10/20 Sibon AMPS 93 PMPS 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elinor & Sibon

Member Since 2017
Really exciting week.
I found a holistic vet who supports raw diet and natural alternatives, and we talked for 1.5 hour on the phone this afternoon so she could guideline me through the process.
I ordered the Cat Mate C20 automatic feeder from Amazon and FoodFurLife's EZcomplete premix and I'm ready to get this going. As a vegan, I didn't know that meat is Kosher only after you drench it in salt, so I will have to look for places that sell non-kosher meat.
The vet(s) also suggest to stop giving insulin to Sibon, or start giving him a shot only once a day. I told them I would feel more comfortable reducing the dose little by little and keep injecting twice a day. We're at 0.25 now and I'm crossing my fingers!
 
Wonderful you found a vet you have such a good rapport with. Twice a day sounds good--you've had such good numbers, you wouldn't want to mess with that by doing an unconventional schedule. I'm vegan, too; I feel like my bond with carnivorous cats constantly reinforces acceptance and toleration, instead of judgment, in my character.
 
Oh, so glad you found a holistic vet that supports what you are doing. Glad you will look into the salt issue for the kosher food as you do not want the sodium to be any higher than 100 mg of sodium per 4 ounces of food.

ETA: Also, glad you are going to shoot twice a day with a lower dose. Good that you held your position on that one. ;)
 
Glad you have found d a vet you can talk to.

Sibons numbers are looking great, I would stick to the 0.25u, she's had 3.5 days in good numbers, personally I would stick to the protocol and wait till she earns the reduction by dropping below 50, or staying in normal numbers for a week. It's what will give her the strongest remission. When kitties fall out of remission it's often much harder to regain glycaemic control and get them back OTJ.

Have a look at how I dosed George in his last few weeks of insulin, he's been OTJ for 18months now. Look back at march 2016 thro April 2016
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top