10/20 Pumbaa AMPS/258 +4/266 +6.5/249 Dose question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Pumbaa just had his 6th dose at 2.25U this morning.

After that NDW or bounce on 10/18, it looks like Pumbaa has settled into the mid-200's. Nice and flat.

Should I raise him to 2.50U tonight? Has he truly settled into this dose?

I don't want IR to come back and take his numbers up again. But then again, if I raise him, I pray that he doesn't go bonkers again and have a morning like he did on 10/18.

Suze
 
He will likely need to go higher, however while you are here you might settle this dose for a total of 5 days to reinforce the shed matrix and see what the numbers do.

Then you can increase 0.25 in two more days.
 
Dale: *LOL* I had just decided in my brain to go ahead and increase him tonight before any nasty pinks reared their ugly heads again.

But, he is acting so much better again, now that he's not having pink or red numbers, and I want him to feel good for a few days before having another NDW experience.

If his PMPS is still below 250, I will keep the dose the same. If it's above 250, then I might just take him up to 2.50U.

Time will tell.

Suze
 
If you want to raise go ahead no matter what the number is, if it's over 200. That's what I would do with Chip.

I just didn't want to be too gung ho without Shelia here to be the voice of reason.

Go ahead and get him up (get the NDW over with sooner) and maybe he'll come down even lower.
 
Hi Suze,

If you have already decided you are comfortable with raising tonight to 2.5u then go ahead. It's the weekend and you are testing so you will have overnight tonight, tomorrow during the day and tomorrow evening to get a sense of what the new dose will do. You know Pumbaa better than anyone and I believe in trusting one's instincts.

I don't have as much experience as you do with a bouncing and diving kitty, or as Sheila does with chronic rebounding kitties, but to me Pumbaa looks like he just needs a dose increase to break through the insulin resistance. Since you are testing frequently you'll will be in a good position to catch him as the numbers begin to go down. To get a sense of what might happen once the IR/GT has been broken, take a look at my foster kitty Vinny's numbers in my signature. We broke through GT/IR at 2u between 10/05 and 10/07 and his insulin needs fell very rapidly. Let's hope Pumbaa does the same once you reach his ideal dose. Where's that anti-jinx icon when I need it? LOL
 
Dale, I'd be grinning like a fool if Pumbaa had a really late nadir today and his PMPS was below 200! Okay, I'll raise 'ya if you're above 200 <--said in my best poker-playing voice. *LOL*
 
Laura:

Thank you. I mostly work from home so testing isn't a problem. And I really do want Pumbaa's numbers to come down. So, like Dale said, if he's above 200 at his PMPS, I think I'll be raising him.

Wow...Vinny is doing great!!!! Did he ever go down the dosing ladder quickly! Good luck on the rest of the OTJ trial.
antijinx-emoticon.png


Here's the link to the anti-jinx emoticon. You can bookmark it then just copy and paste it when you need it.

http://www.arizonagraphicandwebdesign.c ... oticon.png

Suze
 
Deal me in on this hand, folks. drinking09

Thanks for reminding me Suze of your schedule, I'd forgotten. :oops: It'd sure be nice if Pumbaa does give you a late nadir tonight.

Yeah, Vinny's doing great and I've been keeping mum because I don't want to jinx anything. I've heard of cats coming down the dosing ladder fast but this is my first experience with it. Talk about your nail-biter rollercoaster ride. But in a good way.

Thanks for providing the link to the anti-jinx icon. I wasn't able to access it, when you get a chance, could you check the link?
 
Laura:

It's weird...he had a PMPS of 250 both last night and tonight. That cemented for me that he was a settled into the 2.25U dose as he was going to get.

Now I'm just nailbite_smile and praying he doesn't go through NDW tonight or tomorrow and go sky high with his numbers.

Suze
 
I'm going to try something different tonight.

Since Pumbaa's nadirs seem to be later on Levemir, I am going to go to bed and set the alarm for 2:30 am, which would be +7.5, instead of getting bad, choppy sleep on the sofa.

Hopefully, I won't be so comfy/cozy that my body refuses to wake up after a nice 3-hour nap. Maybe I'll set two alarms, just in case.

I'm not afraid that Pumbaa is going to dive down to dangerous numbers tonight. (Okay, I am, a little bit, due to his diving history on Lantus.) But I do want to know if he hits blue at some point, so that if his numbers are tremendously high in the morning, I can, maybe, differentiate between a bounce and NDW.

Then again, I can sit here and waste some time on the computer and test him at +5, see where he's headed and then, hopefully, go to bed and a solid 6 hours of sleep.

Decisions, decisions. This isn't easy on any single caregiver household, is it?

Suze

UPDATE: I stayed up and tested Pumbaa at +5. He's at 297 which is 6 points higher than his +3. Even with considering the meter variance of =/- 20%, I think it's safe for me to go to bed now. If I can. I've been helping someone with a low-number transport cat with one test strip left, but it looks like someone else is now on the scene. Hopefully!
 
Hi Suze, I hope you are getting some much needed rest right now. ETA: I just read the MC low numbers thread on Health, you are an angel for staying up to help!

If this is NDW, Pumbaa is looking really good so far - still flat and not super high. In a day or two you should start seeing the effects of the dose increase.
 
Pumbaa said:
I'm going to try something different tonight.

Since Pumbaa's nadirs seem to be later on Levemir, I am going to go to bed and set the alarm for 2:30 am, which would be +7.5, instead of getting bad, choppy sleep on the sofa.

Hopefully, I won't be so comfy/cozy that my body refuses to wake up after a nice 3-hour nap. Maybe I'll set two alarms, just in case.

I'm not afraid that Pumbaa is going to dive down to dangerous numbers tonight. (Okay, I am, a little bit, due to his diving history on Lantus.) But I do want to know if he hits blue at some point, so that if his numbers are tremendously high in the morning, I can, maybe, differentiate between a bounce and NDW.

Then again, I can sit here and waste some time on the computer and test him at +5, see where he's headed and then, hopefully, go to bed and a solid 6 hours of sleep.

Decisions, decisions. This isn't easy on any single caregiver household, is it?

Suze

UPDATE: I stayed up and tested Pumbaa at +5. He's at 297 which is 6 points higher than his +3. Even with considering the meter variance of =/- 20%, I think it's safe for me to go to bed now. If I can. I've been helping someone with a low-number transport cat with one test strip left, but it looks like someone else is now on the scene. Hopefully!

Catching those overnight numbers is not easy. Too bad we aren't like cats who are programmed for short catnaps. I-)

Lev onset is usually about +4 so if you want to plan on catching a +4 at night that would give you an idea of where the cycle is headed. If he's higher than PMPS, you can most likely get some sleep - unless you are riding a nice wave of greens. :mrgreen: On the flip side, there's always the option of catching the later tests, going to bed early and setting an alarm for the +8's, or +10's.

Any way you slice it, this is all good data you are gathering. It shows that Pumbaa's response to Levemir is different than on Lantus and when you start to shoot those lower pre-shots - and you will get there - it'll help you decide what is safe dosing for Pumbaa.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top