10/21 Harley PMPS 495

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/21 Harley is only 134 - do I lower dose

I don't know if you shot yet. I don't know if you're going to be home today to monitor or not. That day you shot 9.50 with the 101, he went to 49 that day. Are you stalling to see if he is rising without food?
 
Re: 10/21 Harley is only 134 - do I lower dose

I am going to wait about 30 minutes before I shoot. I think he dropped low and he might be on the rise. In 30 minutes I should know which way he is going.

I again am not going to be home from about +4 until +9 and don't want to revisit the really low numbers like last time.

Pattie
 
Re: 10/21 Harley is only 134 - do I lower dose

I will be offline in 30 minutes. Please read over the Dealing With Low Preshots link. I think if he is rising you can shoot the regular dose, and if he is surfing or dropping then post back for more advise. Hopefully, someone else will be on then. If no one is on to help you, when you need to decide, then do what you are comfortable with, like maybe the 9.50 you shot before. Whatever you do, leave out extra food for him while you're gone. There is a full moon today, that sometimes effects the kitty's BGs (sometimes up and sometimes down).
 
Re: 10/21 Harley is only 134 - do I lower dose

Thank you Dyana. I would be comfortable with the 9.5. Will wait another 15 minutes to see what is going on.

Pattie
 
Re: 10/21 Harley AMPS 282

Harley is on the rise, must not have liked the two low numbers last night. I did shoot 9.75 since he is going up.

Pattie
 
Re: 10/21 Harley +10 395 & Vet consultation notes

I had a very good meeting with Harley’s vet She went online to a “vet only” web site and we looked at all the possible causes for insulin resistance. I originally thought she would go to the back and look it up herself but she invited me to go along and was able to look at all the articles etc to come up with a possible solution to Harley’s high dose needs. After 45 minutes of research, we come up with a plan to get to the bottom of the problem. These are it items we have made into “Harley’s Plan.” As I go along, these are the items we will test or rule out.

Obesity
Teeth problems – gingivitis
Chronic Smogyi effect
Poor absorption d/t wrong or poor injection site
IAA
Pancreatitis – FPLI & FTLI
Cushings – this has already been ruled out
Diet – told them Harley only get 3% carbs or less
Infection – UTI or teeth

An interesting note on the injection site comment. When Harley was so sick (last year) and I took him in for a check-up at the U, they told me I was giving the shot wrong. It was not in the stomach or flank area but up on the neck (not the scruff of the neck). Looking at his ss, it seems like insulin needs kept going up after that a little at a time. The vet did say that when I change the site, beware that if the absorption is better, his bg may fall fast. I will try the new site (flank, side or stomach) tomorrow when I am home longer.

Now, the black cloud over all this. The clinic is closing for a week – kitties are being moved elsewhere do to a plumbing problem at the clinic. Since she wants to run the tests and draw the blood, Harley will go in 9:30am on 11/4 to have the blood draws for all the tests needed. He will also be weighed (possible obesity) and have his teeth and gums checked out.

All in all, I felt good about the visit. I get the tests I want, plus she gave me some excellent feedback. One side note, the vet tech that told me "NO" to any tests, could not look me in the face while I was there

Pattie
 
Well, looks like another bounce. Visited the vet and posted the notes. I did change sites tonight. I can be up longer and take more tests tonight to see if this helps.

Pattie
 
Sounds like a good visit. I like that you will be looking into things, but keep this in mind:

Tight Regulation Sticky: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
Scroll down to the link: http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
Read through the Tilly page and note this:

"Be aware that experimental studies in human diabetics over the last 15-20 have rejected the existence of the Somogyi effect (sometimes also called rebound). In cats, no studies have ever been done which properly demonstrate that such a phenomenon exists. Therefore, adjust the dose as described above, focusing on the nadir: don't do so-called rebound checks, as they only lead to unnecessary (and unhealthy!) hyperglycemia."

I am glad you had that time with the vet...bet you feel better about things now, right?
 
Yes, I do feel better. The changing sites makes me a little nervous. When Harley was first dx with diabetes, I used the flank area and had a really hard time getting in the shot. Tonight, I am not sure if I did it right. If you look at a cat from the side, I did the lower side by the leg (close to under the stomach). I looked at the picture posted here, but I would never be able to get Harley to lay down with his stomach exposed.

The somogye effect thing I discounted. With Harley so ketone prone, the one thing I don't want to do is lower his insulin without good reason. I told the vet that and she said that she understood.

Pattie
 
Good hooting today, Patti. Sorry about the rebound. He'll come down. Sometimes the full moon makes kitties go high, too.
 
I tried a flank shot with Gabby. I became very adept at fur shots! All I can say is be attentive to what you're doing!!

I'm glad you discounted the Somogyi. You've really worked the dose up carefully which minimizes the risk of chronic rebound. In any event, getting things like IAA checked out which can be done with labs and no risk for ketones seems like a very wise approach. I love the fact that your vet is involving you as a partner in Harley's care.
 
Hi Pattie-

I thought I'd chime in on the shot site. I always shot my Harley in the flank. In the beginning, I could only shoot her on her right flank, but after a few months, she would take it on either side without a fuss. I never shot anywhere near her tummy though. If she were laying on her left side, with her right side exposed, I would just pick up a tuft of fur (to raise the skin) near her hind quarters (thigh/hip?) and shoot there. I never pinched the area, so no worry about shooting all the way through...just lifted enough to get the needle in. I hope you have lots of luck with the new site and Harley's numbers start coming down. Best wishes.

s
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top