10/21 Ella pmps 387 Hello again:)

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=80573

Hello LL,

I have been M.I.A. the last few weeks as my new job has pretty much taken over my whole life! I'm exhausted when I get home and at this point still need to continue to do work throughout the evening, hence not having the time to hop on the board. Since I can't find the time to visit all you good folks, I feel like it's not right to post a a condo. For now, I'm going to try and hop on during the weekend to give you an update on Ella and check in on everyone else. Please know that I do think about many of you when I can and I truly hope that everyone has been happy and well:)

Ella has been climbing up the dosing scale. It's pretty disappointing and I feel like I've been fighting an uphill battle with her lately. She can't get past the blues and yesterday she bounced off a yellow ohmygod_smile It appears as though her body is resisting the insulin but I keep hoping we'll see some good action soon. She'll be 'celebrating' her one year dx this coming December and we have yet to get her regulated. I know I haven't always followed protocol but I'm wondering if there is something else going on with her or if its time to try Lev as an alternative.

On the bright side, she's been eating some of the lc I 've been leaving for her during the day and will eat some of the Evo nugs (lc dry) as well. That makes me feel a bit better about leaving her in the mornings as I still can't come home and check in on her. I can tell she's been feeling pretty weird by all the boucning she's been doing lately but I can still get her to play and purr so that makes me feel better. We're going to keep on at it and hope for the best.

Hope everyone has been well:)

Tamara & Ella
 
Good to hear from you and Ella. I hope you're liking the new job!!

I think there could potentially be two factors at play. With holding on to a dose that's not getting Ella into more normal BG numbers, you risk glucose toxicity developing. You may need to give serious thought to raising her dose every 6 cycles and certainly not more than after 10 cycles.

The other possibility is using the EVO dry. Even though the EVO is low in carbs, some cats have more trouble with dry food and it can effect her numbers. You might want to consider making "catsickles." You add enough water to canned food to make it soupy and then freeze it in an ice cube try. You can leave several out before you leave the house and they will defrost over a couple of hours.
 
Hi Tamara,

We've missed you. Too bad work is keeping you so busy, but I hope you are enjoying what you are doing and it will pay off in the long run once you've settled into this job. Good to see the weekend posting, I'll look forward to seeing them.

I see Ella is wearing her pink party dress again. :sad: Give her some scritches for me. If she needs a higher dose, then that's what she needs. I hope she finds the right one soon. Good to hear she is eating a bit of wet food during the day.
 
Thanks for visiting Sienne:)

Ella usually takes about 10 cycles for a dose to set in so I like to give her a bit of time to see how she will respond to it. That being said, I generally don't like to increase the dose when I'm not around to monitor so I wait until Friday evenings to do so but that means I sometimes need to hold the dose for longer. She hasn't been eating that much of the Evo dry as I only leave it out if her +2 is much lower than her ps number but perhaps it's playing a part in her ugly numbers. She won't eat any mc or hc on her own so I figure it's better to be safe than sorry and leave her out something that will sustain her bg unitl I can get home to check on her. It's quite the conundrum!

Even though my new job eats up most of my spare time, I do enjoy it:) I'm the special education co-coordinator in my school which means that I monitor the needs and progress of all students who have an exceptionality. I'm in charge of organizing all of their support meetings and putting out referrals to therapists that will help them to be successful in school. I'm also providing professional development to teachers in regards to effectively teaching students with exceptionalities as well as teaching 25 kids. It's a bit nutty but it's nice to know I'm helping many of the students and teachers in my school.
 
Hi Tamara, so good to get a condo from you and Ella today. We have missed you. The new job sounds very interesting and rewarding working with the children. Sorry Ella is going up the dosing ladder, but some good advice from Sienne. Take care and give Ella some hugs and scritches from us.
 
We have missed you.
Good that you are liking your job. Wish it were more Ella friendly.
Paws crossed that Ella will adapt more and more to the canned food and start eating on her own. sooner than later!!
I know someone else who can't get her cat off the evo dry and it really does seem to have a powerful effect.

I have been discovering new canned foods that are low carb and Shadow is liking them.
I'll try to make you a list later tonite in case you want to try and see if Ella will perhaps take to something new.
 
Thanks for all the visits everyone:)

Wendy,
Ella says thanks for the scritches:) I'm glad she's eating the lc as well.

Ann,
The new job is rewarding and I'm hoping things will settle down in the next little while so I have a better balance going on in my life. Thanks for your kind words:)

Rhiannon,
Thanks in advance for compiling a list of other lc foods:) I'd love to find an mc that she will eat as that would mean I could ditch the Evo so if you have any recos for those, that would be great:) Thanks for checking in:)
 
It's great to see you guys! I know what you mean about climbing the dosing ladder and feeling discouraged...after 1Uish worked beautifully for Trix for ages, I suddenly had to take her up to F4.00U before I hit a breakthrough. FD is confounding, but you've got all of LL behind you!

I'm glad you're enjoying your new job...hopefully thing will settled down for you soon, but at least you're doing something you like doing!

Have a great evening, Tamara!
 
Hey Tam!!

We've all missed you and Ella! My observations are the same as Sienne's so I won't be repetitive.

Sounds like your new job is wonderful and has a lot of responsibility. I hope you are really loving it. And I hope you will be able to post weekly so we can keep in touch with you and Ellabear. Plus I have no one to do emoticon wars with :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
So I will leave you with one for the week:

teacher-smiley-emoticon.gif



:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top