10/21 Leo AMPS 433 +3.5 383 +7.5 418 PMPS 500 TRAVEL SUCCESS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Unfortunate Xanax Day's Condo

Yesterday's Summary
AMPS 360
+1 439
+5 379
+10.5 400
PMPS 375
+2 330

Good Morning! ~O) ~O) ~O) Happy Sunday!

I actually got to sleep nearly all night in a row, and did NO TESTING! This is only the second time in 2 months I didn't get up for a nadir or be up for green-pond scum dredges. So I will await delivery of Mannie's Brew of the Day, I'm not as zoned as I normally am!

Leo is either coming off a rolling bounce or settling into his new lower dose. Hopefully just a bounce. Don't want to be back in icky pink/red-ville again. Well, put on the patience pants, but honestly, I could use some days of reduced anxiety and more sleep, so I won't complain about the frustration of higher values using the protocol.

Yesterday was Leo's Xanax trial Dose 0.125 (1/2 tablet). No noticeable behavior changes after 1 hour. At about 2 hours, he was more on alert, more into "play mode" instead of wanting to be scratched and petted. He seemed a little more aggressive, but that's not the right word. Marje relayed to me that Gracie acted like she was on speed - Leo had an element of that as well. I did a test test (haha) to see how he behaved during a BG test, and he didn't come when called. That's very unusual unless I've been sticking him every 20 minutes for several hours on end. He also growled, again, unusual. After about 4 hours, he calmed down and came when I called. He let me test him, was still a tad growly, but was much better about all of it.

So, in a nutshell, Xanax is not the solution. SIGH. I was REALLY hoping this would take the edge off. Well I think *I* will take a Xanax on the next trip. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile Which is this afternoon.

@Rhiannan - thanks your your ideas last night. I'll catnip him up before the trip. I'll look for catnip spray and also Feliaway that Jane suggested. Maybe it will be different than the Calming spray I tried. So sad about poor little Shadow in the hotel - that was a nice solution making a tent with your legs! The mamabean shirt is a good idea too. Drat I just did the laundry yesterday! Maybe my sleeping shirt.

@Marje - That's a good idea to look at unscented diapers and somehow make bumpers or something. Clever using them to clean up messes.

We had a wonderful time at Fur Ball's OTJ party last night! Yay! And continued good luck to Shadow in reaching the falls. And also vines to all the kitties and beans who need them.

Lisa & Leo
 
Re: 10/21 Leo AMPS 433

Hopefully that AMPS is just a bounce and Leo will settle into this new dose. Sending you and Leo calming vines for your trip this afternoon. I hope the catnip helps tire him out and he travels better. Have a safe trip.
 
Re: 10/21 Leo AMPS 433

Morning Lisa and I know you will enjoy Mannie's Express Coffee drink this morning. I think you needed the sleep. I did the same after Maggie's pink number. So sorry the Xanax didn't work out yesterday. I see a lot of other helpful suggestions and hope something works out for the ride today. Sending you and Leo lots of vines for a calm and good ride today back to the apartment. I guess you probably tried Rescue Remedy. It worked a little on my Siamese kitty at Vet time.

Leo, we have Muffin's OTJ party to attend later. We'll get you all loopy so you'll sleep all the way to the apartment. Your loving sis, Mags
 
Re: 10/21 Leo AMPS 433

I hope your trip goes well today, and Leo settles into his new dose soon.
 
Re: 10/21 Leo AMPS 433

Oh, i so hope your trip goes well!
When we transport our nervous little ferals, a cover over their carriers always helps keep them calm... maybe that would help?
Also, there are absorbant pads (grey) from NAPA (car parts store) that we put in the bottom of the carriers. They are for soaking up oil spills, etc. They are a little bit soft and then if there's an "issue" just pull 'em out..toss 'em and put in a new one. I don't know if they would help, but i thought i'd pass it along.
safe travels
mary, mark, oliver
 
Re: 10/21 Leo AMPS 433

A different option may be Rescue Remedy. It is supposed to have a calming effect. I've not used it yet with Gabby so I can't speak from personal experience. It's available on Amazon but make sure you get the formula for pets that doesn't have alcohol.

