10/2 Max AMPS 398 +4 369 +8 311 PMPS 376 +2 281 +3 260

Yesterday https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-75-53-4-25-49-5-64-6-73.269084/#post-3004923
Bad bounce. I knew it would be. I went ahead and reduced back to 5.5. He was doing so well on the 5.75 units, so I didn’t want to. I should be glad about a reduction but not with him lately. Unbelievably frustrating and confusing to me, but I hope it works.
I’ve read somewhere that sometimes the reduction criteria changes for certain cats who don’t always hold reductions well, maybe something to discuss with one of the experienced members? I used to be thrilled with a reduction until I realized they were failing. Also for me, it took me a while to figure out how to feed him up at the beginning of his cycles to prevent a reduction too soon.
 
I’ve read somewhere that sometimes the reduction criteria changes for certain cats who don’t always hold reductions well, maybe something to discuss with one of the experienced members? I used to be thrilled with a reduction until I realized they were failing. Also for me, it took me a while to figure out how to feed him up at the beginning of his cycles to prevent a reduction too soon.

Yes that’s right Amy. Thanks for your comment. There is something about that on a sticky I read too. That may work for Max and I may end up trying it. I wish Max was easier to manage but he is a little different when it comes to his dosing because of acromegaly and SRT which makes it more complicated. I’m sure that I’m not doing everything right, but I try. I have learned about feeding higher carbs early in the cycle as well and do that on cycles like the one he had yesterday when he was bounce clearing. Sometimes it works and sometimes not. He had quite a bit of MC and HC last night and still dropped so for his safety, I think right now we have to give him a chance on the reduced dose, even though I don’t trust him to hold it. I will believe it when I see it with Max lol. Thank you for pointing that out to me though. May end up trying it eventually if he doesn’t start holding reductions.
You are doing such a great job with Herman. I know it isn’t easy all the time. The things we do for our fur babies…Thank you again.:bighug:
 
Thought he was clearing the bounce, but it looks like he changed his mind. Maybe some good sleep is in my near future.
 
That was my first thought - take advantage of the chance to sleep.

At this point in Max's FD dance, I wouldn't be waiting for multiple under 50's to reduce. You just recently changed from under 70 to under 50 as a reduction criteria. Let's first see how he does with that. I'm keeping in mind that SRT action can happen in fits and spurts. For three months Neko stayed on the same dose post SRT, then the reductions started back up again. I wouldn't want to be waiting for 3 under 50 when SRT action kicks in.
 
Thanks Wendy. Sounds good to me. Even though I get frustrated with the way he’s bounced back and forth between doses sometimes, I’d rather be safe than sorry. He did have a time a few months ago when he had multiple reductions that held. I think I was expecting to see that continue. Didn’t realize it would be in spurts, but that does make sense.
I’m definitely hoping to get more sleep tonight. Thanks again.
 
Back
Top