Libby and Lucy
Member Since 2009
well, I planned to open a condo today because it has been suggested that acro cats should have condos sometimes so others will see that they don't have to be afraid if their cat needs higher doses. Lots of the acro beans don't post because they think newbies will look at their numbers and think it's ok to do dosing the way some of us do - increasing by full units, increasing faster than 6 cycles, sometimes decreasing by a unit or two at a time. Keep in mind when you look at Jazzy's spreadsheet that acro cats are different than regular diabetic cats, so the protocol can be used as a guideline but sometimes their dosing needs have to stray from protocol. The tumor that produces growth hormone can vary in output from day to do, so today Jazzy needs 13.5 units (actually she probably needs more), but at one time 7 units sent her near hypo. If the tumor shuts off tomorrow, then 13.5 units could suddenly be a massive overdose. Fun, huh? Feel free to study Jazzy's spreadsheet, but don't copy it.
I'm going ahead and opening the condo even though I deserve a plate of noodles today.
I took a sleeping pill last night, and it worked so well that AMPS was at +14 today. Oops!
I've discovered that I don't know how to tell if Jazzy is feeling well. She's grumpier than usual when I test, but she has always been growly and bitey during testing so I don't know if she's not feeling well or if she's just tired of the poking. Her insulin dose has gone way up, which in most cats would mean she has something going on, but being an acro it *could* just be the tumor revving up. She's eating fine, drinking some but less than she used to, peeing more because her numbers are higher, and her poo is back to being puddingy. I'm trying to switch everybody away from Fancy Feast and toward more of the grain-free stuff to see if that helps the poo situation.
Last night I increased Jazzy's dose to 13.5 units. Today I'm going to pick up some R and learn to use that, to see if I can get her back down into blue all the time. This is the spreadsheet I'm using for inspiration: Buckwheat (miss you, KT and Buckwheat!).
Other than that, we keep plugging along. Have a great Caturday!
I'm going ahead and opening the condo even though I deserve a plate of noodles today.
I've discovered that I don't know how to tell if Jazzy is feeling well. She's grumpier than usual when I test, but she has always been growly and bitey during testing so I don't know if she's not feeling well or if she's just tired of the poking. Her insulin dose has gone way up, which in most cats would mean she has something going on, but being an acro it *could* just be the tumor revving up. She's eating fine, drinking some but less than she used to, peeing more because her numbers are higher, and her poo is back to being puddingy. I'm trying to switch everybody away from Fancy Feast and toward more of the grain-free stuff to see if that helps the poo situation.
Last night I increased Jazzy's dose to 13.5 units. Today I'm going to pick up some R and learn to use that, to see if I can get her back down into blue all the time. This is the spreadsheet I'm using for inspiration: Buckwheat (miss you, KT and Buckwheat!).
Other than that, we keep plugging along. Have a great Caturday!