10/21 Buddy AMPS 137 +1.6 123 +3 90 +6 154 +8 113 PMPS 132

Sandra And Buddy (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

Between last nights 136 and this mornings 137 I think we are actually getting somewhere.

Looking closer at the dose I am pretty sure I was giving 1.25 instead of just a fat unit. Which is where I was heading anyway. I'ts so hard to judge that tiny amount.

We are looking for some Greens today! Woo!


Question posted below:

Early dosing advice!
Buddy has been running so close to greens today. I am not sure what to expect as we get to PMPS He eats 4 times during the day which I am guessing is keeping him from dropping below 100 for the most part, But he will not be eating over night. I am afraid he will drop to low. I have no problem getting up a few times to check, my bedtime is 10pm but I have been getting up at 11pm (his +4) to try to catch him low.

I will do what ever is best for him, SLST right? Just need a little advice in advance.
 
Last edited:
Ok How do I go about poking his ear myself rather than using the lancing device? It is so hit and miss. It makes me really nervous because in my mind there is a difference between letting the device poke him and me actually poking him LOL does that make sense?

I just feel so bad because so many times I have to "do it over" because of not enough blood or wrong spot, ect..

Do I need a special needle or do I use the lancet needles that come with it?

Also, Can I do this on his foot? I have had "some" luck with the device when he lets me. I just would like to give his poor ears a break.
 
You can just use the lancets without the device. Just uncap it and poke it by hand. It's much easier and you can see where you're poking :)

I've never poked a foot before so perhaps someone else can help with that.
 
Ugh! well that didn't work, black hair, can't see! I usually do the inside because of that. I tried to get close to the edge, got some blood but it quickly soaked into his hair. Twice. I'll keep trying.
 
Oops, sorry. My mind read your AMPS as 173 instead of 137. But you could still feed just a teeny bit to help surf along.
 
Sometimes it helps to have a bit of food on board to make sure they don't dive or get into dangerous territory too quickly. Smooth out the cycle, so to speak.

If Ming dropped 50 points or more every hour, I usually try to feed him to make sure he doesn't dive. Plus he's a serial bouncer. But Buddy looks pretty stable and doesn't look like a dramatic bouncing cat like mine. You can definitely hold off on food for now.
 
Sometimes it helps to have a bit of food on board to make sure they don't dive or get into dangerous territory too quickly. Smooth out the cycle, so to speak.

If Ming dropped 50 points or more every hour, I usually try to feed him to make sure he doesn't dive. Plus he's a serial bouncer. But Buddy looks pretty stable and doesn't look like a dramatic bouncing cat like mine. You can definitely hold off on food for now.


Haha Serial bouncer! Ok I will test again in a bit (hone my poking skills!) and go from there. Thanks for your help!
 
Ugh! well that didn't work, black hair, can't see! I usually do the inside because of that. I tried to get close to the edge, got some blood but it quickly soaked into his hair. Twice. I'll keep trying.

I wanted to share this with you - my DH has the same problem trying to test Luci - dark red teeny tiny blood drop on her black ears - very hard for him to see. So he ordered one of these: https://www.amazon.com/MagniPros-Il...able/dp/B071GWM9QN/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

LOVES IT! He only tests her using this - the light helps illuminate that dark ear - and the magnification helps him see where to poke and when the blood spot comes up...it's a great inexpensive unit.

As for poking and missing, etc. are you supporting his ear with a warm rice filled baby sock? I find that it really helps me - I free-hand using only the lancet..no device - I tried that early on but couldn't see the edge of her ear...

I hope these suggestions help :)
 
Early dosing advice!

Buddy has been running so close to greens today. I am not sure what to expect as we get to PMPS He eats 4 times during the day which I am guessing is keeping him from dropping below 100 for the most part, But he will not be eating over night. I am afraid he will drop to low. I have no problem getting up a few times to check, my bedtime is 10pm but I have been getting up at 11pm (his +4) to try to catch him low.

I will do what ever is best for him, SLST right? Just need a little advice in advance.
 
Looking closer at the dose I am pretty sure I was giving 1.25 instead of just a fat unit. Which is where I was heading anyway. I'ts so hard to judge that tiny amount.

Another suggestion for you - please get some calipers! Harbor Freight has a nice little calipers for just under $15. Once you start using them you'll get a consistent dose, every time. Here's some info on how to use them:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/

Marje can help you set up the increments for YOUR syringes...all syringes are different so you'll want to ask for her help with that. It really helps to get the dose consistent too.
 
Another suggestion for you - please get some calipers! Harbor Freight has a nice little calipers for just under $15. Once you start using them you'll get a consistent dose, every time. Here's some info on how to use them:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/

Marje can help you set up the increments for YOUR syringes...all syringes are different so you'll want to ask for her help with that. It really helps to get the dose consistent too.

Thank you!
I will definitely be doing that, Still wrapping my head around everything at this point and didn't want to further confuse my brain. I planned on getting some this week for accurate dosing! :) Between the calipers and the goggles I will be running around looking like a mad scientist! HA!
 
I am not sure what to expect as we get to PMPS He eats 4 times during the day which I am guessing is keeping him from dropping below 100 for the most part, But he will not be eating over night.

What kind of carb % food are you feeding him during the day? If it's very low carb, it's not the food that's keeping him in those mid-range blues...it's just how he's handling the insulin, plus the food helps to keep his BG's a bit higher...but that doesn't really last very long. Cats have a faster metabolism than we do, so any food that he may have eaten a couple of hours ago has left his blood stream...so with that in mind, why is it that he can't have any food at night?

His numbers looked really good today! So keeping the dose consistent will help keep those nice blue numbers consistent too. Don't want to be changing his dose unless he drops too low at PMPS for you to be comfortable shooting. You're on TR now, so the 'no shoot number' is 50. IF when you test at PMPS and he's too low for you, post with a '?' mark and ask for HELP! People who are on the forum at that time will see this and will help you...you'll want to hold off feeding him and wait 20 minutes and then get another test to see if he's coming up at PMPS...

You did good shooting that 137 this morning...let's hope he's in that same ballpark tonight :)
 
why is it that he can't have any food at night?

I am sleeping? LOL

He is eating the Friskies Pate varieties, sometimes I will throw in the flaked (with tuna / egg )
We have 4 cats in the house so I can't leave food out. I have fed him at the 11pm check if he is acting like he wants to eat but other than that he eats at his 7pm dose and then when I get up at his 7am dose. (and the other 2 times during the day)

I don't think there is a number that would be too low for my comfort at this point (other than the obvious 50 annnnd maybe 60! ) I have everything ready in case he drops too low.

I also shot last night at 136! Go me! :smuggrin:

I am also working on changing all the kitties over to wet food.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top