10/20 Chester just earned a Dose Reduction BIG TIME

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
YIKES! I was a fool for thinking that I'd somehow be safe at +4 since Chester's pmps was 285. Nope...he tested 60 on the AlphaTrak *GULP* (which was a 43 on my OneTouch...just about freaked out).

I gave him a good size tablespoon of LC since he didn't eat much supper. He scarfed it down and then I added a tsp of HC gravy as well. Will test again in about 15 minutes.

For some reason I thought that 1.0 would be his "magic dose." Seems like Chester disagrees with me. I know my plan was to keep him in the blues but could someone explain that to Chester?

I'm assuming a .75 dose tomorrow. But he'll probably be high. I'd rather not shoot through the bounce on a day I'm at work...the weekend is coming soon enough to take a chance.

No matter how much I know I'm doing the right things and can control this (I hope), it still freaks me out!
 
Whoa!! Nice catch!

Congratulations on the dose reduction. Even though it happened with a little more excitement than you wanted!

I don't blame you for not wanting to shoot the current dose through the bounce since you will be at work.

You and Chester are doing great!
 
Thanks!

I just tested again at +20 minutes and we got an 89. I'm sure it's partially the gravy. I'm debating whether to just retest in 30 minutes or give him a tad more LC (which he may or may not want). I would like to avoid the bounce if I can...or at least avoid making it worse with a ton of food.
 
The HC will wear off by AMPS -- unless you're feeding dry food, it will be gone in under an hour. You can try LC but you may want to get Chester's numbers up a bit before you switch to LC. You want to re-test in no more than 30 min. As the HC wears off, numbers may wobble. Until you get 2 tests in a row with rising or surfing numbers, you want to test in 20 - 30 min. intervals.
 
no advice, jaye...but can i be the one to tempt the moderators by saying "holy crap!" ?

chessie cat is a hard-working boy...and his bean is hanging right in there with him!!

nice catch!

celi
 
Okay, I gave him LC first...maybe should have gone with HC? He scarfed the entire little bowl (one of those restaurant bowls...tiny) and ate about a tsp of mixed HC/LC, then the tsp of HC gravy. He is now 105. Should I give him a tad more HC or some more LC?
 
Chester is a hungry boy. I think I would wait on the food until your next test just in case he goes low again you want him to be hungry.
Jaye did you say you have a plan......with a cat? You may have a plan but unfortunately Chester seems to have his own plan. :mrgreen:
 
Miriam and Putty said:
Jaye did you say you have a plan......with a cat?

*groan* Good point! I teach middle school and Chester is very much like a middle schooler.

I already did give him another tbsp of LC and he ate most of it. I test again in about 10 minutes.

If he's going up again can I go to bed for a couple of hours...maybe retest him around 1:00 (+8.5)?
 
Yup, the plunge was scary and now I get to deal with the post-plunge highs tomorrow.

Funny to think how just a month or more ago, I wouldn't have had any clue, both with what to do tonight and why his numbers will be out of whack tomorrow.

Just tested again.... 119

So...our numbers have been 60, 85, 105 and 119. Wish I could go to bed!
 
Chester's numbers are looking better now. He has earned his dose decrease already and has nothing more to prove. Leave food for him overnight.

Nice work!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top