10/20 Herman amps 196 +3 292+8.5 86 pmps 83 +1 108 +3 81

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Did Herman poop?
He did yesterday afternoon (it was fair size but quite hard and segmented). Haven’t checked today I suspect if he goes it won’t be until later. But since he did poop the last two days (both firmer than ideal) i don’t think the high BG should be because of constipation? But i will still treat with miralax, increased water (and pumpkin if I can get him to consider a bite or two)
….. I can’t believe how quickly we’ve gone backwards, I had been guarded in sharing his progress with friends and family (because honestly everyone thinks I am nuts for the effort I am putting in - it has been a strain on relationships for sure)..i had just started telling people how he was well regulated finally and his neuropathy is improving and he may have a chance for remission after all….3 days later we are back to square one. Ugh.
 
He did yesterday afternoon (it was fair size but quite hard and segmented). Haven’t checked today I suspect if he goes it won’t be until later. But since he did poop the last two days (both firmer than ideal) i don’t think the high BG should be because of constipation? But i will still treat with miralax, increased water (and pumpkin if I can get him to consider a bite or two)
….. I can’t believe how quickly we’ve gone backwards, I had been guarded in sharing his progress with friends and family (because honestly everyone thinks I am nuts for the effort I am putting in - it has been a strain on relationships for sure)..i had just started telling people how he was well regulated finally and his neuropathy is improving and he may have a chance for remission after all….3 days later we are back to square one. Ugh.

People think I’m nuts too for the same reason. Join the club.;):):bighug:
 
I debated whether to write this, but I can't help myself. I have to say this!
When you say
I can’t believe how quickly we’ve gone backwards
, I say to you, WOW look at just the first 19 days of October where there are more greens than ever before! I don't see "backwards", I see what Bhooma see, a small little speed bump. Remember FD is a marathon not a sprint. Herman's been sprinting all month. He needs a little break don't you think ;)
When you say
because honestly everyone thinks I am nuts for the effort I am putting in
, I say one man's crazy is another one's joy in life. I don't understand stamp collecting but to each his own.
When you say
it has been a strain on relationships for sure
, I say then maybe those people don't understand the REAL You and how deeply you love, care and protect. Perhaps those people are a little jealous that you are giving that part of you to Herman instead of them.
When you say
i had just started telling people how he was well regulated finally and his neuropathy is improving and he may have a chance for remission after all
I say HECK YEAH!!! BE PROUD! The accomplishments in such a short amount of time are AMAZING!
And finally,
3 days later we are back to square one. Ugh.
I say, Silly Amy, square one is sooooo far in the rearview mirror! Think of how much you know NOW that you didn't know back then. Think about your relationship with Herman and how much it has improved. I'm positive that your bond with him is different, improved maybe?

Sorry if this upsets you, truly. I'm giving you today to have your pity party because YOU EARNED IT, but after that its back to FD work! Ok Rant Over! :bighug:
 
You are not back to square one!! Just zoom out and look at your spreadsheet and you can see how well Herman has done overall the past month!!

Sometimes you don't know which depot is doing what and you are now seeing exactly where you are at so an increase is not necessarily bad. :bighug:

Angela posted while I was writing this so it is not just me who sees the great progress you have made with Herman!
 
I debated whether to write this, but I can't help myself. I have to say this!
When you say , I say to you, WOW look at just the first 19 days of October where there are more greens than ever before! I don't see "backwards", I see what Bhooma see, a small little speed bump. Remember FD is a marathon not a sprint. Herman's been sprinting all month. He needs a little break don't you think ;)
When you say , I say one man's crazy is another one's joy in life. I don't understand stamp collecting but to each his own.
When you say , I say then maybe those people don't understand the REAL You and how deeply you love, care and protect. Perhaps those people are a little jealous that you are giving that part of you to Herman instead of them.
When you say I say HECK YEAH!!! BE PROUD! The accomplishments in such a short amount of time are AMAZING!
And finally,
I say, Silly Amy, square one is sooooo far in the rearview mirror! Think of how much you know NOW that you didn't know back then. Think about your relationship with Herman and how much it has improved. I'm positive that your bond with him is different, improved maybe?

Sorry if this upsets you, truly. I'm giving you today to have your pity party because YOU EARNED IT, but after that its back to FD work! Ok Rant Over! :bighug:
I’m in tears again for the second time today….but these are good ones. Thank you, I needed that. Your support and positivity has meant a lot to me. :bighug:
 
You are not back to square one!! Just zoom out and look at your spreadsheet and you can see how well Herman has done overall the past month!!