I'm glad you got some sleep. When a cat's bouncing is a perfect time to try to have a restful night.
 
Re: 10/21 Leo AMPS 433

Good morning, Lisa!

Sorry to hear the Xanax didn't work for Leo. When Shasta and I travel to and from my parent's house (8 hour drive), she usually is very good...sleeps most of the time. However, when I first got her and we started traveling back and forth...not so good. She would stick her "arms" out the front of her crate, fold them around the front and start shaking the door violently!!!!! It was horrible and yet, make me giggle through my anger! My vet back then, gave me a pill to give her before we started traveling. He said I should start with 1/2 a tablet...just to see what effects it would have on her. OH MY GOODNESS! You would have thought she was on an acid trip...eyes glazed over, incoherent, moaning. Needless to say, I stopped giving it to her! I wish you luck on your travels. Definitely take the Xanax for you for later!!!!! :-D

p.s. Leo, please come down from the pinks! Yellows and blues would be nice to a travel day. Safe travels!
 
Re: 10/21 Leo AMPS 433

Thank you for your travel vines and suggestions. I'm sorry not to reply to each of you for the moment. We are a bit late getting on the road and I am trying some new things you all suggested - I will give a report when we get in.

Thank you!!!!!

Getting on the road with a BG of 418. Don't need to test on the way! Small thank you for that!
 
Re: 10/21 Leo AMPS 433 +3.5 383 +7.5 418

Thinking of you both as you travel. :YMHUG: Sorry to hear the xanax had the opposite affect. Bummer. But yes, crazy how thankful it is to see the higher number so you don't have to worry about hypos on the road.

Sounds like you have some pretty good suggestions for the travel. Fur Ball rarely sees a vehicle so I have no advice.

Fur Ball is so thankful you guys checked out his party. And, yes, after Muffins today there will be all sorts of catnip hangovers. :lol: :lol:

Karen
 
Re: 10/21 Leo AMPS 433 +3.5 383 +7.5 418

Hi Lisa,

I hope things are going well on your trip. Drive carefully & get home safely.

My vet gave me valium for my 2 girls when I flew for the first time with them. I never used it again because it turned out I didn't need it since they didn't mind the plane much, but it put them in Lalaland. He gave me a script for 5mg pills & they got 1/4 tablet each. Their eyes got glazed over and they swaggered all over later when they tried to walk. It lasted about 4 hours or so with them sleepy and about another hour goofy. That might work on Leo. It definitely made them sleepy. A little too much for my taste. The next time I used it, I used less.

TTYL

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 10/21 Leo AMPS 433 +3.5 383 +7.5 418

Hi Lisa, sorry for the bouncy kitty. well, take advantage and catch up on some sleep. permission slip issued by Leo.

Sorry that the xanax. WOW - I hear alot of people swear by Rescue remedy. I've never used it so can't say for sure.

Have a great rest of the day.
 
Re: 10/21 Leo AMPS 433 +3.5 383 +7.5 418

drinking09 SUCCESS! As terrible as the last Thursday was, today was the complete opposite!

3.5 hours (rather than 5.75), and he slept near the entire way. On arrival, he wanted to be fed, and it currently taking a bath. He already played a bit. YAY!!!!!!

I think there are 2 key factors that changed everything:
1) I changed pee pad brands. The one I was using (Nature's Miracle) was advertised to be the least scented. Ick, I didn't like the sweet smell, and I bet Leo didn't either. I found another brand (they're in the car, not sure the brand now) that has NOT smell. NONE! That makes the carrier much more tolerable I am sure.

