10/2, Corduroy, AMPS=253. ? ABOUT CAT FOOD

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Good morning all! ~O)

Corduroy's AMPS was 253 this morning, down from yesterday's AMPS, so that is a good thing! Still sticking with the .05. He seems to be feeling pretty darned good; his dad took him on a walk down to the park yesterday! He loves to walk down the streets around our house ;-)

Well, nothing much to report here, which I'm happy about! I hope all your kitties have a great, uneventful day in the green (or at least the blues)...safely!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/2, Corduroy, AMPS=253

Looking good here....it's always wonderful to hear how well a kitty is feeling, and how sweet that he loves his walks with DaddyBean! Have a great day, guys!!
 
Re: 10/2, Corduroy, AMPS=253

Good morning, Brigitte! I love that Corduroy likes to go for walks :-D
Glad he's feeling good! Enjoy your day!
 
Hi Amy & Trixie and Josie & Ripley! Thanks for the morning wishes!

I forgot to ask this of our fellow cat lovers earlier, but wondering if I should be concerned about the mercury content in the FF Savory Salmon? I started feeding that to them upon getting on this forum and learning that it only has 1% carbs. They seem to love it, so I would hate to have to change, but will if it's a problem. Any thoughts on this?
 
I have to admit, I don't know a whole lot about the mercury issues with seafood, but at the same time, I've always heard it's not a great idea to feed seafood all the time for that reason...and I've always heeded that advice.

Hopefully someone with genuinely technical info will come along and answer you shortly!!
 
Hi Amy, in Trixie's profile, I see that you feed her BG 96% Chicken. Is this Merrick's brand? And, if so, where do you buy it? I looked for it at our local Pet Supplies Plus, and although they had the Cowboy Cookout along with a few others, I didn't see the "96%" ones.
 
From Dr. Lisa's catinfo.org
You will notice that many of the higher protein diets are fish-based but it is not a good idea to feed fish to cats. Or, at least not as their main diet. Fish can be high in mercury, high in PBDEs (fire retardant chemicals linked to hyperthyroidism), high in phosphorus (not good for older cats' kidneys) and can be very addicting. It is best to feed poultry-based diets to cats.

Pet quality food tends to be what's left over on the docks that isn't used for human consumption .
There are some higher end pet foods these days, but are they still using the left overs.... like Tiki cat and weruva.

I, myself , probably open a can of some "seafood" variety 2-3 times a week. There are many choices out there that are a poultry/seafood combo.
Mine is really picky and I'd rather have her eat than not eat.
I'm trying to get away from the higher phosphorus myself.
You do what you can.
 
blove7 said:
Hi Amy, in Trixie's profile, I see that you feed her BG 96% Chicken. Is this Merrick's brand? And, if so, where do you buy it? I looked for it at our local Pet Supplies Plus, and although they had the Cowboy Cookout along with a few others, I didn't see the "96%" ones.

I have to look at that..Trix's profile is WAY out of date! They might not make the BG 96% anymore...I remember hearing that Merrick's was changing something, but I can't remember what! I guess she was eating it when I did her profile, but actually, she didn't last long with it - ultimately, she really disliked it! She currently eats Wellness Chicken, and sometimes Wellness Turkey. Like Rhiannon, I also need low phosphorous as well as LC, which greatly limits our choices, although the seafoods all do fall nicely in that category. Trix does like the BFF foods, which offer a mix of poultry and tuna, but I haven't fed it in a while...only because she's been doing so well, number-wise, that I'm afraid to rock the boat by tossing a different food in there. She's very sensitive (BG wise) to food changes.
 
Hi guys .. yay for a lower amps! How funny to hear of kitties that enjoy walking down the streets strutting their stuff ... my cats are so spoiled living inside they'd probably freak out if their paws touched "nature" have a great day guys!
 
Yep, I see that it is discontinued. It seems like Corduroy is sensitive to food changes as well, so this is why I'm apprehensive about changing from FF Savory Salmon, but I understand the mercury thing, so I'll need to do something. The Wellness brands just seem so high in carbs comparatively (4% as opposed to 1% in Savory Salmon) and I'm afraid it will spike his BG levels up.
 
