With Lantus, mid-cycle tests are very important when trying to decide if the dose is working, as the preshot numbers don't always give an accurate picture alone of how the cycles are playing out. We dose based on how low the dose is taking the kitty, not preshots.
I appreciate you have some notes where you decided not to take any tests, but with TR before you increase, you need to make sure he isn't going lower, particular at night. You bumped up to 1.5u, on pm cycle of September 28th - but missed getting any evening data for the three days prior. He may have needed the increase, but without that mid-cycle data, it is really hard to say.
Understanding of basic concepts is key in this whole process: concepts of onset (length of time the insulin reaches bloodstream and begins to lower blood glucose), nadir (lowest point in the cycle) and duration (how long does the dose continue to lower BG). We do this by gathering data, so we can make better decisions on dosing for our own kitty, and how our kitty responds to insulin and food.
Nadirs in each cycle can and do move around. They aren't always at +6. I have had cycles on Lantus where Maverick started out in the 300s, and would drop to the 70s early on, like around +4. Then bump back up at next preshot to 300s or 400s. Without getting those mid-cycle tests, I would have thought he wasn't doing anything and increased the dose. Actually there have been times too, where he actually earned a reduction, because the number was below 50. So, my suggestion is to try and fill in some of the missing pieces, maybe try testing at different times, not always at +6 in the a.m. cycle, and please do try and get at least one test before bed each evening. Many kitties like to go lower at night, so even if you can catch at +2 or a +3 in the p.m. cycle, that will help you to determine how the insulin is actually working.
Does this make sense?
Yes, Christie, this is very helpful, and I appreciate the detail. Thank you so much. I'm learning little by little and we are making progress.
We will finally have moved up evening testing time to 9 pm tonight if it goes smoothly. And we're still emotional about all of this. I'm trying to get enough sleep so I can be clear and steady, and monitor Squeaky's emotions too so he doesn't get too discouraged. In the last week, I've elected to avoid PS, then shot, then really fast another BG test right away. Three pricks in a short time. But now we are getting better and better at this so it is going smoother and better.
Christie, Are the daily cycles significantly different from the night cycles in any way? Will knowing one well give us enough information about the other? Or, can I not assume anything other than any cycle can change and I can't really predict anything?
So if I was going to do the best job possible, during the next several days, (trying not to pincushion this little guy who hides hours before he thinks this is coming,) how would you orchestrate this data-gathering expedition exactly? Sorry to be so particular about this, but I can do it better if I understand better.
How about this sequence (knowing that I might not be able to do it perfectly):
Friday night, 9 pm PS. 11 am BG (+2)
Saturday: 8:45 am PS, 11:45 BG (+3); 8:30 PS, 12:30 BG (+4)
Sunday: 8:15 PS, 1:15 BG (+5); 8:00 PS, 2 am BG (+6)
Monday: 8:00 PS, 3 pm BG (+7); 8:00 PS, 4 am BG (+8)
Tuesday: 8:00 PS, 5 pm BG (+9); 8:00 PS, 6 am BG (+10)
Would this be enough data to give us a clear picture now of how things are going with Squeaky? When the lantus kicks in, when the nadir is, and what is the duration? Or how would you structure this differently to get the maximum information in the quickest time? THANK YOU SO MUCH.
Hugs from Jan and Purrs from Squeaky