10/21 Blaze AMPS 431 +.75 434 +6 476 PMPS 349 +1 425 +2 345

Sarah and Blaze

Member Since 2019
Good morning everyone! We had a late night last night and my coffee maker decided today was the day to stop working! Gotta get Starbucks on my way to work :nailbiting:

Blaze’s amps is 431 so looks like a bounce from last nights low numbers. Blaze seems to be a very bouncy cat, is there a way to lessen the bounce? I tried to steer him with food, he got LC, MC and HC last night due to low numbers. I’m not sure there’s much I can do, Blaze seems to bounce with any lower number:rolleyes:

Today is day 2 of TR and it’s a work day, I won’t have enough time to come home on lunch but Blaze has LC food in the auto feeder at +3, 5, 7. I will grab a +1 test before I leave for work.

Hope everyone has a great day!
 
Last edited:
Here's yesterday's thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-20-blaze-amps-391-8-273-11-232-pmps-217-1-177-2-80-2-5-62-3-25-64-3-45-55-4-77-5-89.220664/

Blaze seems to be a very bouncy cat, is there a way to lessen the bounce?
With time, hopefully Blaze's body learns that lower numbers = good! That's one way that bounces can get better.

Other ways include feeding the curve and trying to slow down dramatic dives with food (usually LC or MC for certain cats).

Otherwise, it's all about time. It's a natural reaction since our kitties have been in high numbers for a long time before being diagnosed. Some cats flatten out right away. Some take a while. Some seem to never do (like mine lol!).
 
Here's yesterday's thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-20-blaze-amps-391-8-273-11-232-pmps-217-1-177-2-80-2-5-62-3-25-64-3-45-55-4-77-5-89.220664/


With time, hopefully Blaze's body learns that lower numbers = good! That's one way that bounces can get better.

Other ways include feeding the curve and trying to slow down dramatic dives with food (usually LC or MC for certain cats).

Otherwise, it's all about time. It's a natural reaction since our kitties have been in high numbers for a long time before being diagnosed. Some cats flatten out right away. Some take a while. Some seem to never do (like mine lol!).
Okay thank you Crista! I think he just needs more time in those lower numbers before his body realizes they’re good and stops all the bouncing! He has been in reds and pinks a lot lately, that’s why i switched to TR, so I can increase doses sooner than later.
For future reference, should I not use HC unless he is at 50 or lower? He doesn’t seem to respond to LC when he’s diving and sometimes even MC doesn’t do the trick to get him up, from what I’ve seen so far. I just want to be better prepared for when he starts diving, and have a better idea of what food to give him in those situations.
 
I believe, and others please correct me if I'm wrong, you want to avoid HC in the last half of the cycle. And I think it's worth experimenting to see how HC affects Blaze in diving situations. You just run the risk of the HC being a bit too strong and ruining the nice numbers. So I'd use it sparingly and take really good notes the amounts you give.

For me personally, Ming also isn't very much affected by HC so I opt to give a small pea size to a dime size of honey with his LC food in diving situations. And since honey leaves the system a bit faster than HC, I prefer it.
 
I believe, and others please correct me if I'm wrong, you want to avoid HC in the last half of the cycle. And I think it's worth experimenting to see how HC affects Blaze in diving situations. You just run the risk of the HC being a bit too strong and ruining the nice numbers. So I'd use it sparingly and take really good notes the amounts you give.

For me personally, Ming also isn't very much affected by HC so I opt to give a small pea size to a dime size of honey with his LC food in diving situations. And since honey leaves the system a bit faster than HC, I prefer it.
Using the karo syrup in the LC food during dive situations, you probably have to test longer into the night though, right? Since it wears off quicker.
 
Using the karo syrup in the LC food during dive situations, you probably have to test longer into the night though, right? Since it wears off quicker.
I actually don't know unfortunately.

But I've seen and from my own experience, cats who are on a mission and despite eating HC and rising, they still continue having lowering numbers. The general guideline is to have two rising numbers with no food after a low number.
 
And you can make your own mix with different carb amounts, using your best guestimate, until you have the right %carbs in one can.
Big wishes of energy to help you through this day. I like your honesty from last night - I would be healthier if I got more sleep. Speak truth dear Sarah!
I would recommend against this just because it gets really old fast and if you run out of what you need in the can you mixed, it could be a scramble to get what you need quickly. We tried that ;):blackeye: It’s best to find a food or two in the range you want it.

I never had to use more than 13% to get Gracie slowed down and she could be a diving queen. Anything more would wipe out her duration. My philosophy is to use the least number of carbs that work to get the job done for your cat.

As Paula said, it’s ECID and you have to experiment to see what works for you all. I used karo for the 30s and below. If Blaze is not below 50 at night, you want to be careful with the HC so you aren’t stuck up for a couple hours waiting to see what happens when it wears off.
 
I would recommend against this just because it gets really old fast and if you run out of what you need in the can you mixed, it could be a scramble to get what you need quickly. We tried that ;):blackeye: It’s best to find a food or two in the range you want it.

