10/21 MISSY PMPS 332 ATRAK

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maresydotes

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54674

Here is a recap of Missy yesterday:

AMPS 296
+ 3- 265
+ 6 - 315 (food spike, ate 1/2 hour prior to test)
PMPS- 354
+ 2 1/2- 311
+6- 327


So, it sounds like this may be NDW...??? She is still kind of quiet, not asking for her PMPS and AMPS, like usual, but I suppose that could be her numbers, because she was perkier yesterday when she was in the 200s. Still eating fine, alert, just sleeping more. However, the weather could be contributing, because we are in full swing of Seattle fall weather. :sad: Cool, gray and wet.

Tonight will be the 6th dose at the increase. Would it be advised to let her go another day or two before I go up another .25, to maybe settle in this dose. Or because she is on 4.5 units, should I think about a .5 dose increase?

She definitely has me going and I really want to get her out of the pinks. ohmygod_smile I couldn't sleep because I was worried about her, which was kinda good, cuz I got a few PM numbers. I guess some good is coming of those darn pinks.

In the meantime, Phoenix has been in and out all day, leaving wet kitty splotches on the floor everywhere. He honestly comes in dripping wet. A true Washingtonian. :lol:

Again, I welcome any and all comments and ideas...thanks!
 
Re: 10/21 MISSY AMPS 301; + 3 1/2 268 ATRAK

Hi Mares,

Sorry, I don't have any advice, just wanted say hi and commiserate about the sucky weather.
 
Re: 10/21 MISSY AMPS 301; + 3 1/2 268 ATRAK

Now Now, dont get down & depressed!! mOONIE HAS BEEN ON THIS DOSE(0.5 fat) SINCE 8/30/11 and just got a dose reduction finally!!---Patience pants are on their way to you!! Wear them proudly--Yes this could be dose not kicking in just yet, or it is just too soon--Moonie used to wait till the very last second of the 6th cycle to come down on an increase--It used to be a joke here-
You are doing such a good job with her!! You can ask the dosing helpers, but personally I would wait another day-or at least till tomorrow am -Then see where you are--
She is doing normally for a newbie..sometimes it takes some doing to find the right dose--Hugs & dont get Depressed--OK?????? Missy is getting better Right? Look at the Whole cat..not just the numbers. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/21 MISSY AMPS 301; + 3 1/2 268 ATRAK

Thanks for the pep talk, Roni. I need it...the weather gets me down, too. Jeez, it is only October...I have another 6 months to go before I see the sun again :lol: I need the patience pants. I think she forever spoiled me by getting OTJ so fast in April. I expected/hoped it would happen like that again, esp. since we cannot find any reason she relapsed. We will just keep plugging along and do what it takes, but I do so miss seeing her the way she was this summer! I loved watching take a swipe at her brother. Maybe we both need those lamps for people who get that Seasonal Affectation Disorder. I wonder if vitamon D plays a role???

Linda..thanks for the commiseration. :-D This is a gorgeous state, but sometimes you can forget it when it is grey...and you have a constant parade of wet puddy prints through your house. That and the baby slugs they bring with them....I got some fast moving cats. :lol: I just told DH that I don't know if I will mop the floor until June. :o You can ship us any excess sunshine you have.
 
Re: 10/21 MISSY AMPS 301;+ 3.5 268;+6.5 329 ATRAK

Maresydotes said:
Tonight will be the 6th dose at the increase. Would it be advised to let her go another day or two before I go up another .25, to maybe settle in this dose. Or because she is on 4.5 units, should I think about a .5 dose increase?
From the protocol:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Be patient - the numbers will come.

Maresydotes said:
I couldn't sleep because I was worried about her, which was kinda good, cuz I got a few PM numbers. I guess some good is coming of those darn pinks.
Good job on filling in some of the missing pieces!

Tell me Mares, how are you holding up physically, being that your sleep patterns/habits have been altered this past week for several nights?
 
