10/21 Kona AMPS 382,+1 332,+2 293,+7 240,+9 320,PMPS 264,+2 185,+3 144,+4 188

Kona earned that reduction to .75 :cat:.
The high number is from that long stretch in healing greens (which her body is not used to) and the skip.
I would be prepared for her to come back down real soon ;).
You can shoot at whatever time you want this morning after last night's skip.
 
Kona earned that reduction to .75 :cat:.
The high number is from that long stretch in healing greens (which her body is not used to) and the skip.
I would be prepared for her to come back down real soon ;).
You can shoot at whatever time you want this morning after last night's skip.

*deep breath* Okay, that sounds good. I'll do the 0.75 at 7AM. That's in 30 minutes.

I'll test at 7 too, since it will be technically her new AMPS.

Thanks @Angela & Cleo
 
6:30am - fed can of her "new" LC food at , Weruva TruLuxe Quick 'N Quirky that is less than 1% carbs.
6:57am - BG 382
7:00am - AM shot at 0.75U
7:57am - BG 332
 
Last edited:
Looks like you will get a break this afternoon. I hated bounces but sometimes I half liked them as I got a break before the next pj party. Good luck with the diet change. I’m excited to see what I think will be good news.
 
6:30am - fed can of her "new" LC food at , Weruva TruLuxe Quick 'N Quirky that is less than 1% carbs.
6:57am - BG 382
7:00am - AM shot at 0.75U
7:57am - BG 332
8:56am - BG 293
 
Take a break from tests for now. She will probably keep heading lower till the end of the cycle. You could get a test at +6 or so and take it from there.

Sounds like a plan, thanks, @Bandit's Mom !

I need to run into town to get more supplies and to stock up, so this testing break is perfect:
  • Running out of test strips, I don't have enough to make it until they arrive from my online order.
  • I'm picking up a fresh bottle of Karo and various med/high carb wet foods to build out my Hypo kit.
  • Will look for Ketosticks.
  • Will look for calipers.
Just bought these foods online a moment ago for more no carb back-up options and supplemental feeding to try to watch out for Phos levels that appers to be higher in the new food I switched to.

 
Here's the "Get Started Shopping List" from our FB group

GETTING STARTED SHOPPING LIST

1. Blood glucose meter. We now recommend the Relion Premier Classic (available at WalMart) which is only $9. It takes a reasonable sample size and the strips are affordable at $9/50 or $17.88/100 (If you currently own the Prime, strips should remain available for quite some time so don’t panic and run out and buy the new meter). If you are in Canada, the Bayer Contour, One Touch and Freestyle Lite are favorites of the Canadians in the group. A lot of places that sell meters/strips offer a free meter with purchase of 100 strips. Take advantage of points programs whenever possible (for example, Air Miles, or PC Optimum at Shoppers Drug Mart) to recoup some of your costs and periodically get free supplies

2. Matching strips. The Premier Strips are $9 for 50 or $17.88 for 100. Will vary depending on what meter you end up using. Using the Contour or One Touch, check Amazon/Ebay for better prices

3. Lancets - little sticks to poke the ear to get blood . new members usually start with a larger gauge lancet such as 25g to 28g until the ear learns to bleed. (Usually marked “For alternate site testing) These 26 gauge lancets are perfect for “new ears” but might not be available in the store. Any lancet that’s 25-28 gauge will work. If the linked ones above aren’t available, you should be able to find these in the store https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-25-Gauge-Needle-2-In-1-Lancing-Device-For-Normal-Skin-50-Ct/146921861?fbclid=IwAR2a1NWMM_PVcOf_WWkv54jkWxcrnVvvAoI6iarsPWP-9iIxDZt4b9E-i4c but we’ve heard a lot of complaints about these being hard to use on cat’s ears.
These Freestyle 28 gauge lancets are a little more expensive ($9.92/100) but are great lancets for new ears.

3a. Optional - Relion lancing device. $5.84 for lancing device ...not required if you can freehand poke) If you really want to use a lancing device but are using a different lancet brand, you’ll need to find a device that works with the lancets you have.

4. Cotton balls/cosmetic pads to stem the blood. I particularly like the cotton cosmetic pads like these at WalMart

5. Bacitracin ointment to help heal the little poke holes. Vaseline is also a good way to help the blood “bead up” instead of wicking into the fur. Emla cream is an alternative but requires a prescription (and should be only used after poking due to creams causing the blood drop to wick into the fur more readily). Neosporin or Polysporin ointment with pain relief is NO LONGER RECOMMENDED due to the ingredient, polymixin which, if ingested in great enough quantities, can cause problems.

