Lantus is beginning to get toasty. Many of us routinely switch out our pens/cartridges after around a month.

As I mentioned yesterday, if you can hold your current dose and get a couple of checks during the PM cycle, we'll be better able to evaluate where to go with Shishi's dose.
 
One thing I would suggest you to get advice on (asap):

If your vial is 5 months old and if you are currently shooting 3.5u from it, and IF your Lantus really is "toast" (might be, might not... who knows?)- then starting over, on a brand-new Vial or Cartridge or whatever at the same dosage, might have quite a drastic effect - where 3.5u could suddenly, be way too much...??

Wiser heads can, will I hope, chime in here with some of their (as always) better advice !

Perry
 
Testify! Sienne kept trying to tell me to change bottles, I didn't listen cause I was busy squeezing every penny out of my old bottle. So when I started a cartridge the next time, it really did pack a punch. But that old bottle, I opened it 8/9 and it wasn't until 10/19 that Shadow's #s started going wonky. so not too bad.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top