10/2 Phoenix +7 BG 75 Extremely happy but Confused

Scdal

Member Since 2020
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
I am extremely happy with Phoenix's numbers and his behavior. This last month, he has been very active and alert. He chases the ducks along the fence line and only comes in when I make him. That is when it is getting dark or very hot in the afternoon.

Over the last couple of weeks, I have decreased his insulin from 11 units down to 10. Two days ago, Thursday, I even had to skip his morning injection. That was when I decreased his insulin from 10.5 units down to 10.

At 4 a.m. this morning at +9, his BG was 121. I should have waited but I gave him some fancy feast hc. Even so, Phoenix only went up to 142 at his AMPS. At +6 this afternoon, his BG was 97. I fed him a big lunch of a whole boiled egg and one half cup of chicken gizzards. An hour after eating all that, his BG has fallen to 78.

This is just amazing ! Phoenix's doctor did start him on Zyrtec for allergies this last month. It has worked great and he is rarely congested. I know antihistamines can act like speed and cause some people to become nervous or hyperactive.

But at the same time, his BG has started falling at the same time. So what has caused all these changes all of a sudden? Whatever caused it, I thank any higher power for their help. After almost 2 years of struggling to get his BG down, it looks like things are now looking good.

I hate Star Wars motion pictures but LET THE FORCE BE WITH US.
 
A couple of thoughts come to mind. If Phoenix was having problems with allergies, treating allergies may have caused better BG. Allergy is like an inflammation and any systemic stress can cause BG numbers to be higher.

It doesn't look like you had Phoenix tested for a high dose condition. Generally, we suggest that once a cat is at a dose that's over 6u, you get lab work done to test for acromegaly or insulin auto-antibodies. With either of these conditions, numbers can go from OK given the higher dose of insulin to even better and needing dose reductions.
 
A couple of thoughts come to mind. If Phoenix was having problems with allergies, treating allergies may have caused better BG. Allergy is like an inflammation and any systemic stress can cause BG numbers to be higher.

It doesn't look like you had Phoenix tested for a high dose condition. Generally, we suggest that once a cat is at a dose that's over 6u, you get lab work done to test for acromegaly or insulin auto-antibodies. With either of these conditions, numbers can go from OK given the higher dose of insulin to even better and needing dose reductions.
Thank you, I had never thought that treating his allergies could lower his BG. You are probably correct and this is why Phoenix is feeling so good.
 
Back
Top