10/21 Butters AMPS 257/+4 283/PMPS 369/

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday Overnight was better, for me anyways. Butters didn't try to suffocate me. I was able to get a little more sleep here and there. Thanks to @Red & Rover (GA) for the pink elephant advice for me. Pink elephants rock!:D

She is doing the same today: hungry and tired. Still a bit stumbly. Not back to her normal grooming and purring yet. I'm watching her closely for any sign that pain may be coming back. All medication doses are holding steady.

Have a good day everyone!
 
Morning Lyla, glad you got some sleep last night, praying for your girl every day
and look forward to your updates. I'm happy she's always hungry.
Try and get some more rest today Jamie , will check back
if you update tonight . Give Bella kisses for me ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Keep healing Butters. Keep getting rest when you can Lyla.

I use to put Ollie in her pop up playpen in the living room. She had everything in there, be safe, couldn't hide from me and I would sleep on couch so I could hear any thing she was doing. Set phone alarms to wake me at certain times to check, medicate or feed her. hardest part was to figure out when was she ok enough you could run out for more supplies, puppy pads, litter, pick up more meds etc. For me the closest store is 20 minutes away. So minimum 1 hr away if she needed me, vet was farther.
 
@Olive & Paula Does the playpen have a top I guess? Never thought about that when I had sick cats. I put risers under my bed legs so I could crawl under, lol.

I’m glad Butters is making progress. I think I would raise her dose and see if that makes her feel even better without requiring too many pokes. If it takes her too low you could always then pick an in between dose.
 
Paws crossed that pain stays away and Butters continues to improve. :bighug:

I suggested going back to the last good dose yesterday, and if you don't see even blue today, I'd seriously consider it. Glucose toxicity will be starting to enter the picture. Butters had gotten used to nice blues and greens. In the mean time, I'll keep all paws crossed here for a slide into nice numbers today.
 
Looks like Butters BG is improving a bit each day. Happy she's still hungry. I would be such a helicopter mom if I was in your situation. Lol. Every movement and I'd be right there staring nonstop. You've done such a great job, I'm glad you got a little extra oxygen filled sleep last night. Hope Butters continues to improve. :bighug:
 
Paws crossed that pain stays away and Butters continues to improve. :bighug:

I suggested going back to the last good dose yesterday, and if you don't see even blue today, I'd seriously consider it. Glucose toxicity will be starting to enter the picture. Butters had gotten used to nice blues and greens. In the mean time, I'll keep all paws crossed here for a slide into nice numbers today.

Thanks.:bighug: She is holding steady, which is good.

I remember. @Tomlin mentioned something, too. And @tiffmaxee today.
I didn't think she'd go into better numbers on .75u, though it would have been a pleasant surprise if she did. Those nice blues and greens are but a distant memory.
I think I held off because it seemed like there was so much going on for her yesterday with the long IM visit and long drives, and her fentanyl supply being cut off. Hopefully I didn't pour fuel onto a developing glucose toxicity problem.

With that behind her now, I agree I need to raise her dose to 1u this evening. Adjusting the calipers right now.

Thanks Wendy, Amy and Elise for the guidance:bighug:
 
You may even find yourself having to go a bit higher than you did pre flare for a period of time.....again, bringing the BG down BUT keeping a buffer zone :cool::)—you are able to be in a place that is both safe and healthy.

Give yourself and Butters a break and keep it where you aren’t having to worry :)
 
I'm glad Butters is starting to feel better. At least she's moving in the right direction. Poor you and poor her! What an ordeal. Has she ever gotten sick like this before? I'll be watching with interest how the dose increase affects her numbers. Hopefully she'll start coming back down now that you're getting the pain under control.
Have a good evening!
 
She sounds like she's on the slow but steady road to recovery! This one takes time...just take it nice and slow...you'll get back to those lovely numbers soon :)

She just needs a little extra TLC right now.

I'm glad she seems to be improving...and at least you're getting a little more sleep..

Every time I try to do something...guess who pops up on the chat (my boss)...in case you couldn't guess.

Have a restful evening Lyla! Give Butters some scritches from us :)
 
I'm glad Butters is starting to feel better. At least she's moving in the right direction. Poor you and poor her! What an ordeal. Has she ever gotten sick like this before? I'll be watching with interest how the dose increase affects her numbers. Hopefully she'll start coming back down now that you're getting the pain under control.
Have a good evening!
She has had other problems in the past, but not like this, she hasn't. But now I have had my eyes opened to the realization that she likely had mild episodes before, but they were very brief. And a pancreatitis dx was completely missed by her vets even though they had treated her for symptoms. So sad to think about that. I am beside myself that I can't seem to find a decent vet. I'm really trying to find one.

Praying you start to see better numbers with the 1 unit.
I hope you and Butters have a peaceful night Lyla
She'll get back to her blues and greens :bighug::bighug:♥♥♥
Thanks Diane. I'll have to start showing her Tyler's spreadsheet. :bighug:

Looks like Butters BG is improving a bit each day. Happy she's still hungry. I would be such a helicopter mom if I was in your situation. Lol. Every movement and I'd be right there staring nonstop. You've done such a great job, I'm glad you got a little extra oxygen filled sleep last night. Hope Butters continues to improve. :bighug:
Thanks:bighug:I feel like I need a word that is even stronger than helicopter mom to describe what is going on here. lol. I'm staring at her....way too much, perhaps. Watching her sleep, her respiration rate, her eating, her face and how she chooses to lay down. LOL. I could probably stand to chill out just a little.
 
