10/21 Mimi AMPS 421 +5 233 +9 136

Mimis mom

Member Since 2019
Hi! This is a new thread from a previous one.
I have given Mimi her morning food, not yet tested her though. I did however manage to find her peeing and I was able to stick a ketostick into the stream!
It read negative but then as I looked at it a tad further I think it read trace.. the colors were so similar it was hard to tell. Do you think the blood ones are a lot more accurate?

I’m going to test mine next time I have to go to see it I can compare it a little.

is having a trace cause for alarm or..
 
Hi Rosa! Sorry, the example I gave you in your previous thread was for yesterday's numbers. Today's title for now should just be "10/21 Mimi" until you take the AMPS reading.

How long did you wait after looking at the strip? Usually you have to wait 15 seconds but double check the bottle. After 15 seconds, it will just start darkening.

Anything above trace = a trip to the ER. If it is trace, I would put extra water in Mimi's food to help flush out the ketones and try to catch her the next time she pees for another test.

You should also test blood sugar BEFORE feeding. Food will raise the blood sugar and we want to know what the number is at shot time WITHOUT food. You should also take away any food 2 hours BEFORE shot time.
 
ok so Im going to test her in about an hour- that will be 3 hours since I fed them.. I think it was negative.
 
updated!
just tested ketones again- it starts out at the negative but as it hits 15 seconds it starts to change a little to trace.. I dont know if Im just overthinking it and its negative.. I've still been giving her extra water
 
updated!
just tested ketones again- it starts out at the negative but as it hits 15 seconds it starts to change a little to trace.. I dont know if Im just overthinking it and its negative.. I've still been giving her extra water
Hi Rosa,
I just finished reading your life with little Mimi and all the selfless|tireless guidance from peeps on this board... over the past two days.
OMG Rosa,, Mimi is so lucky to have you by her side. So blessed.
You have been a great caregiver! :cat: :bighug:.
You go girl!:)
 
Back
Top