10/20 Charlie amps:405, pmps: 349

Status
Not open for further replies.
well now that you've said that...what will you shoot if he give you a amps in the low pinks or high yellows...or even...a low yellow? be prepared to stay where your at if appropriate ok, charlie will let you know when it's ok to increase or stay...or lower.
one of these days you may get an unexpected #, if no one is here to help you look on health or call someone.
what time zone are you in?
 
just saw your east coast. you can probably reach me at your amps. or even pmps.
 
I like how you are holding 5-6 cycles at each increase. Someday when you are looking back, you wont have to second guess "did I miss the correct dose". Assuming you are using the same meter, you are getting there.

I would hold the 3u at least 4-6 cycles. The first day at a dose isn't a fair test. IMO there is a carryover effect from the previous dose. If it was too low, then you are starting from a higher PS. If you keep the same dose 3 days, you know the preshot level is from the current dose.

If you want to do a mini Curve, it is best to give a dose at least 2-3 cycles before you do the test. The first day isn't a fair test.
 
Lori- I would shoot as planned (3.2) I guess, unless I saw a # in the 200s, then I'd stay at 3 again instead of increasing till I talked to someone here. I wouldn't shoot at all at 200, right? I shoot at 7&7 edt. I think that'd be your 4&4 on the west coast, right?
Nancy- is a mini curve where I'd test every couple of hours until the numbers start increasing again? I will do that on this new dose, but duly noted to wait till after 3 cycles.
 
ok, first things first. i would not skip a shot at 200...i would reduce and test +2 and +4 and +6...if you feel the 200 is a number still on it's way down then you might wait, not shoot, test in 1/2 hour to make sure charlie is on the rise.
i would never not shoot unless you are perhaps under 150.
nancy, her rush to raise dose is my thought to her as her numbers have been dangerously high for so long and chance of hypo is relatively non existant. i do agree that in the first days you need to slowly raise dose to see the cat adjust to the insulin. i think at this point it's simply a matter of finding a high enough dose to achieve a blue without waiting 5 or 6 cycles.
this is my thought on the matter.
does it seem crazy or make some sense?
 
and claudia sorry my math was backwards on the time...probably not best to call me that early in the morning. you would'nt understand anything i would say at that hour :lol:
the evening shot ok...if no one is here to assist.
 
Lori, I see your point on Charlie's numbers, and .2 is a small bump, so it is taking a long time to get progress.

If you only do 2 cycles of 3u and jump to 3.2u as you are planning, I think I would wait at least 3-4 cycles at 3.2u before increasing again so you can get a several good mid point checks on cycle 3 or 4, to see where you are.

Yes, I call a "mini curve" testing every few hours to hopefully catch the curve, (onset, nadir, duration)

At the first sign of blue, I would go slower.

Are you testing for ketones, using the urine strips "ketodiastyx"?
 
A cycle is a 12 hour period following a shot, isn't it? I held 3U for 4 cycles (I did 4 shots at 3u) if my definition is correct. I couldn't find that word in the fdmb glossary or the fd.com dictionary, so my understanding of the word could be wrong. I like to increase in the a.m. since I don't see Charlie all night- he doesn't sleep in our bedroom. So I'll do a mini curve after 3 cycles on 3.2.
Yes, we use ketodiastix, all tests have been negative so far. I plan to test today.
 
a cycle is the period of time, from one shot to the following shot. usually it is 12hrs, but doesn't have to be (if you shot 3x/day it might be 8hrs)

I have seen folks use "c1", c5, etc in their spread sheets to help then keep track of how long they have given a certain dose. It's not commonly done, so it usually generates questions- "what does c3 mean?". I did use it for awhile when it was something I was keeping track of for myself.

Sorry I missed the 4 cycles at 3u. That sounds like a good plan. Test glucose whenever you want, just withhold judgement of a certain dose until at least c3.
 
So that would be, in charlie's case (since we shoot bid) I should wait until after I give shot #3 to judge the effectiveness of a dose. Gotcha!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top