Keep healing Butters. Keep getting rest when you can Lyla.

I use to put Ollie in her pop up playpen in the living room. She had everything in there, be safe, couldn't hide from me and I would sleep on couch so I could hear any thing she was doing. Set phone alarms to wake me at certain times to check, medicate or feed her. hardest part was to figure out when was she ok enough you could run out for more supplies, puppy pads, litter, pick up more meds etc. For me the closest store is 20 minutes away. So minimum 1 hr away if she needed me, vet was farther.
I'm curious what the top is like, too. Butters hasn't moved from my side or from being on top of me. If I have to get up, I have built a nook out of pillows and blankets so I put her in there and she seems to stay put. This is a lot. I honestly can't remember the last time I had to give such intensive care. Just thinking about all the alarms I have set, and all the things to remember adds another level of worry. lol. Plus monitoring to make sure she doesn't go backwards. I'm lucky to be close to stores. The IM vet/hospital is a longer excursion, if I had to go there to get more meds.
 
You may even find yourself having to go a bit higher than you did pre flare for a period of time.....again, bringing the BG down BUT keeping a buffer zone :cool::)—you are able to be in a place that is both safe and healthy.

Give yourself and Butters a break and keep it where you aren’t having to worry :)
Yup, and here we are starting her old dose of 1u with a PMPS of 360. :( I hate to say this but her BG has just felt like the least of my worries lately. I know that sounds awful. I obviously need to worry about it. That's why I'm here on this board in the first place, right. And now she is very high. I imagine I'll have to go higher in dosing to get her down. And yes, a buffer zone is definitely needed...assuming I get her numbers down at all. :)
 
@tiffmaxee @Butters & Lyla ,

Didn't see your post above.

Yes the pop up has zippered top. Some come with zippered floors now. Some have Velcro floor, not recommended, kitty could get out. I got the 45" diameter . Used disposal litter box, had water bowl, chip feeder, blanket and still had enough room for her to move, walk around. These are pics of when we stayed at motel for a week.

20190724_145203.jpg 20190724_145037.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20190724_145203.jpg
    20190724_145203.jpg
    63.9 KB · Views: 67
  • 20190724_145037.jpg
    20190724_145037.jpg
    69.6 KB · Views: 57
Yup, and here we are starting her old dose of 1u with a PMPS of 360. :( I hate to say this but her BG has just felt like the least of my worries lately. I know that sounds awful. I obviously need to worry about it. That's why I'm here on this board in the first place, right. And now she is very high. I imagine I'll have to go higher in dosing to get her down. And yes, a buffer zone is definitely needed...assuming I get her numbers down at all. :)

We knew with the skipped shots and pain of pancreatitis she might have higher bg than in a long time but we didn’t want to risk her going low while she wasn’t feeling well or have issues if she wasn’t eating. The bg will come down again. Please don’t stress over it. :bighug:
 
Yup, and here we are starting her old dose of 1u with a PMPS of 360. :( I hate to say this but her BG has just felt like the least of my worries lately. I know that sounds awful. I obviously need to worry about it. That's why I'm here on this board in the first place, right. And now she is very high. I imagine I'll have to go higher in dosing to get her down. And yes, a buffer zone is definitely needed...assuming I get her numbers down at all. :)


You will get the #s down some more :bighug:. You just started that 1 unit so give it time and then, as I said, T typically requires a bit of a higher dose to manage his BG when he has had a flare and then as the pain and inflammation decrease, you will find yourself being able to lower the dose eventually.
So, you may find that even after several days on the 1 unit you will need to increase that dose slightly.

The BGs are also some helpful information as you manage the meds. If you increase the insulin dose and BG is improving, you get to your safe zone, but then you reduce or discontinue a med and see BG increasing again, it can be an indication that pain &/or inflammation is at play.

If possible, get to your BG safe zone before changing any of the meds. It’s a one thing at a time approach. It takes a little more patience and time but then it is easy to know if the change was potentially the cause of any issues—including an increase in BG.
 
I have wondered now, as well Lyla, if Milo's problems were pancreatitis and not the "immune compromised" diagnosis when he is always getting sick. It was usually combined with upper respiratory symptoms but the rest looks similar: not eating, lethargic, eyes closed, unhealthy coat, vomiting. The only thing is that if he had Aventi-clav antibiotics right away, he'd bounce back within 24-48 hours (longer as he's getting older). No one has ever given me a definitive diagnosis. Bloodwork hasn't been entirely helpful except to point out that the liver is compromised. Xrays always show a "shadow" on his liver which freaks out the vets (he's been to many). They thought FIP but he's outlived THAT diagnosis, obviously! It's still a mystery to me but he's also outlived his 9 lives many years ago.
 
Back
Top