10/2 Gracie PMPS 300 +2 291 +4 287 +5 290

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26414

Recap:
AMPS: 284
+2: 300
+5: 267
+8: 276
PMPS: 275
+2: 233
+4: 198
+5: 175
+6: 180


HAPPY CATURDAY!!! Hope everyone has plans for a lovely day.

We were happy with how Gracie handled her dose reduction yesterday...kinda flat with a little bit of downward movement in the evening. Since she's a diver, we stayed up to check through her nadir until she came up a bit. Her AMPS today is between her AMPS and PMPS yesterday so don't know what we'll see with her. She was so tired last night as she played and played yesterday morning and then followed the housekeeper around all afternoon ....she considers herself the "supervisor". And then we kept waking her up to pokey her as she is not one to allow us to pokey her while she's sleeping...plus she was outside on the enclosed patio in the dark and the light out there isn't good for doing a pokey. I was hoping to get out today and get some shopping done but we'll have to see how she does...I am positive DH can handle dropping numbers but he's been so awesome and he loves to watch football while he has the chance...looks like he will go back to flying next weekend after having this OJI since mid-July.

Hey Mannie...I'm all ready to go dune diving but mamabean says I can't let my numbers dive....just a nice, steady, slow movement into blue and green!! She's so controlling!!
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie AMPS 281

Happy Caturday, Marjorie. Gracie had a nice blue surf last night and it sounds like she had fun yesterday. One question, what is OJI? Is your DH in the service? I hope you have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie AMPS 281

Morning Marjorie - saw your post to Michelle and Mannie. look over the canned food lists. there are some that are in the 10-11% range that are technically MC. That might be a good thing to try with Gracie. It's worth a shot, you'll accumulate more data and see what works for her.

eta: all these are in my hypo kit - I write the % on top of each can with a marker so I know which are 11%, 18%, 26% - it helps to figure out which ones work the best for each range of BG, valuable knowledge when you want to "steer" those numbers. I have yet to deal with a number in the 30's but I know that can of 26% is gonna be gold when we find ourselves in that situation. now is that clear as mud? @-)
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie AMPS 281 +2 240

Hi Marjorie! Good Morning! I posted an answer to your question on how I feed Mannie based on dropping numbers in Mannie's condo. I hope it is not as clear as mud. :-D Alot of it is trial and error, and seeing what you get once you've fed. Does take alot of data collecting, and alot of pokes, but it can control falling numbers.

I too do what Kim says in regards to cans. labeling saves so much time and wonder - I can just grab what % carb I want.

Hey Gracie! Come on over then - dune sliding and stuff at Tess's. We will keep a close watch on you so that you don't go diving. I promise no diving lesson's today. See you there? ~ Mannie
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie AMPS 281 +2 240

cute how gracie supervises the housekeeper. my tom thinks i need assistance, perhaps supervision whenever i go to the bathroom. he follows me in every time and sit's and watches. it's his job. :lol:
maybe he learned that from me when he was first dx'd and i would run in to see if he was peeing again, perchance get a strip test out of it. that must be it.
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie AMPS 281 +2 240

You never know!! I find they typically hate closed doors so whatever we're doing, the door has to be open.

Ever since Gracie was a tiny kitten, she has followed the housekeeper around. When she was small enough, she'd ride on the central vac hose :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie AMPS 281 +2 240 +4 351 QUESTION PLS

Well I didn't expect this at +4. Can someone pls look at my SS and see if you can tell if it is a bounce (which would seem weird because she
didn't go that low) or if I did this because of a skinny shot? I sorta think that might be the problem darn it. If that is the case, then I just need
to be sure tonight that she gets the full dose. Thanks!
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie AMPS 281 +2 240 +4 351 QUESTION PLS

First instinct: ignore it for now. Wait for the next number to decide if something's wonky. Blips happen.
Either that or she found a stash of cookies after AM+2 :cool:

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie AMPS 281 +2 240 +4 351 QUESTION PLS

lol, MJ, cookies, hee hee :razz:

yea let's see what goes on next....if you can, get a +11 before PMPS tonight, k?
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie AMPS 281 +2 240 +4 351 QUESTION PLS

I'm not sure why you would have given a skinny dose unless you eyeballed the 0.75u on the light side. It's certainly possible that the skinny dose is the reason. Sometimes, Gracie has an early nadir so that may be an explanation.
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie AMPS 281 +2 240 +4 351 QUESTION PLS