Re: 10/21 MISSY AMPS 301;+ 3.5 268;+6.5 329 ATRAK

Sandy, are those nadirs for BG with a human meter? Since Mares is using an Alpha Trak, would those numbers be shifted up? Seems like most people say by 30 but I'm not sure about that.
Liz
 
Re: 10/21 MISSY AMPS 301;+ 3.5 268;+6.5 329 ATRAK

Anne & Zener said:
Sandy, are those nadirs for BG with a human meter?
Yes, they are for a human glucometer, I believe all the literature in LL is expressed in human glucometer numbers.
Anne & Zener said:
Since Mares is using an Alpha Trak, would those numbers be shifted up? Seems like most people say by 30 but I'm not sure about that.
Liz
That is my understanding, that the AT reads higher, so you subtract 30 to align with the human glucometer readings most of us use. The way my mind works is to look at AT #'s and subtract 30, so lowest numbers so far at this dose are 235 and 238, greater than 200, but less than 300, so only a .25u increase is warranted, when the time comes.

That being said, I don't have 1st hand experience with that meter and you do. Your input would be very valuable.
Are there some nuanced patterns you have noticed that don't fit in with the 30 points less rule of thumb?
 
Re: 10/21 MISSY AMPS 301;+ 3.5 268;+6.5 329 ATRAK

Sandy,
Thank you so much for asking how I am doing! Surprisingly a lot better than I expected. Yay :-D tired, but able to function. We'll see how it goes when I do my own shot. It may hit me then.
I DO need patience pants! I hate to keep on wailing all the time, but she has me concerned. She went off Clavamox (acne) last Friday or Saturday. She has been kind of lethargic for the last couple days, but I have been able to rationalize it as due to getting off the AB (I even emailed the vet and SHE told me to watch and wait, as long as she is eating) and then it was the weather changing or her numbers.... The one day (Tues, I think) when she started off in the 200s, she actually did a (very) little playing. But, today, I am having a hard time ignoring that she is not up to par. She is eating fine, but not squawking for treats when I test. She is usually very vocal about it :smile: . And right now, she is laying on the bed, in the dark, facing the headboard. Usually she would be downstairs in one of the recliners with us. I really don't like her facing away from everything. It doesn't make me feel warm and fuzzy.
Maybe it is her body adjusting to the higher dose??? Maybe adjusting to getting off the ABs?? Maybe both?? I just don't like how long she has been in the pinks. My mind is going a hundred different ways.... I just now she isn't feeling up to par, she has been too high for too long and she doesn't seem to be responding. (yes, I need patience pants, badly!) nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
I don't understand why she really doesn't have a 'curve', is that good or bad? I can rationalize it both ways, but I don't have a clue. She has got me as stirred up as she did in March. Damn it, she is SO sweet and she felt so good this summer. I just want to bawl.
Ok, that is my rant for the night...sorry. I am pretty worried right now.
 
Re: 10/21 MISSY AMPS 301;+ 3.5 268;+6.5 329 ATRAK

Anne,
That is a very good point. Oh my there is so much to think about, keep in mind...when I am freaking out about her. Doh! ohmygod_smile I guess I should pull out the protocol and re-read it. As I recall, there are two sets of numbers, one for human meters, one for AlphaTrak.
I should just give in and use a human meter. It would make it easier for situations like this. I just didn't want to NOT use the meter I paid so much for :sad:
Thanks so much for that good input.....I had totally spaced the numbers difference.
 
Re: 10/21 MISSY AMPS 301;+ 3.5 268;+6.5 329 ATRAK

Have a look at Ollies ss. He marched all the way to 5.25u and bingo!
Then, it was fasten your seat-belt for a slide down the dosing ladder time, which can be exhausting.

I can appreciate your daily fatigue; I have PD...curling my eyelashes requires a great expenditure of energy. . .(not to mention a great deal of care!)
Use the time you are waiting for the big break wisely. Figure out how to best budget and allocate your energy and strength, both physical and emotional.
If you want to try for remission, you will likely run into some physically and mentally demanding times.
Try and get DH on board. I could not have done it without DBF (aka the night watchman). First he learned to test, then to shoot and eventually to post.
It was so important, both for the times I needed rest and the times I was unable to take care of BK due to business travel or my health.

