? 10/20 Lulu AMPS 518, +4 338, PMPS 270, +2 68, +2.5 52, +3 61, +3.5 61, +4.15 58, +4.6 54

Rita -

The black AMPS is due to a bounce. If you look to the previous run of green numbers and your PM cycle the other night, Lulu's numbers sparing back into higher ranges. Lulu's not used to spending time in normal numbers. As a result, her liver and pancreas overreact and release a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones that cause the spike in numbers. It's a normal and protective function, not dangerous, and annoys the kitty's caregiver to no end!! Lulu's numbers are looking good -- it does look like she's responding well to the insulin and short of her needing to get used to lower numbers, you're doing a great job. Was there a reason that you dropped the dose from 3.0u to 2.5u and not to 2.75u?

As for your question about the dry food, I'd encourage you to keep eliminating it.
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) (hi :)) Lulu is a foster kitty that arrived on 4u with little testing (sorry we do have some vet tests that we haven’t put into the spreadsheet yet :oops: will sort it tonight) and was raised in 1u increments weekly as best we can figure out. Rita changed her diet somewhat on arrival - Royal Canin diabetic wet was replaced with raw and the RC dry was reduced by a third. Rita hasn’t dealt with a sugar kitty before and needed to learn testing so just a couple of spot tests at the vet (high numbers, sorry need to add those too :oops:) in the first couple of weeks after she arrived. After the first run of too low numbers so soon after testing began we took a unit off. Decided to err on the side of caution and drop the half unit when she still went under 90 a few cycles later in case the dose was still too high as a result of diet change rather than it being depot action or just a smaller reduction that was required. I was also thinking that it might be better to get her to a dose that’s a bit too low before reducing the dry further - but I haven’t had to or watched anyone reducing carbs while on insulin before so maybe that’s wrong? She is still having 1/4 cup the RC diabetic dry twice a day atm. Do you think it’s okay to go ahead and start reducing that now and if so at what rate should it be reduced? Lulu seems to be adjusting well to testing but can still be a little difficult at times. Thank you :cat:
 
@Vyktors Mum

Hey Serryn!! Great to hear from you

Thanks for the background. It would be helpful if some to the info was in the comments section on Lulu's spreadsheet. Otherwise, folks that don't see your explanation will likely ask the sam question (over and over and over again). The rationale makes complete sense. I do tend to agree that having a dose that's a bit too low is easier on the nerves than a dose that's a bit too high.

A 1/4 of the dry isn't bad. I'd still gradually reduce the amount. Maybe taking a tablespoon a day away ever 2 - 3 days. That way, depending on how high in carbs the dry stuff is, Lulu won't have a sudden drop in numbers.
 
So I’m thinking we’d better take another reduction for Lulu after tonight’s efforts. maybe just the standard .25 this time unless she proves difficult to keep up tonight in which case another .5 might be the better option. Her dry was reduced by 1/2 tbspn tonight just in time for the bounce break lol. Rita has given a couple of tsp LC at +2 to try and put the brakes on. Dosing thoughts welcomed.

ETA +2.5 52 - good tsp of HC given

I’m leaning towards the .5 u now!
 
Last edited:
Lulu could have come down so fast because she is clearing that big bounce. I think I'd see how hard it is for her to get Lulu to come back up and base the reduction size on that. She definitely needs a reduction.
 
Back
Top