Sometimes you don't know which depot is doing what and you are now seeing exactly where you are at so an increase is not necessarily bad. :bighug:

Angela posted while I was writing this so it is not just me who sees the great progress you have made with Herman!
Thanks. You’re right! Thanks for the help and cheerleading. I can’t imagine doing this alone.
 
Herman has pooped and threw up a bit of boiled turkey I gave as a treat today. Still eating ok. Interested in grass. Definitely upset tummy, perhaps from being constipated…hopefully it’s passed. His poop was bulkier than previous, less compacted. He may have also had a bit of diarrhea just before his normal poop as I noticed a tell tale dirty bum before he pooped in the arena in front of me.
 
Well, Herman may have something to say about that increase threat tonight :joyful:
hmmmm yes, this is a good sign for sure.....will be interesting to see if this results in another bounce. It is seeming that the higher numbers were at least due in part to constipation. If so - maybe he will get back on track sooner than later - I can hope anyway!
- but I will need to be on the ball in terms of managing the constipation. He so far was not interested in pumpkin but since I had the miralax I wasn't pushing it. I am thinking I am better convincing him to be on a maintenance routine with pumpkin vs daily miralax but I have lots of reading up to do on the subject.
 
I'm inclined to say hold the dose tonight. But let's see what Herman does until PMPS.

Isn't it amazing how much constipation or other issues can affect the blood sugar?
 
I'm inclined to say hold the dose tonight. But let's see what Herman does until PMPS.

Isn't it amazing how much constipation or other issues can affect the blood sugar?
Yes - this is all new to me but if it was in fact a result of the constipation it really is remarkable....and makes me just think about how uncomfortable the poor little dude must have felt. I'm slightly hesitant to just label it constipation given the fact that he did in fact poop the last three days - but certainly the first two seemed unnaturally compacted and segmented like balls which is unusual for sure so I guess its possible!
 
My heart is warmed by all the love in this chat and I am happy for you and Herman!

Biggie gets constipated and lately seems to do well with a mix of 1/4 tsp psyllium powder (Yerba Prima - no sugar or anything added) and 2 tsp pumpkin - both twice a day. The combo of bulking and softening seem to do the trick but he still doesn’t go every day. I mix about 2tsp water with it and his food and that helps keep it from getting too pasty. Not all kitties need the bulking but just my experience. Hope you find the right combo for him- I know how stressful it can be when they don’t poop!
 
Yes - this is all new to me but if it was in fact a result of the constipation it really is remarkable....and makes me just think about how uncomfortable the poor little dude must have felt. I'm slightly hesitant to just label it constipation given the fact that he did in fact poop the last three days - but certainly the first two seemed unnaturally compacted and segmented like balls which is unusual for sure so I guess its possible!
I am a medical translator and therefore muuuuuch more familiar with this scale than I would like to be. It's for humans, but certainly seems like it could apply to cats too:

upload_2022-10-20_13-56-38.png


Also for pumpkin, try crumbling his favorite freeze dried treat in a thick layer on top, that always works for me. I also freeze the pumpkin puree in an ice cube tray so I can bring it to room temp in small quantities. Fridge-cold pumpkin is always met with a disgusted face in my household :rolleyes:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-10-20_13-56-38.png
    upload_2022-10-20_13-56-38.png
    323.6 KB · Views: 184
I am a medical translator and therefore muuuuuch more familiar with this scale than I would like to be. It's for humans, but certainly seems like it could apply to cats too:

View attachment 65527

Also for pumpkin, try crumbling his favorite freeze dried treat in a thick layer on top, that always works for me. I also freeze the pumpkin puree in an ice cube tray so I can bring it to room temp in small quantities. Fridge-cold pumpkin is always met with a disgusted face in my household :rolleyes:
Great tips with pumpkin, the cans are huge! As for the diagram….gross and useful haha. He was most like type 1…so I’d say definitely constipated. Poor dude.
 
Even when they poop, sometimes they don’t poop enough (especially if they’re already somewhat backed up). It can take a few “downloads” to get back to normal.

I definitely saw a correlation between constipation and elevated BG in Tubby. If you decide to use Miralax/Restoralax, please be sure to add plenty of water to the canned food (I know that’s been mentioned already, but bears repeating). I soup up all of my cat food, even for those who don’t have a constipation issue. Given that cats don’t have a strong thirst drive, it’s good to encourage as much fluid intake as possible.
 
Back
Top