2) I set up my car so that the inside is completely dedicated to Cat. EVERYTHING except the driver's seat. The carrier is normally in the front. I moved the litterbox to the floor behind my seat, put a soft towel on the floor behind the passenger, and his milk crate of necessities, etc., on one back seat. The other seat was free. He wandered around and settled on the back seat, so I took off. My thought was he would be able to go straight to the litter box when his nervous pees and poops started. And sure as not, 20 minutes in he started open mouth breathing (!!!) then went to the LB and peed! Good BOY!!!!!


@Michelle - the Rescue Remedy may be doing something, so I'll continue it since it doesn't seem to Hurt. Thanks for thinking of us!

@Melanie - hmmm, valium. Well, we'll see if today was a fluke, but I hope we have a solution here. But good to know maybe if I know a commute will be a bad one ahead of time, like torrential rain like last week. I didn't realize cats can take valium too. Hmmm.

@Karen - thanks for the wishes - yes, we got a lot of good advice. Great party, and congrats again!

@Deborah - on no! I am laughing a little too at the image of arms out of the cage shaking the door - poor Shasta! I wish Leo would have listened to you. 500 on arrival. Ack!

@Sienne - I've been using Rescue Remedy the last two trips. I don't know if it has any effect, but he tolerates it, so I'll keep using it. Thanks for the recommendation - it's good to see so many people suggest it.

@Mary - That's a good idea with the cover on the cage. I couldn't tell if he liked it or not. After today's trip I think the cage was too confining for him, so I probably won't do that unless there are more crazy truck lights and he gets freaky. I never thought of the NAPA pads - that's a neat idea. Someone here recommended doggie training pads (pee pads) and they are terrific - same concept - they get "used", toss them.

@Rhiannon - thank you - your vines helped us tremendously! BIG sighs of relief over here! Leo is laying on the floor next to my feet.

@Dyana - thank you for your wishes. Leo isn't liking this dose, but in fairness, he's had some stressors that are likely affecting the numbers. Let's see how the next several cycles play out. But mamabean is NOT GETTING UP FOR A NADIR TONIGHT!!!!! This is a record - 2 nights in a row after a zillion nights up 1 or more times. Yay! I just cracked upon a Smirnoff Ice to celebrate.

drinking09

@Ann - thank you. The sleep started to chip away at the exhaustion. Whew! Thank you for the vines - much appreciated and it worked - thanks!
Yo Mags - mamabean didn't put me in the Box of Torture today!!! I got to sit on the back seat and sleep. I didn't have to barf or anything! I think I will refrain from playing under the bed at 3am so she can get some sleep tonight. Seeya later sis ~ Leo

@Carla - thank you for the vines - they worked great! I gave Leo some Catnip but couldn't find the spray. Maybe it was part of the solution.
 
Re: 10/21 Leo AMPS 433 +3.5 383 +7.5 418 PMPS 500 TRAVEL SUC

FWIW, Valium and Xanax are the same family of tranquilizers -- they are both benzodiazepines. Overall, Xanax is safer although it's higher potency. If Leo doesn't like Xanax, he won't like Valium.

Great to hear it was a much easier trip.
 
Re: 10/21 Leo AMPS 433 +3.5 383 +7.5 418 PMPS 500 TRAVEL SUC

Yeah for a successful (and no poo) travel! My Neko is much better out of the kennel than in. I know it's safer in and she still is in there for short trips, but she seems to panic in the kennel after a certain period of time. I put her in the car inside the kennel,open the kennel door, then put her back in before opening the door at the other end. I did spray the inside of the kennel with Feliway (available at PetSmart here at least) and at times she went back in on her own to rest.

Nice of Leo to let you sleep some and enjoy the evening! Paws crossed for snuggly kitty in bed tonight.
 
Re: 10/21 Leo AMPS 433 +3.5 383 +7.5 418 PMPS 500 TRAVEL SUC

Glad to hear it was much better this time. Good sleep vines for you tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top