10/21 Jenks AMPS 89 PMPS 218 +4 230 +7 168 +9 81 +10 87

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
10/20

Last night was rough man. That was a 300-point ride straight down. Thankfully he ran out of gas at AMPS, but then seriously, look at that jump a mere two hours later?

Does anybody have an opinion as to how varying the injection site from the scruff might affect his day numbers? In my searches last night, it appears that insulin is absorbed faster from the abdomen. If this could lead to a quicker onset, how viable of a solution is that to address the daytime rise?
 
Re: 10/21 Jenks AMPS 89 +2 183

i only shot insulin in the scruff, so i can't address this personally. But i'm thinking because cats are so different, perhaps you should just give it a try with Jenks and see what happens. IT's a reasonable hypothesis and might help your schedule.
 
Re: 10/21 Jenks AMPS 89 +2 183

Does changing the injection site affect the depot or require a number of days of acclimation or anything? Or because we're not changing the dose, should there be no real difference other than location?
 
Re: 10/21 Jenks AMPS 89 +2 183

hmmm, i'm not really sure. there are people who change the injection site with every shot - Marje is one of them. Gracie's ss notes where the shot is given. So I don't think there's any delayed response to moving the shot around.

i'd just give it a try - take notes on his ss, and see wht happens. i don't think there is any risk to doing this.
 
Re: 10/21 Jenks AMPS 89 +2 183

I've read that about shooting the scruff as well so avoided it. I shot on the side of the abdomen but lately Max acts like he is going to bite me. So when he does that I shoot the scruff. I've done it a couple of times lately but didn't record it. At times like that I just need to shoot wherever I can. Even when I shoot in the usual place he often doubles his pre-shot number like Jenks did.
 
Re: 10/21 Jenks AMPS 89 +2 183

I shoot at the shoulders, and Neko still prefers to go lower at night. It was one of the reasons I thought I'd try Levemir because I was so desperate to try to break the low at night, rise during the day pattern. I think she's slightly better now and I get longer stretches of sleep. But ECID.
 
Re: 10/21 Jenks AMPS 89 +2 183 PMPS 218

Yeah, Neko sounds a lot like Jenks. Jenks has made so much progress despite the daytime rise, that I'm really reluctant to jump to Levemir without exhausting all of my options with Lantus. I know that it can be weeks or sometimes months to readjust to and dial in a dose for Levemir, and I'd really hate to have to endure a setback in his readings without any guarantee that he's going to respond differently. There has to be a way to combat the daytime rise, and I feel like I just haven't uncovered it yet.
 
Re: 10/21 Jenks AMPS 89 +2 183 PMPS 218 +4 230 +7 168 +9 81

Oh dear. Jenks just halved his reading in the last two hours. With three hours left to go, I can't responsibly hand him over to OH after such a drastic change. So, for better or for worse, I gave him some 14% gravy to hopefully balance him out.
 
Re: 10/21 Jenks AMPS 89 +2 183 PMPS 218 +4 230 +7 168 +9 81

You don't want to feed within two hours of insulin as you could be feeding a good spike and Jenks could give you a false sense of security. You wouldn't know if Henjs was on the way up at shot time or responding to the food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top