6. Mini flashlight (optional) - useful to help see the ear veins in dark cats, and to press against

7. Ketone urine test strips..ketostix (urine only) or ketodiastix (test for both glucose and ketones but more expensive and unnecessary if you're already testing BG) - Important to check ketones when blood glucose is high, kitty isn’t eating or just acts like they’re not feeling well. Urine Ketone test strips Available at WalMart for $6.94

8. Sharps container like this BD sharps container- to dispose of wasted syringes and lancets. OR a B/D needle clipper like this one on Amazon (these are GREAT!...they clip the needle part off and you can just throw the rest of the syringe in the trash. Holds about 2 years worth of needles!) You can also use containers made of thick plastic like laundry detergent bottles, milk bottles, etc. but before disposal, should be taped shut with SHARPS written clearing on it. Check your local ordinances for laws regarding the disposal of sharps.

9. Treats for the cat - like freeze dried chicken...check in the dog food treats....they’re usually cheaper. Any treat that’s freeze dried and the only ingredient is a protein source is fine.

10. Karo syrup/corn syrup, honey or pancake syrup if you don’t have it at home - for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast. Karo available at Walmart for $2.97 (they also have Great Value corn syrup for $2.54)

11. A couple of cans of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers (beef is the highest carb) or other high carb gravy food- for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast

12. A pair of toddler socks to fill with rice and use to warm the area you want to get blood from (optional). You can also use an old sock around the house.

13. Syringes (If using a U100 insulin like Lantus or Levemir or willing to use a conversion chart with U40 insulin like ProZinc)
IMPORTANT that you get syringes with half unit markings! 30 or 31 gauge, 3/10cc insulin syringes....All the WalMart Relion 3/10cc syringes have half unit markings
You can also order from American Diabetes Wholesale if you want to deal with shipping or prefer to order supplies online. (make sure they are 0.3cc or 3/10ml with half unit marks)
These are the correct syringes for U100 insulin at WalMart.....and no matter what they tell you, they DO have half unit markings. Packaging may differ but as long as they have the purple stripe on the box, they’re the correct syringes.

241463669_10219518710345653_7608987528060033790_n.jpg
 
6:30am - fed can of her "new" LC food at , Weruva TruLuxe Quick 'N Quirky that is less than 1% carbs.
6:57am - BG 382
7:00am - AM shot at 0.75U
7:57am - BG 332
8:56am - BG 293
2:00pm - BG 240
4:00pm - BG 320 4:15pm - BG 273
 
Last edited:
Question: are these numbers concerning with last night’s skip including a reduction? Stick with 0.75 or move back to 1U?

My PMPS is in 2.5 hours. I’ll feed no carb meal in 2 hours.
 
I wouldn't be too concerned with the higher numbers at the moment.

Are you feeding 1/2 hour before giving the shot? Is there a reason why you're waiting between feeding and shooting?
With glargine, you can test feed and shoot all in 15 minutes.
 
I wouldn't be too concerned with the higher numbers at the moment.

Are you feeding 1/2 hour before giving the shot? Is there a reason why you're waiting between feeding and shooting?
With glargine, you can test feed and shoot all in 15 minutes.

Thanks for quick response!

Okay, I’ll relax and stick with the dose plan.

For the 1/2 feeding wait, it’s no other reason other than routine, her slower eating sometimes, making coffee, doing things, etc.

I think you or someone else noted the Glargine slow react too, I forgot.

NOTED! I’ll test, feed, shoot all in 15min. =)

Thanks @Angela & Cleo
 
6:30am - fed can of her "new" LC food at , Weruva TruLuxe Quick 'N Quirky that is less than 1% carbs.
6:57am - BG 382
7:00am - AM shot at 0.75U
7:57am - BG 332
8:56am - BG 293
2:00pm - BG 240
4:00pm - BG 320 4:15pm - BG 273
6:50pm - BG 264
6:55pm - Fed 1 can of Weruva TruLuxe Quick 'N Quirky (1%)
7:07pm - PM shot at 0.75U
 
Last edited:
You don't feed in the 2 hour window before the AMPS/PMPS. This is so that you don't get a food-influenced (pre-shot) reading when determining if it's safe to shoot or not. At least, when you are new to shooting low. Then at shot time, you test, feed if it's safe to shoot and then shoot - all within a 15 min window.
 
@Bandit's Mom Your shopping list forgot the most important ingredient - a treat for the caregiver. :p Especially needed after those late night pokey parties.

Jason - a lot of people just give insulin when the cat's head is in the food bowl. My Neko took approximately 30 seconds to polish off her meal, so I waited until after.

Higher numbers are due to both the skip and the bounce. Skipping the dose impacts the depot, you have to wait for it to build again. As we say (often) in this forum, time for those patience pants. The L insulins do teach us patience. Never my strong suit.

Piling onto Bhooma's last post, getting the odd +1 test will help you gather data about how much of a numbers bump she gets from food. That way you can factor that food bump number in when looking at a preshot number that is influenced by food, to get an idea what her non food influenced number would have been.
 
