dodgingwrenches
Member Since 2010
Hello,
Follow-up to yesterday's thread (viewtopic.php?f=9&t=105549)
I'm bringing Heart home from the vet today. His BG is high again (20s, or 400s in US). I want to try this R stuff to bring it down, in addition to his regular Lantus. I want to take the high BG stress off of his system while he recovers from his DKA and his general relapse. It took me weeks to get his numbers down when he was diagnosed in 2010 (check the 2010 tab in my spreadsheet link below) and I want to kick-start some nice numbers sooner this time - want to give him a boost as he starts to normalize on Lantus. I am willing to stay up all night measuring his BG every hour if need be. Can someone give the quick and dirty on how to do this? This is my thinking - If he shoots high again tonight, give him his Lantus. And then do I also give him an R, or do I wait a few hours? And then a small amount, such as 0.5 units of the R, monitoring every hour? Is that right? I did some quick searches on a protocol but haven't found anything yet...
Thanks,
Sophia
Follow-up to yesterday's thread (viewtopic.php?f=9&t=105549)
I'm bringing Heart home from the vet today. His BG is high again (20s, or 400s in US). I want to try this R stuff to bring it down, in addition to his regular Lantus. I want to take the high BG stress off of his system while he recovers from his DKA and his general relapse. It took me weeks to get his numbers down when he was diagnosed in 2010 (check the 2010 tab in my spreadsheet link below) and I want to kick-start some nice numbers sooner this time - want to give him a boost as he starts to normalize on Lantus. I am willing to stay up all night measuring his BG every hour if need be. Can someone give the quick and dirty on how to do this? This is my thinking - If he shoots high again tonight, give him his Lantus. And then do I also give him an R, or do I wait a few hours? And then a small amount, such as 0.5 units of the R, monitoring every hour? Is that right? I did some quick searches on a protocol but haven't found anything yet...
Thanks,
Sophia