10/2 Simon PMPS 353 +4 292 back from vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Please send lots of healing vines and prayers to Claudia and Rocket.

Simon is a nice low yellow this morning. He has not figured out yet that he is going to the vet this morning for his check-up and adequan shot. I know the vet is going to give me the fructosomine talk like he does every check-up, but once again, I will stay strong and refuse. Last time i went, I was even charged for the test during the check-out and they had to remove it from my bill. I guess they just think it is a given that all owners with diabetic cats are going to have the test done. With everything else, Simon's vet is very supportive and is a great vet. I hope that we can figure out if there is some reason Simon's bg has been so crazy lately. He has had numerous UTI's in the past, so maybe that is the reason. Please send lots of good vetty vines for Simon. I'll update y'all when I get back home.

I bought Simon a new litter box yesterday with higher sides in the back because he keeps peeing over the side of the old box. Well, he hates the new box and refuses to use it. I spent $30 on the stupid thing! :sad:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=80216
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228

Sienne, I just now saw that you posted last night on Simon's condo. I agree that I should probably increase his dose since his numbers have been higher than usual. The problem is that when I increase, he usually drops pretty low when I least expect it. When I am at work, I get so nervous thinking I won't be able to catch the low number. This has happened a few times so it makes me a basket case. I guess I just have to get over it and try to get back to following the protocol better.
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228

Hi Georgia & Simon,

Good luck at the vetty today! I hope that if something is bothering Simon the vet will discover what it is. Good for you to stand firm on the fructosamine test.
Rusty has one of those big, high-backed litterboxes. When we adopted him, Phoebe told me that he needed one (it turned out that it was one of her other cats who needed it!). In any event, we have the high-backed one downstairs and a "normal" one upstairs, with one of those rims that snaps on and helps prevent litter from being raked out. I find it interesting that with the high-backed, high-sided box Rusty almost always rakes some litter out onto the floor, whereas with the "normal" box, he is fastidious and extremely careful to keep all the litter in the box. Anyway, if Simon doesn't like the new box you should get rid of it. You don't want to have him avoiding it entirely! (maybe use the old box and tape a sheet of plastic to the wall behind it?)

I hope that Simon's numbers will get back to normal. Rusty has had weird numbers lately, too. But he is beginning to get back on track (anti jinx). Lots of us have been seeing strange patterns and the consensus is that it might have something to do with the change of seasons.

Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228

Come on down Simon! Good vetty vines coming your way! I hope the checkup goes well and they figure out what those wonky BGs are about. Our vet has never recommended the fructo test but I know there are some vets that insist on it. Way to be strong!

Ugh on the new litter box. We need a new one, but there is a revolt in our house anytime we change anything related to the litter box by both kitties.

Thinking of you today Georgia and hope for a good report!
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228

More vetty vines...
We are supposed to go to vet tomorrow so I guess I'll be prepared for that requested test too. No thank you!


I wouldn't toss out the new box yet. Wait and transfer some used litter into it to see if having one's own smells helps. Or just use
it as a second box elsewhere in the houes. Usually the cleanest , emptiest one gets more attention.

Need to slide down there , Simon!!
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228 +4 46

OMG! Ok, this is why I get nervous about changing Mr. Simon's dose. When I least expect it, he goes really low. Luckily, I was home to catch it but have to leave in a minute to go to a dentist appointment before the vet appointment. I just fed him some mc food and will check again right before I leave.

Thanks everyone for the advice on the litterbox. I think I will try the idea of putting some of the old litter in the new box and see if the smell will get Simon to give it a go.
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228 +4 46

Whoa, Simon....slow it down there, little man!!! Yep, Georgia...I see what you mean! I wonder what's up with Simon's numbers. It sounds like he and Trix are a secret agent team...she's also on her highest dose, bouncing up a storm, and basically not predictable at all like she used to be.

Many good vetty vines coming your way!!!
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228 +4 46

:shock: :shock: A 46??? oh wow... Simon: up you go! Simon sounds like Mannie in that regard. I too get reluctant to change his dose, as this is often what happens, and then I am scrambling.... Hope he comes up quickly for you. and that you can make your appt. Mannie's numbers too have been a bit erratic too, ups and downs... I hope it is just a seasonal thing, as it is beyond me as to what he is doing... besides just being a cat. :roll:

Good luck with the LB. They can be so picky sometimes.