For whatever reason, this is way different than Missys last experience with insulin. Think of it like apples and oranges. Try not to compare too much.
Many of us know first hand about relentless pink , increase after increase, hoping this dose will be "the" one, only to be faced with more pink and the sinking feeling it brings.
(BK did not see even one green number for 6 months)

Keep marching forward,dose by dose, you'll get there!
 
Re: 10/21 MISSY AMPS 301;+ 3.5 268;+6.5 329 ATRAK

my goodness...i just now realized you are in Seattle!

Portland is my first love...but I have often lived in Washington...Vancouver, Spokane, Wenatchee, Clarkston...

I MISS WA!!!!
 
Re: 10/21 MISSY AMPS 301;+ 3.5 268;+6.5 329 ATRAK

Sandy,
Once again thank you! I am sure you know, even more than I, the challenges that emotional ups and downs place on your physical self. I do so want to try for remission. That would be the ultimate, but I really just want her to feel ok. She doesn't have to be the perky little cat (ok,'little' is stretching it ;-) ) she was this summer, I just don't want her to feel BAD. Our last kitty died of cardiomyopathy and it was so hard to watch when he wasn't feeling good. But, his last night on this earth was doing what he loved the best...curled up in front of a fire with DH who was HIS person. So, it was worth it all to know he got to cross that bridge happy.
I will be here for her, no matter what. I will do what I have to do. I just have to regain some perspective. You know, I was feeling bad about her up in the bedroom, facing the wall....then she came down, on her own, and sat in front of me and grabbed at the nanner and rolled around. Like she was saying it'll be okay.....She is one who doesn't like hovering and I am a hoverer...but I am trying not to be.
I guess I need to get into my greenhouse or the yard for some good old fashion 'dirt therapy'. There is nothing so elemental as watching plants grow. (wow, don't I sound like a ball of fire? :lol: ). I think one of the biggest lessons I learned about life, when I was in the 'pity poor me stage' was learned in the garden, watching a bee fight for his life,
while stuck in a Rhody blossom. Life and death struggles go on around us every day....even in your back yard. How dare I
feel sorry for myself? It put things in to perspective for me. And, BTW, the bee got free!
So after my rant, now I wax philosophic . Only because my girl came down and showed me she'll be ok....I just need those da*n patience pants to show up...NOW. :lol:
Really, you all don't have any idea how much your encouragement and willingness to share your experience means. DH grew up on a farm, so while he is as supportive as he can be, this whole concept is foreign to him.....even after losing his dear boy. I, on the other hand am a huge pile of mush and I don't have hairless kids ;-) , so my fur babies mean everything to me.
I am about to do her PMPS shot here soon....her + 10 wasn't great (I think 315, but I'll post it later) but her coming down and lovin on the nanner really helped my state of mind. I see you are on the east coast, so probably in bed.....but thanks...it really means the world to me to have you all out there.
 
Re: 10/21 MISSY AMPS 301;+ 3.5 268;+6.5 329 ATRAK

Celi,
I have visited Portland, but not been around the state a LOT. We have actually been looking for property in eastern OR.
Any of the cities you mentioned in Wa would be great, too. I really like the Wenatchee area. My BIL lived in Leavenworth and I loved visiting him! What beautiful country. But pricey!!
Where are you in Idaho? My in laws used to live in Twin Falls. They rented the coolest little place that hung over the Snake River.....you could watch hawks catching the thermals right off the deck. It was awesome. It wasn't rich digs, but OMG, the view was to die for. Best camping I ever did was an hour or so north of there. I will have to look up the reservoir we were near......where a deer scared the s**t out of me in the night, and me him (on a potty foray) and all my future in laws sat around the fire and laughed at my shreiks of fear! Shoulda known what I was getting into :o . I have lots of fond memories of Idaho.
I love visiting your condo....nice to have a ray of sunshine. The mouse thing is still making me laugh!!!! At least mine have not brought me breakfast in bed :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top