10/2 Jazzy AMPS 264

Status
Not open for further replies.

Libby and Lucy

Member Since 2009
well, I planned to open a condo today because it has been suggested that acro cats should have condos sometimes so others will see that they don't have to be afraid if their cat needs higher doses. Lots of the acro beans don't post because they think newbies will look at their numbers and think it's ok to do dosing the way some of us do - increasing by full units, increasing faster than 6 cycles, sometimes decreasing by a unit or two at a time. Keep in mind when you look at Jazzy's spreadsheet that acro cats are different than regular diabetic cats, so the protocol can be used as a guideline but sometimes their dosing needs have to stray from protocol. The tumor that produces growth hormone can vary in output from day to do, so today Jazzy needs 13.5 units (actually she probably needs more), but at one time 7 units sent her near hypo. If the tumor shuts off tomorrow, then 13.5 units could suddenly be a massive overdose. Fun, huh? Feel free to study Jazzy's spreadsheet, but don't copy it.

I'm going ahead and opening the condo even though I deserve a plate of noodles today. :oops: I took a sleeping pill last night, and it worked so well that AMPS was at +14 today. Oops!

I've discovered that I don't know how to tell if Jazzy is feeling well. She's grumpier than usual when I test, but she has always been growly and bitey during testing so I don't know if she's not feeling well or if she's just tired of the poking. Her insulin dose has gone way up, which in most cats would mean she has something going on, but being an acro it *could* just be the tumor revving up. She's eating fine, drinking some but less than she used to, peeing more because her numbers are higher, and her poo is back to being puddingy. I'm trying to switch everybody away from Fancy Feast and toward more of the grain-free stuff to see if that helps the poo situation.

Last night I increased Jazzy's dose to 13.5 units. Today I'm going to pick up some R and learn to use that, to see if I can get her back down into blue all the time. This is the spreadsheet I'm using for inspiration: Buckwheat (miss you, KT and Buckwheat!).

Other than that, we keep plugging along. Have a great Caturday!
 
Nice post Libby!
Thank you for updating everyone on Jazzy.
I wouldn't dare give you noodles, hey at least you got some sleepies right?
We luv you lots! cat_pet_icon
 
Happy Caturday, Libby
Nice to see a condo for Jazzy. I hope you can get a handle on her moods and her dose soon. It is very generous of you to take her into your home. I hope she's feeling better soon. No noodles from me - sometimes we just need the sleep. I hope you have a great day!
 
Hi Libby, nice to meet Jazzy. :-D
I too, slept sort of late on a sleep pill, few days ago. My eyes just flew open at shot time Oops! :roll:
I hope Jazzy is feeling and pooing better soon. You're a good caregiver, you'll figure it out in short time. :smile:
 
Ooh, Jazzy has a condo! I just had to stop by and say Hello. KB may have a condo later - I have been out all morning and have to go help DH clean up the yard from the latest storm (and major walnut inundation that has to be cleared).

I WILL come back in a bit and take a peek at Jazzy's spreadsheet to see if I can help at all with the R. KB has nadir right about shot time so that's usually when I use it (he almost always goes up so if he's already high I feel pretty safe using some) but I always use it sparingly because I never know when the highs are about to break.

You'll need to try to determine when the R peaks for her (in KB it is late), supposedly it's gone in about 5 hours.

Be back later. Hope you're having a great day.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
I'm going ahead and opening the condo even though I deserve a plate of noodles today. :oops: I took a sleeping pill last night, and it worked so well that AMPS was at +14 today. Oops!
well, maybe you should have taken it a couple of hrs earlier, then you would've woken up at +12 ;-)

I've discovered that I don't know how to tell if Jazzy is feeling well. She's grumpier than usual when I test, but she has always been growly and bitey during testing so I don't know if she's not feeling well or if she's just tired of the poking.
could she be having headaches? i forget which acrokitty - fletcher or merlin? - had headaches. and megan bean too.
 
thanks for the offer of help, Nina. I will take you up on that. :YMHUG:

I thought that for the first time I would start with 0.25u at +6 or +7, then test hourly to see what it does (she's gonna bite me for sure today). You can help me interpret the results. Since I slept in today, that will be 3:30-4:30 this afternoon. I'm heading out to the store now, so hopefully I'll be able to get the R.
 
Libby, here's a thread from the old board I had bookmarked when KT was considering starting R.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... 22,1797264

I was going to say .25 might be high to start with and suggest .1, but she's on a higher dose so maybe she'd need that. I am not very aggressive when it comes to R but if you know rebound isn't due to break or a new dose about to kick in you can be a little more aggressive than I am. A lot depends on whether you'll be able to monitor where she goes and intervene if necessary.

Only the second cycle of this dose, I hope you see some better numbers for your girl soon.
 
Oh Jazzy...lub the name...Had a "Jazz" years ago.....

Libby that's awfully nice for you to take Jazzy into your home. You are a really wonderful person for doing so.

I don't know much about acro kitties. I did a little reading just now on the subject....Oh my.....talk about a roller coaster ride for you. Sigh!!



And Libby...Just have to thank you for all the wonderful support and guidance you've provided me and all the other folks here. My hat is off to you. You are truly a blessing...

I hope sometime down the road I can find a way to give back to you.
 
Nina, I'm so glad you had that post saved. I was looking for it and didn't have it. KT has it quoted on her spreadsheet, but I wanted to have the actual post. Thank you!

I bought the R but didn't shoot it today. I wasn't able to get a +7 test - she's in a biting mood today, and I have very shaky hands today from a health issue I've been having. It didn't seem like a good idea to start something that requires hourly testing. I'll see where she is at PMPS, but I think it's much better to use R in the last half of the cycle, at least the first couple of times until I have the data.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
I think it's much better to use R in the last half of the cycle, at least the first couple of times until I have the data.
For Jazzy, that is probably true.

I'm sorry you're not feeling your best right now, Libby. I hope your kitties give you extra snuggles and you feel better soon.

(Glad you got the R, thought, good to have on hand.)
 
I don't envy you acromoms, I don't know how you can figure out what to shoot and how much to increase or decrease. What a challenge! It really is wonderful of you to take Jazzy as a foster, and she's a lucky girl to have you taking care of her, Libby!
 
Good to see a condo for Jazzy. I hope the R helps and also that you are feeling better soon. I'm sure Lucy will give you some special time to make you feel better.
 
Re: 10/2 Jazzy AMPS 264, PMPS 271

PMPS 271, which is the same as it always is. I'd better put Neosporin on Jazzy's ear tonight, because she's going to have a poke-fest tomorrow. Don't tell her.

Lucy update: she's silly. :mrgreen: That's my girl.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top