I never had to use more than 13% to get Gracie slowed down and she could be a diving queen. Anything more would wipe out her duration. My philosophy is to use the least number of carbs that work to get the job done for your cat.

As Paula said, it’s ECID and you have to experiment to see what works for you all. I used karo for the 30s and below. If Blaze is not below 50 at night, you want to be careful with the HC so you aren’t stuck up for a couple hours waiting to see what happens when it wears off.
Thank you Marje, this is great advice! I’m going to get some 8-13% carb because I don’t have that range at home. I have everything else but need those carb % to experiment with carb % a little more. I would like to see how he responds to those carb % when diving at night.

And next time he is 50 and higher, I will start with higher LC, then MC before I jump to the HC. I appreciate your help so much! Thank you!
 
Sounds like a plan. This is an interesting challenge...we have done the same. Luci was queen of the diving board...then would bounce way up high too...we thought she might bounce her way to remission. So far, no remission...but she's trundling along...at least she spends more and more of her time below the renal threshold :)
 
Sounds like a plan. This is an interesting challenge...we have done the same. Luci was queen of the diving board...then would bounce way up high too...we thought she might bounce her way to remission. So far, no remission...but she's trundling along...at least she spends more and more of her time below the renal threshold :)
Luci and Blaze sound veryyyyy similar with the diving and bouncing. Must be a tuxedo thing;)

and that is all I want right now, for Blaze to get into safer number and try to stay below the renal threshold. I’m so afraid of what all the high numbers could be doing to him.
 
My patient before lunch canceled so I get a two hour lunch today! Raced to the store to get a new coffee pot, since mine decided to die today and refuse to make coffee:mad:

and now I’m heading home to grab a +6 test before I have to head back to work!
You are amazing, Sarah :bighug: Blaze says " thank you , Mom❤️"
 
Keep in mind that if you see he’s doing a dive/bounce/dive pattern, the way to stop it is test early and often, catch the drop, and feed higher LC or MC to flatten him out early. If you test at +1 and he doesn’t have a food spike and is lower than PS, you might want to feed a higher LC starting then and test at +2.

And yes, skip the +1 tonight :) and hope he doesn’t dive.
 
Keep in mind that if you see he’s doing a dive/bounce/dive pattern, the way to stop it is test early and often, catch the drop, and feed higher LC or MC to flatten him out early. If you test at +1 and he doesn’t have a food spike and is lower than PS, you might want to feed a higher LC starting then and test at +2.

And yes, skip the +1 tonight :) and hope he doesn’t dive.
Maybe I will get a +1 to be safe now that you say that :eek:
 
Looks like you have already been experimenting with slowing him down early on. Keeping good record of what you give when like you are doing is helpful.

it really is an ECID thing. I rarely had to go over 12 % to steer Bubba and most of the time I could do it with LC food.

I found if I needed HC in the PM cycle I would give just a little mixed with LC to get better duration since the HC wears off fast.
 
Looks like you have already been experimenting with slowing him down early on. Keeping good record of what you give when like you are doing is helpful.

it really is an ECID thing. I rarely had to go over 12 % to steer Bubba and most of the time I could do it with LC food.

I found if I needed HC in the PM cycle I would give just a little mixed with LC to get better duration since the HC wears off fast.
Ya I need to do some more experimenting since I haven’t tried anything between 8-12% yet, I think that might help steer him better.
Thank you for the advice! I still have some learning and food experimenting to do to find out what works best!
 
+2 was 345

I don’t think I can stay up much longer tonight, my eyes are so tired and kind of hurt from the late night last night and seasonal allergies being awful here in central California :facepalm:

ETA: I normally leave LC snacks In the auto feeder for +3, 5, 7. Should I put a bit of MC in there too, to make it a little higher LC?
 
Just take care of yourself or you'll be no good for Blaze or anyone else :bighug: I know first hand the toll these pj parties take out of us . No amount of coffee makes up for constant loss of sleep . Sending prayers that tonight's sleep is extra deep and restful :bighug:
 
Just take care of yourself or you'll be no good for Blaze or anyone else :bighug: I know first hand the toll these pj parties take out of us . No amount of coffee makes up for constant loss of sleep . Sending prayers that tonight's sleep is extra deep and restful :bighug:
Beth you are the sweetest!!:bighug: I don’t mind a pj party on a Thursday Friday or Saturday night but Blaze likes to plan his pj parties for Sunday through Wednesday nights:rolleyes: he looks like he’s bouncing tonight, but just to be safe, I added a tiny bit of 14% carb to his LC food and made small snacks available at +3, 5, 7 and 9 just to help him surf safely, if he decides to go a little lower.

I don’t know if you saw my post this morning but my coffee maker DIED this morning so I went all day without coffee. Not okay after a long night :D I bought a new coffee maker on my lunch!:joyful:

I’m going to call it a night, Blaze should be just fine:cat: thank you for always having kind and encouraging words. This forum is full of amazing people!:bighug: I hope Elmo surfs sagely for you tonight’
 
Back
Top