In looking at the chart again, it looks as though the Wellness brands are the lowest in both carbs & phosphorous content. I guess I didn't realize that phosphorous content mattered that much in regards to his kidneys. Thanks for mentioning that Rhiannon!
 
When I switched Trix from FF chicken to Wellness Chicken (because of the phosphorous thing), her BGs went out of whack for a while, and I did actually have to take her dose up to 5.00U to get things back under control. Now, she has settled in at 3.00U, which is still higher than her FF days, but she is very well regulated. Check out her spreadsheet from last APril...you'll see how the food change did affect her. At the same time, though, since we hold the needle AND we test, we can adjust the juice accordingly to get them back into healthy numbers.
 
Most fish flavors of any brand is lower in carbs than poultry flavors. I don't feed fish at all. In addition to all of the info from Dr. Lisa, the higher mineral content can contribute to the development of urinary track crystals. You might try a 4% food and see how much of an effect it has on Corduroy's numbers. Given that LC is less than 10%, 4% is still very low carb.

If you decide to experiment, give it a week or two. Some cats need time to adjust to any food changes.
 
I used to think mercury was the big reason behind "restrict seafood" but someone here explained it was primarily the phosphorus that was the problem. If nobody has mentioned it yet, I think on Dr. Lisa's site, there a food chart sorted by phosphorus content that makes it easy to see the "low" flavors.

Even if you need to feed a food that is higher in carbs, there's nothing wrong with 4%-5%. It's still low-carb. It might actually help you out and allow you to shoot doses that are easier to measure.
 
Carl & Bob said:
If nobody has mentioned it yet, I think on Dr. Lisa's site, there a food chart sorted by phosphorus content that makes it easy to see the "low" flavors.

I'm not sure if this is still the case, but a few months ago, the phosphorous chart was out of date. I had noticed a discrepency between values in the phosphorous chart VS the other chart, so I e-mailed Dr Lisa. She said the other chart is more current, because (understandably) it is challenging to keep up with all the changing data with the two charts. Like I said, this was a few months ago, so maybe that has changed, but it is something to keep in mind!
 
Thank you Amy, I wasn't aware of that. I'd thought she had posted them both at the same time when she updated the carb info last year.
 
I think she did post them both at the same time, but then some of the data changed again. I had noticed the difference with the Weruva flavors between the two charts, which is when/why I e-mailed her. That's when she said the phosphorous chart wasn't as current as the other chart. But, like I said, that was a few months ago...they may be back in sync now! Just wanted to put it out there for anyone who tries cross-referencing the two as I did back then.
 
Hi guys!

Just got back home from work. I see that you mentioned there are two charts from Dr. Lisa? I am not aware of any other chart except for this one: http://www.catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf. It says that the data on this one was compiled Sept. 2012. Is this the most current one?

Also, I don't understand the two areas: Calorie % and Dry Matter %.
 
Okay, thanks! I hope this doesn't sound like a stupid question, but which column do I look under for the phosphorous content? If I'm looking at it correctly, it looks as though the Wellness Turkey has 200 milligrams of phosphorous per 100 calories. That seems like a lot! :shock:
 
That's correct on the 200 per 100 calories. And, yes, pretty high. That said, you can see by the chart that it's pretty difficult to find a combination of both low carb and low phosphorus. Even at 200, it is one of the lower in both categories.
 
Hmm, now I'm wondering why everyone doesn't just go with either the Weruva Steak Frites or the Evo 95% Chicken and Turkey. They seem pretty good on both levels, unless they are bad in some other way that I don't know about. :? I learn something new everyday! :smile:
 
some say when looking for foods low in phos you want to initially keep the phos under 250 mg per 100 kcal.
i try to keep phos under 200 mg per 100 kcal. i have a list of low carb - lower phos foods alex will eat found on a tab included with her spreadsheets. it's a short list... not a complete list by any means. i was going in for some surgery and thought if anything happened to me my DH wouldn't know what she should eat... so i wrote it down. :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top