Thanks MJ, Ronnie, and Sienne. COOKIES??? Someone has cookies in this house?? :lol: :lol: Nah...believe me, if there had been cookies, I'd have already eaten them all :lol: :lol:

I'll get a +11. Yes, Sienne..I think I eyeballed it wrong. We were up until 1:30 am watching her to make sure she went up after her nadir (trying to better pinpoint it and it's looking more like it is around +5). Then I was up at 3:30 am to give her +8 snack and then 6:30 am to get everyone fed and get her ready for her 7:20 AMPS/feed/shoot. So I was bleary eyed and having a difficult time adjusting the plunger (even turning clockwise or counterclockwise). I really didn't intend to get it skinny but when I compared it to the photo that was sent to me today for .75u, I realized I had gotten it skinny. OOoppss..poor baby Grace.

Thank you all!!! Hope to get her back in blue tonight.
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie AMPS 281 +2 240 +4 351

It's her mama's fault....shot skinny dose by accident...blurry eyes...nappus now.
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie AMPS 281 +2 240 +4 351

she'll recover soon enough - think we have all been there. Sounds like me at 4:30 AM trying to eyeball a .25, with a kitty there telling me to hurry up. :lol: :lol: I vote for the cookies... Mannie would too.

Gracie - come on down girl - you look better in blues.
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie AMPS 281 +2 240 +4 351

Thanks, Michelle....I think she might be coming down a little...she acts more energetic. I can often tell when her BG is up by her behavior. But we're giving her a rest and will test at +11 since we've done a lot of testing lately. I'm going out in search of some 0-3% LC foods so she has more variety than just a few kinds of Wellness and NV Instinct..my girl likes variety :-D :-D :-D

Yes...we'd like to see those blues tonight. I have to be more clear headed and make sure I get the right dose in her...I am hoping I will have to deal with .25 shortly!!!
Mannie..you are just incredible my boy!
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie AMPS 281 +2 240 +4 351 +7 352

gracie...you trying to find binks in his little penthouse apt? i think you both need to work your way back down to the good numbers slow and careful...and if he tries to hold your paw on the way down, dont worry...he just a touchy-feely kinda guy!

celi
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie AMPS 281 +2 240 +4 351 +7 352

Aunt Celi..it was my crazy mama who didn't give me all my juice this morning. I hope she gets it right tonight. And I would always love to hold paws wis Binksie.
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie PMPS 300 Insulin/Shed questions pls

Ok...I worked that syringe until it looked almost identical to the picture for .75u so here's hoping I got it right. I am happy her PMPS was down...I hope it is, in part, to feeding as suggested. The only thing is she is absolutely starving by +10 from AMPS even though we have given her minimeals at +1, +2, +3 and +8. She's ok in the mornings at +10 because we did not feed at night and now I'm giving her a snack at +8 (3:30 am). So today, I gave her a scant tsp of 0% at +10. Any thoughts on that...will that interfere with trying to get her more regulated?

I have two other questions please:
1. Before we got onto the FDMB but anticipating starting insulin, my vet called in a script for Lantus to the pharmacy so, novices that we are, we bought the vial. From what I understand, even with the vial, once it is opened, I have 28 days. So I'm assuming getting the Solostar pens is better? Is Costco the best place to get them? So it would be about the same cost BUT each pen (3 mls) doesn't expire in 28 days unless you open it, right? Can you refill the pens after the first time and is that cheaper? And how do you draw up the insulin from the pen? I would appreciate all the info you can give me on that since we will end up tossing about $50-75 of insulin this month. grr_red grr_red grr_red
2. Shed: we started Gracie at .5 u so she had to fill her shed. So when we upped her to .75 and then 1u, how does that affect the shed...fill it more? Or because the shed was filled at .5, then she is just using all the insulin we put in her? Ok...so we shot 11 cylces at 1u and then decreased to .75u. How does that affect her shed and also her BG? I haven't quite gotten down the technical part of how the storage shed works and what it does to the BG when you change doses.

