10/19Powderpost dental387PMPS347+1.5 318+3 355

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy&Powder

Member Since 2010
yesterdays condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27676

I am so sorry I was unable to post today. I tried from work but I had trouble trying to do the condo.Then one of my clients took a turn for the worst so I had to get things lined up for him.
:-x So I just got in and want to let you all know Powder is fine and he didn't need any extractions has gingivitis only :-D He did xrays due to Powder being so thin he was suspecting a serious problem. Great News! All systems visible were normal. No tumors, effusions or enlargement of heart . I'm so relieved. He is thirsty and hungry but doing well and happy to be home.
No Convenia ;-) He's getting Clavamox. Instead will try to pill the little :evil: Maybe if his mouth feels better he might try to eat the pill pockets. If not its supposed to be tasteless and odorless per Dr Lisa so I'll try to mix in food. Last resort vet will give RX for compounding.

I will monitor his BG is due for Lantus around 7:45 according to his usual schedule but I can give earlier if think it is wise.

I was so nervous I'm embarrassed :oops: to admit that I left his D/C info, pills etc and have to go back to get them :lol: Good thing he's in good shape. Will check in soon.
 
Re: 10/19PowderAMPS339 post dental387Home from Dental

Ohh Yaaay on no extractions. *hands clapping* That's such good news, Kathy. Wonderful that Powder got a good checkup report too. :-D
So the Clav is for the gingivitis?
 
Re: 10/19PowderAMPS339 post dental387Home from Dental

Great news!! So glad the xrays came back so good too!! Ya Powder!!

They have liquid Clavamox too ....
It is good to give a probiotic while they are o ABs. So, you would give the ABs and then a few hour later, give the probiotic. I get Fortiflora from Amazon but it might be available at your local pet store. http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss? ... ts&x=0&y=0

Maybe your vet will have some. The probiotic replenishes the friendly bacteria that the ABs wipe out along with the bad. It helps intestinal health and also helps with the diarrhea that sometimes comes with a course of the ABs.
Go easy on the food with him....give a little now and then in an hour, give a little more. If you give too much all at once, he may vomit. SO glad that is behind you now. Good boy Powder!!
 
Re: 10/19PowderAMPS339 post dental387Home from Dental

Kathy Just to let you know that anesthesia can lower BGs after a dental, so-I'm just saying you should monitor Powder a few times tonite--
See what his PMPS is & see if you will shoot the whole dose..You can, but you will need to monitor him this evening-
LOVE the clean bill of health-WHOO HOO!!!! :-D :-D :-D :-D
Now we'll see how the dental & clean toofs will affect his BG, as sometimes it does!! Paws & fingers crossed!
 
Re: 10/19PowderAMPS339 post dental387Home from Dental

how wonderful to hear all went well with Powder's dental and that nothings wrong
 
Re: 10/19PowderAMPS339 post dental387Home from Dental

Ditto what Roni said. Not all cats respond to anesthesia with lower BG. I'm glad you got a test in after the dental. You'll be able to compare it with your PMPS.

Also, depending on how close it is to Powder's dinner and when the dental was done, you may not want to give him all of his dinner all at once. Anesthesia can slow gastric motility as well as make him hungry. He may scarf-n-barf. Just give him his food in several small installments.
 
Re: 10/19PowderAMPS339 post dental387Home from Dental

I did not even realize you were having a dental today for Powder but wonderful all is well with him now lets see those numbers come down soon :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/19PowderAMPS339 post dental387Home from Dental

So glad the dental went well, and your baby is home.
 
Re: 10/19PowderAMPS339 post dental387Home from Dental

Great news on the dental and clear x-rays. Let's see some results now Powder!
 
Re: 10/19Powder post dental387 PMPS347+1.5 318

Glad to hear Powder's dental went well. Those days are always kind of scary. I just don't like anesthesia. Hurray for a clean bill of health :-D
 
Re: 10/19Powder post dental387 PMPS347+1.5 318

Powder and I thank you for all the good wishes and cheers sent his way. Since he didn't get any gas he recovered quickly and is feeling so good he tried to sneak out the door tonight :o He hasn't tried that since spring.:lol: He has eaten really well tonight. Then after his brain challenged mama bean picked up his medicine which I left in the shopping cart ohmygod_smile and he had eaten all his dinner and kept it down for 3 hrs. I had to give the DA DA DA DAAAA Clavamox tab.
You will now know how uninformed I truly am... I didn't know that the pill pockets came in a cat variety I had the dog one :roll: :oops: No wonder Powder wasn't impressed cat(2)_steam You probably know what happened when I opened the package and gave him a piece of one. Yep he satanically said in his deepest voice:GIVE ME MORE NOW So I put that tiny little pill in one and was lowering it to him and he stood on his hind legs' swatted at my hand so I put it down. He grabbed at growling mine yummm mine yummm mine mine yummm yummm yummm while he actually chewed it. ;-) :shock: I'm trying not to look or laugh but the scene was almost disturbing. I brought in a cute cat and came home with the Demon Spawn :lol: Hopefully he doesn't get wise to my deceptive ways ;-)
 
Re: 10/19Powder post dental387 PMPS347+1.5 318

Kathy, great news that the dental went fine, and no problems found on the x-rays! I'm glad you avoided the Convenia. If you can't get the Clav in him, compounding is a great idea. I had Azithromycin compounded for Tinkles, he would open his mouth right up and take the meds willingly....it was so easy!

About the pill pockets...they make an allergy pill pocket for cats, it has no corn syrup in it and it doesn't affect BG. You may find that the ones you have don't have much effect on Powder's BG, the regular ones gave Tinkles a significant spike. Also, don't use a whole pill pocket, just use enough to cover the whole pill. The more you use, the more likely he will chew and bite into the pill.
 
Thanks Laurie one more great hint. Now if someone knows how to get a diabetic cat to gain weight when they have to eat low carbs. That seems impossible since it's recommended for weight loss. I was thinking oil. We used to give oil to our dogs when they needed to gain weight but were eating a lot of food already. I would start with a small amount and gradually increase as he could tolerate. I thought he had gained weight but on there scale he has gained .1 lbs.

So any weight gain tricks are appreciated :smile:
 
Kathy, can you increase the amount of food you are feeding Powder? Does he have a good appetite normally, or do you have to encourage him to eat? My cats are all pretty good eaters, so I haven't had to put weight on any of them....I'm not much help in that department.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top