10/2 Zappa AMPS 369 +3/325 PMPS 346 +2/316 +4/331

Zappa’s mom

Member Since 2022
Solid pink and red for 7 days now.

I did start a new Lantus pen, I’m wondering if something is up????? I have a backup pen. Should I try switching or what? I hate to toss a new pen if it’s good.
 
Solid pink and red for 7 days now.

I did start a new Lantus pen, I’m wondering if something is up????? I have a backup pen. Should I try switching or what? I hate to toss a new pen if it’s good.
I'll tag a few members so they can take a good look at your SS
I'm no expert but if you did start a new pen I would stay with the 2 units, you dropped Zappa down to 1.75 units before that for a bit before going back to 2 units

I'll tag a few members
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
What day did you start a new pen? Please note it in the Remarks. Was the new pen stored in the fridge? Also note anything else that might have changed that could have an impact on his numbers.

Lately you've been mixing up the doses. When he's over 300, no reason to reduce the dose. Tonight is only the third cycle in a row with a consistent dose since you increased.
 
What day did you start a new pen? Please note it in the Remarks. Was the new pen stored in the fridge? Also note anything else that might have changed that could have an impact on his numbers.

Lately you've been mixing up the doses. When he's over 300, no reason to reduce the dose. Tonight is only the third cycle in a row with a consistent dose since you increased.

It’s not the pen - I just put it on the sheet. I also started him on Denamarin, which I also added to the sheet. Yes the pen is in the refrigerator.

So I should stay on this dose for 7 days then increase to 2.25?

Thank you.
 
It’s not the pen - I just put it on the sheet. I also started him on Denamarin, which I also added to the sheet. Yes the pen is in the refrigerator.

So I should stay on this dose for 7 days then increase to 2.25?

Thank you.
I'll let @Wendy&Neko advise you , I'm confused if it's not a pen then what is it the vile ? You said the pen is in the refrigerator
 
I'll let @Wendy&Neko advise you , I'm confused if it's not a pen then what is it the vile ?

Oh no, it’s a Lantus pen. I’m saying the pen is not the problem. This started before I changed to the new pen. I’m worried his cysts are filling up again or causing damage. We go for an ultrasound Sunday so I will find out what’s going on with the cysts. Misery!

He is acting pretty fine though - he has even been playing a little bit.
 
It’s not the pen - I just put it on the sheet.
He might have been bouncing for a couple days before you went to the new pen. Was the pen bought as a single pen or part of a pack? Is the backup pen part of the pack or bought separately? If the backup was part of the same 5 pack and bought at the same time/place, then not worth an experiment trying the backup pen for a couple cycles. But I'm wondering because a week ago the 1.75 units got you down to 116.

I would hold the new dose for 7 days, today is day 2.
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom
@Wendy&Neko

Will do! I just thought of something- Zappa has gained almost two pounds. Does weight gain affect insulin? His weight gain has happened over the last 4 weeks.

The weight gain is welcomed. He lost a considerable amount of weight since he was diagnosed- half to one pound per month.

He started improving considerably after the hospital. His B-12 was low so I’ve been doing injections weekly, I think the Visbiome is helping him too. I think too soon to evaluate the Denamarin, only 10 days. But I will have his bloodwork done at the vet along with his ultrasound. Then I’ll have some real data.

Would weight gain affect his insulin dosage?
 
Back
Top