Thank you..so much to learn. I appreciate the education.
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie PMPS 300 Insulin/Shed questions pls

fwiw marjorie i know many many peeps who use the insulin for longer than 1 month. i think it's ok...you'll notice a drop in efficency which i don't think you can surmise just yet.
some folks have used it for like 3 months with good results...not naming names here.
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie PMPS 300 Insulin/Shed questions pls

Some people use their Lantus for more than 28 days. It's the manufacturer's recommendation that it not be used longer than that. If you read the Tilly Protocol, the members of the German forum have gotten up to 6 mos. I don't know of anyone here who's gotten that duration. I toss Gabby's Lantus after 28 days. She's very sensitive to the age of the insulin. ECID. You can't refill a pen. You use a syringe to draw the insulin. If you look at the photos of the pens, there's a rubber gasket at the top just like with the vial. I'd call around and get prices. Prices vary by region.

When you increase your dose, the shed needs to catch up with the new dose. It's like you have a 1/2 cup of water and need to add another 1/4 cup. It takes a cycle or two for the shed to full up to the new dose. When the dose is reduced, there is extra in the shed. It takes about a cycle for the overage to be used up.
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie PMPS 300 Insulin/Shed questions pls

Thanks, Libby, Lori, and Sienne...I'll just keep track of how long we're using the vial and how the efficiency is then. That will save some $$!.

So....when the dose is reduced and the shed has an overage which has to be used up, then how does that affect the BG AND what is happening to the insulin that you are continuing to shoot into the cat if it can't go into the shed and there is already an overage that has to be used? Is that what results in the higher BG numbers that you might at first see with a dose reduction? Thank you!!
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie PMPS 300 Insulin/Shed questions pls

In my experience, with Moonie, when I lower the dose(even shaves), and there is still insulin in Moonie's shed, the next cycle, usually getting near +2 or +3 and her nadir, she can possibly have lower numbers from the leftover insulin stored there for a short time--..But it passes quickly & the desired effect is gotten.
If others here disagree, then I bow to your esteemed knowledge!!--This IS what happens with Moonie--Please see my SS dated 7/1/10 & 7/2/10!!
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie PMPS 300 Insulin/Shed questions pls

agree marjorie confused_cat very confusing stuff. i would assume that the shed is losing potency whenever you reduce a dose. to see the true result of the dosecreas it would take a cycle or 2. and even as i say that i cannot say it makes 100% sense to me...only that i sort of get it.
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie PMPS 300 Insulin/Shed questions pls

roni you've been practicing this since 2/08,,,i'm thinking YOUR knowledge is pretty esteemed :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie PMPS 300 Insulin/Shed questions pls

When you reduce the dose, there's a surplus in the shed. The cycle where you reduce, you should still monitor carefully because numbers may drop due to the extra that's still in the shed. There's a little too much insulin so BG can be lower than expected. That's also why in most situations you don't take 2 back-to-back reductions -- you're still operating on the surplus that's in the shed.
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie PMPS 300 Insulin/Shed questions pls

Thanks Roni, Lori, and Sienne. Gracie had some nice numbers last night so I don't know if what I'm seeing today is because I got her off kilter with even
a shaved dose...altho theoretically, her numbers today should have been lower. I can't figure that she would have bounced off the numbers she had
last night...they weren't THAT low. So I am puzzled as to why her numbers are so high since the dose reduction with the exception of last night.
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie PMPS 300 Insulin/Shed questions pls

I used my first vial for 3 months with no trouble, and probably could have used it longer. I got a new one only because Muffin's high points were a little higher than I wanted them, and made me wonder if it was petering out. Unfortunately, I started the new vial at the same time she got sick, so I have no idea whether it made a difference or not.
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie PMPS 300 +2 291

Thanks, Anne....I know you have better things to worry about than this so I so appreciate you chiming in and letting me know how long your vial
lasted. Try to get some rest.
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie PMPS 300 +2 291

Hi Marjorie! For what it is worth - I used the vial for some time and could use it effectively for approximately two months. I did switch to the pens. I just got tired of throwing our insulin, which I was doing with the vial - almost half of it. For us, the pens are much more economical.

Looks like Gracie bounced a little... it's OK, she'll come down soon.
 
Re: 10/2 Gracie PMPS 300 +2 291

Thanks Michelle...yeah, I'm surprised on the bounce but she seems to be feeling well. She loves to play hide and seek and she will frequently do
"halloween kitty" when she finds me and then she runs off down the hall....it's so great to see her feeling well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top