6:30am - fed can of her "new" LC food at , Weruva TruLuxe Quick 'N Quirky that is less than 1% carbs.
6:57am - BG 382
7:00am - AM shot at 0.75U
7:57am - BG 332
8:56am - BG 293
2:00pm - BG 240
4:00pm - BG 320 4:15pm - BG 273
6:50pm - BG 264
6:55pm - Fed 1 can of Weruva TruLuxe Quick 'N Quirky (1%)
7:07pm - PM shot at 0.75U
9:00pm - BG 185

Cheers to riding a blue wave... building back up the depot! :cool:
 
Last edited:
Do you think you can stay up till +3 or +4? Does she have access to food after you've gone to bed?

I’m committed to the +3 & +4. I might be able to do a +5.

She doesn’t have free access to food after I go to bed. I haven’t purchased a snack, feeder system yet that is chipped just for her. She has been scheduled fed 12hour/12hour her whole life.

Are you worried she will get too low through the night cycle? I can leave a small plate of her food before I go to bed, but she’ll probably eat it on the spot.

Please advise, thanks!
 
I’m committed to the +3 & +4. I might be able to do a +5.
If she slows down by +3 or +4, you don't have to stay up much later. Let's see what she has in mind.

Are you worried she will get too low through the night cycle? I can leave a small plate of her food before I go to bed, but she’ll probably eat it on the spot.
She might not go low tonight because of the skip last night, but you want to be able to find some way to feed her till +6 (or later), if necessary, on some nights or on days when you have to go to work. If you look at yesterday's AM cycle, she seems to be one of those cats that has end-of-cycle nadirs when clearing a bounce. Which means, her numbers will keep heading lower till the end of the cycle.
 
@Bandit's Mom

So when cat’s get very low, their natural instinct is to find food? If they get low through the night, they can self regulate and bring up numbers on their own?

What’s the BEST microchip wet food feeder you know of. I want to order it ASAP. I’m looking for one.
 
6:30am - fed can of her "new" LC food at , Weruva TruLuxe Quick 'N Quirky that is less than 1% carbs.
6:57am - BG 382
7:00am - AM shot at 0.75U
7:57am - BG 332
8:56am - BG 293
2:00pm - BG 240
4:00pm - BG 320 4:15pm - BG 273
6:50pm - BG 264
6:55pm - Fed 1 can of Weruva TruLuxe Quick 'N Quirky (1%)
7:07pm - PM shot at 0.75U
9:00pm - BG 185
10:00pm - BG 144
 
So when cat’s get very low, their natural instinct is to find food? If they get low through the night, they can self regulate and bring up numbers on their own?
Yes, most cats will do that.

What’s the BEST microchip wet food feeder you know of. I want to order it ASAP. I’m looking for one.
I'm not in the US, but I think the PetSafe5 or CatMate 5 are popular ones. If you will change your thread title to add "Need suggestions for a timed feeder", you might get some ideas. You could also search the forum and see.

With the auto-feeder, you can also program it to open to an empty slot 2 hours before shot time so that when you do your Pre-shot test, it's not influenced by food.




10:00pm - BG 144
Did she get a little food after +2 and +3?
 
Did she get a little food after +2 and +3?

No, but I just now (10:15pm, 15min after +3) gave her a teaspoon of no carb Weruva Pretty in Pink, salmon food.
I guess I didn’t think when they are at 184 or 144 that I need to feed snacks? I thought snacks were important when you get below 100.

Still learning, thanks for your help!
 
6:30am - fed can of her "new" LC food at , Weruva TruLuxe Quick 'N Quirky that is less than 1% carbs.
6:57am - BG 382
7:00am - AM shot at 0.75U
7:57am - BG 332
8:56am - BG 293
2:00pm - BG 240
4:00pm - BG 320 4:15pm - BG 273
6:50pm - BG 264
6:55pm - Fed 1 can of Weruva TruLuxe Quick 'N Quirky (1%)
7:07pm - PM shot at 0.75U
9:00pm - BG 185
10:00pm - BG 144
11:00pm - BG 188
 
You are good for the night since she is heading up. :)

Yep, got a 200 at her +5.

Thanks for all your help, @Bandit's Mom, have a great day/night. =)


6:30am - fed can of her "new" LC food at , Weruva TruLuxe Quick 'N Quirky that is less than 1% carbs.
6:57am - BG 382
7:00am - AM shot at 0.75U
7:57am - BG 332
8:56am - BG 293
2:00pm - BG 240
4:00pm - BG 320 4:15pm - BG 273
6:50pm - BG 264
6:55pm - Fed 1 can of Weruva TruLuxe Quick 'N Quirky (1%)
7:07pm - PM shot at 0.75U
9:00pm - BG 185
10:00pm - BG 144
11:00pm - BG 188
12:00am - BG 200
 
Back
Top