10/20, Corduroy, AMPS=87. DOSE QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Hi peeps!

This morning, Corduroy's BG was 87, so I stalled for about 15 minutes, it had raised to 104, then decided to give him .05 units instead of .10. My reasoning is because of the fact that, on Friday night, at PMPS time, it was 227. We gave him .10, and it went all the way down to 40 by +3!

My question is this: When do you lower the dose? I thought it was when they went under 50, but can't seem to find the post anywhere.
 
From the link Angela provided:
Reducing the dose:

  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

The 40 is definitely in dose reduction territory. However, it doesn't look to me like Corduroy is ready for you to stop insulin. Reducing his dose to 0.05u looks to me like a wise decision.
 
Hi Sienne,

Thanks for the reassurance! I was second-guessing myself this morning, but now, with his numbers the way they are, I'm glad I gave him only .05.

Have a great Sunday with Gabby!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top