10/20 WENDY = PMPS 333/ AMPS 332/ +3@356/ +5@259/ +11@513

Wendy and Eva

Member Since 2022
**HELP URGENTLY NEEDED**

Wendy has been on 4.5 units since 10/08/2022 and has been doing well overall. She's been on Cerenia 16mg 1/2 tablet but still sits by water bowl.

Today I raised her insulin to 5 units and 2 hours after her AM shot she threw up all the food she ate. I thought it could have been that she ate one full can of Fancy Feast and 1/2 of another which is more than she eats but not unusual. Shortly after she threw up (15 minutes) I fed her again, but only half a can. Again, she threw up everything she ate. I removed her food bowl and only allowed her to drink water until her stomach settled. Then 20 minutes later she threw up clear fluid and I decided to administer sub-q fluids. After the fluids she threw up clear fluid a few more times. This has never happened to Wendy before and decided to take her to the vet to get checked.

The vet tested her thyroid and there were no issues, blood pressure was 182/134, temperature 102, weight 9.4lbs and no dental problems. TAMU GI Panel test was sent out and will receive results by next week. Vet administered B12 shot and was told to give Cerenia 16mg 1/2 tablet if she continues to throw up.

Wendy did not throw up from 2:30pm - 5:30pm. I tried feeding her at 6pm and she only had 2 licks of the food then shortly after threw up. I waited for her stomach to settle a bit and fed her at 7:45pm boiled chicken. She ate well and kept it in her stomach for 15 minutes then threw up. She's not lethargic and wants to eat but can't keep any food in her stomach. She's using the litter box and doesn't have diarrhea.

The vet told me to skip the PM dose if she continued to throw up which I did. As I'm typing this message, Wendy came to me asking for food.

Experts:
  • Do I continue to try to feed her boiled chicken? I went to many stores and couldn't find any Geber plain meat baby food so that's not an option at this moment.
  • Should I give her the PM insulin shot with empty stomach? I tested at +11 and it was 513.
  • What else can I give her so that she won't vomit?
  • I administered sub-q fluids (100ml) at noon. Would it be safe to give her half the amount (50ml) tonight so she wont dehydrate?
  • Should I keep her at 5 units moving forward? She's still not regulated and we have been doing small increases. Could the increase cause this reaction?
@Wendy&Neko @Chris & China (GA)

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-07-wendy-pmps-344-amps-320-6-307.269351/#post-3006445

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1tMNq4u-vwD1vFVujzB0rp2f27nYOZVMMAu5iJpk3zLs/edit?usp=sharing
 
Beechnut brand is another variety of plain meat babyfood. I sometimes made my own with purreed home cooked chicken and broth.

She's high enough you can give some insulin. Even cats undergoing anaesthesia who cannot eat, can get at least a half a dose. If you think she'll keep some food down, you can go for the full dose. Going forward I would stay with 5 units, unless you see she needs another increase.

The increase did not cause this reaction. It sounds a bit like pancreatitis maybe? A Primer On Pancreatitis If so, you might want to also get a prescription for ondansetron for nausea. Cerenia is good for the vomiting, but not as good as ondansetron.

If you are boiling chicken, save the liquid and put it in a bowl. Maybe she'll like the home made chicken stock to get more liquid in her. Of course, just boiled chicken, no onions.
 
I agree she needs some insulin. The "no food equals no insulin" is a saying that needs to go the way of the dinosaurs. Here's a good thread explaining why you shouldn't withhold insulin.

You are also holding the dose a little too long. There are 2 dosing methods we use with Lantus, Tight Regulation (TR) and Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS).

Even on SLGS, we don't hold a dose that's not getting the results we want more than 7 days (except in very certain circumstances). On TR, it's only 3 days until they start to get into lower numbers and then we may want to hold it for a few cycles longer.

Are you testing for ketones? Not enough insulin + not enough food + infection/inflammation is the recipe for DKA (Diabetic Ketoacidosis) which is very expensive to treat (usually at least several days in a 24 hour veterinary hospital) at about $1500 per day and it's not always successful so catching ketones early gives you the best chance to avoid a critical situation. You can get urine ketone strips at any pharmacy that carries human diabetic supplies.

Bone broth is something you can make at home that most cats like and does give some nutrition while being pretty easy on the tummy.

Sure hope she's feeling better in the morning!
 
Back
Top