? 10/19 Mikey AMPS 100, +3 113, +4 90, PMPS 96, dose reduction?

Mikey's numbers have now been in normal range for 6 days! I know the reduction should happen after a week, but I'm wondering if dropping to 0.75 tomorrow morning instead of Monday would be advisable? His pre-shot numbers have been lower the last 3 cycles. Last night I shot under 100 for the first time, and he's around the same tonight. Is this a sign that it's time for a reduction, or better to wait the full 7 days?
 
Actually, his nadirs are under 100 but not his preshots and many tests are over 100. So he wint earn a reduction tomorrow either.
 
It’s more or less the range. You can try a reduction and see if it sticks. I’d go one more day before reducing but it’s up to you.
 
I'm sure you must have been asked this before, so I'm apologizing in advance if you're fed-up of answering, but why are you using a pet meter and not a human one? Not that you shouldn't - I'm curious since the strips are so expensive! :nailbiting:
 
When Mikey was diagnosed my vet had recommended the Libre sensor. I had reservations about that, and did enough research to know I wanted to do home testing instead. I started with looking at meters on Chewy, and when I talked to my vet, she said to get the AT over the other one I was looking at. It was pretty overwhelming right after diagnosis. I just ordered it without really thinking about the cost of test strips and how many I'd be going through. They are ridiculously expensive though! Chewy coupons have helped a bit.
 
Last edited:
You dont want to switch to a human meter? Or are you still going through the strips you've already bought?

Walmart's Relion is only $9 and the strips are $18 for 100 or so.
 
You dont want to switch to a human meter? Or are you still going through the strips you've already bought?

Walmart's Relion is only $9 and the strips are $18 for 100 or so.
I might switch. I just started a new test strip vial. I did a test with the test strip solution (not sure if the human meters have this also?) and it came out one number higher than the range on the vial. So, I'm not sure if the meter is just testing high now. I'm going to call their customer service.. maybe they'll just send me a new vial.
 
Back
Top