10/2 FLUFFY AMPS-404, +5-307, PMPS-82, +5-405

Scarlette & Fluffy

Member Since 2022
10/1 FLUFFY AMPS'357, PM0S- HI

SS UPDATED

Unfortunately, one of the other cats pulled down a small dish of hi-carb dry food and the impact of it hitting the floor caused the lid to fall off. Consequently Fluffy ate itt and it caused his BG to skyrocket to HI last night.

How do I adjust his insulin? HI earns increase. While tonight's PMPS is 82 which earns a decrease

Should I hold the dose at its current units of 2.25?

@Suzanne & Darcy
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Chris & China (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
@Diane Tyler's Mom
 
You have shot his full dose this low before. Technically on SLGS you don't shoot below 90, but he's close. Have you fed yet? You can stall without feeding for 20-30 mins and see if he comes up above 90. Can you get more tests tonight if you shoot?

HI does not mean increase, especially when there was accidental kibble involved. Doses are based on nadir, the lowest BG in the cycle. Given his nadirs, per SLGS you've been holding the dose. But the 83 does mean reduction. So your new dose is 2U.
 
You have shot his full dose this low before. Technically on SLGS you don't shoot below 90, but he's close. Have you fed yet? You can stall without feeding for 20-30 mins and see if he comes up above 90. Can you get more tests tonight if you shoot?

HI does not mean increase, especially when there was accidental kibble involved. Doses are based on nadir, the lowest BG in the cycle. Given his nadirs, per SLGS you've been holding the dose. But the 83 does mean reduction. So your new dose is 2U.
He just ate...i need to shoot now! Gave him 2U.
 
He just ate...i neefvto shoot now!
Then it's your call. Technically you should skip because (1) the SLGS guidelines (2) we don't know if he's going up/down or when the kibble will wear off and (3) if you can't stay up to monitor.

Your other option is to shoot a token dose, somewhere between 25-50% of your normal dose (now 2U). If you choose to do this, I'd still recommend getting another test in about 2 hours; that test would determine if you need to get more tests after.

Either way, your new dose in the morning is 2U.
 
Then it's your call. Technically you should skip because (1) the SLGS guidelines (2) we don't know if he's going up/down or when the kibble will wear off and (3) if you can't stay up to monitor.

Your other option is to shoot a token dose, somewhere between 25-50% of your normal dose (now 2U). If you choose to do this, I'd still recommend getting another test in about 2 hours; that test would determine if you need to get more tests after.

Either way, your new dose in the morning is 2U.
I gave him 2U, will check BG at 10 and 11pm at 1hr, then 2hr..its 9pm.now
 
You really need some mid cycle night tests. Look how he started at amps in red and was green by pmps. Congrats on the reduction. You only have half of the info with only pmps.
 
Back
Top