? 10/2 Logan AMPS 305, +2 218, +4 156 +6 108 +8 117 PMPS 305

Jennifer and Logan

Member Since 2024
I did my first glucose curve for Logan yesterday. I sent the numbers to the vet and she said everything is great and not to change the dosage. Do another curve in a month to make sure she’s still ok. Do people agree with this analysis? The numbers seem too high to me.
 
Yes, since you are feeding dry food if you were following our method it would be SLGS and if the nadirs (lowest point in the curve is between 100-150 the dose stays the same. If under 90 a decrease is earned. I do caution you that a cat’s bg often is lower at night so some tests between +4-7 would be helpful during the pm cycle..

From the dosing sticky:


After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).

Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top