Simon - you have a good vetty appt OK?
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228 +4 46

Hi guys .. uh, simon? What'cha doing there buddy? Don't you know your momma beanz has to leave and doesn't like seeing you this low if she can't be home? Bring it up my man! Sending good vetty thoughts your way today! Have a great day!
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228 +4 46 +4.5 41

Oh dear! He is going lower. I have to make this dental appointment since it is a follow-up to my root canal. It is only 5 minutes from home and hopefully, will only be a 45 minute visit. I just fed Simon again and will leave the pop up to go off again in another 30 minutes. He is usually pretty food sensitive so his bg should be going up soon.
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228 +4 46 +4.5 41

up Simon, up! nice that the appt is only 5 minutes away - you should be able to make that and back in good time. I'd just tell them you have an issue.... :? Wishing you luck - :-D
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228 +4 46 +4.5 41

Oh my, Georgia, just catching up on Simon. Wouldn't you know it just when you need to leave he drops. Up you go Simon, have some good mc food and then a little more. Georgia, sending good Vetty vines for Simon and also on your check-up dental.
Will catch up later on Simon'a visit.
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228 +4 46 +4.5 41 +6 46

Got back from the dentist and am surprised that Simon didn't go much higher than when I left. Just fed him some more food. We will be leaving for the vet in another hour so I don't want to stuff him too much and then he throws up in the car or at the vet! I'm sure his bg will skyrocket once he gets to the vet and gets stressed out.
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228 +4 46 +4.5 41 +6 46 +7 83

Much better for Simon. Georgia, just in case you didn't see my condo, the SD Friskies T&G is 0.80% on Dr. Lisa's list, so not too bad with the Phosphorus. Sending good Vetty vines. Simon, don't be scared; it will be over in no time.
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228 +6 46 +7 83 +8 120 +9 194 back from

Ann, thanks for the info on the Friskies. I feel better now about giving it to Cleo.

Well, we are back from the vet. Simon must have peed right before we left for the vet because they were unable to get a pee sample :sad: . I was sent home with some sand to put in his box and now I'll have to get the sample on my own and bring it in.

Another issue: the front desk person failed to tell me that Simon's vet was away at a week long conference and Simon would be seeing another vet in the practice. I am not happy because Simon's vet knows him really well and the other vet is new. She was ok but I wish I could have scheduled his appointment when his normal vet was there.

Simon is doing well with everything else (bloodwork will be back tomorrow or Thurs.) and his ears do not show any infection. Apparently, it is mostly wax buildup. The vet suggests cleaning his ears with hydrogen peroxide every day using a cotton ball. They took his bg while he was at the office and he was only 120 on the animal glucometer (and he was stressed at the time). When we got home, I immediately took his bg and he is much higher, but that is to be expected.
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228 +6 46 +7 83 +8 120 +9 194 back from

Hi Georgia:)

Hope you get good results from the blood work tomorrow and are successful with catching some pee in your cup :-D he had some pretty nice numbers at the vet despte all the stress.
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228 +6 46 +7 83 +8 120 +9 194 back from

Hi Georgia, sorry you were not told that your regular Vet was not there today. They should have told you and left it up to you to wait til your reguar Vet returns. What a nice cycle and just when a dosecrease was mentioned, too. And 120 on the Alpha Trak was good for Simon. Have a good night and paws crossed for good b.w results.
 
Re: 10/2 Simon AMPS 228 +6 46 +7 83 +8 120 +9 194 back from

Georgia I hate when my vet isnt there, which is a lot, so I make sure she will be in when we come..
Simon is a really amazing kitty!! just when you think you can get out, He Pulls you right back in again!!!
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Moonie has done this to me a million times with low numbers ohmygod_smile -You did everything right & he was fine..
Good luck on the pee collection--I havent been able to do it except once--Got a soup ladle, watched for Moonie to go to litter box-Swooped it under her while she went :lol: The first & last time I did it :lol:

Hope all is well with his BW & have a good night--Hugs & Love from us!
 
Big Bounce!!! :sad:

Roni, I can only imagine what you looked like with a soup ladle trying to catch pee! Hilarious!! :lol: :lol: I am going to try the pee collection on Thursday because I won't be able to bring in the pee sample to the vet until Friday.
 
Wow, Georgia! Simon sure threw some surprises at you! Nice catch :smile:

How did the dentist appointment go? Are you ok?

About the hydrogen peroxide: It can break down the skin... Maybe you should check with your regular vet on that? Just a thought.

HUGS!
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top