10/19 Lulu AMPS 338, +3 252, +8.5 140, PMPS 171, +2 247, +3 369

PorkChop

Member Since 2020
Yesterday
Little one Lulu twisted and turned during the AMPS test, insulin administered at +0.4. Reduced dose to 2.5, first time syringe user, much easier than pen shot. Such a good girl putting up with all my poking around. Will retest at +3.
 
Last edited:
I'm not sure what time you gave the insulin? What is +0.4? Sorry, but I'm not able to figure that out...LOL!

Maybe it's just me?

I'm glad you found the syringe easier to use than the pen - I've never used the pen - always extracting the 1 unit from the sponge end of the pens for Luci.

I'm sorry to hear about the struggling...but she'll settle down over time. Luci was a real pistol when we first started...took two of us to hold on to her. DH would hold her and I'd do the testing and shooting...after a couple of months, Luci would come and jump up onto the counter and wait for me on the testing towel! It was so funny to see how much she had changed! Luci was always about the food! She's always gotten a little snack or a freeze dried treat after every test...we test a lot as you can see from our SS.

Just try to relax, take a deep breath and tell her she's doing great...pet her up and always give her a treat (whether you're successful or not)... :)

Have a great evening!
 
I'm not sure what time you gave the insulin? What is +0.4? Sorry, but I'm not able to figure that out...LOL!

Maybe it's just me?

I'm glad you found the syringe easier to use than the pen - I've never used the pen - always extracting the 1 unit from the sponge end of the pens for Luci.

I'm sorry to hear about the struggling...but she'll settle down over time. Luci was a real pistol when we first started...took two of us to hold on to her. DH would hold her and I'd do the testing and shooting...after a couple of months, Luci would come and jump up onto the counter and wait for me on the testing towel! It was so funny to see how much she had changed! Luci was always about the food! She's always gotten a little snack or a freeze dried treat after every test...we test a lot as you can see from our SS.

Just try to relax, take a deep breath and tell her she's doing great...pet her up and always give her a treat (whether you're successful or not)... :)

Have a great evening!

Thanks for the great advice. Its been a steep learning curve for the both of us. Just taking it 1 day at a time. Still trying to work out all the +'s. I was hoping +0.4 would translate I to 25min late lol
Thanks again
 
Ah, I see! Thank you! I added a couple of extra columns to my SS - helps me so much because when the time changes I need to plan when I'm shooting, based on which direction I'm going in; sometimes I have to change the shot time due to family obligations, being late or early for various reasons...you know, just life in general. I try to stick to the schedule and am successful most of the time, but then when we travel everything goes out the window as far as our tight schedule...so it just helps me remember when I shot last night and then when I can safely shoot the next morning.

You might find that helpful to you and to others since you can just write the time of day that you shot - lots of times there are delays due to the 'hold/no food/test again routine...that happens too...:rolleyes:

I know how hard it is to get that testing/shooting thing down...believe me, we really struggled. Luci's vet told us it would be best to euthanize her since she was so difficult - thankfully I was determined to save her life - regardless of the struggles. I didn't think she deserved to die just because of her diagnosis of diabetes. She's enjoyed plenty of great times since that dark day - and we're happy to have her with us...and she's so used to the routine of testing, she comes when we whistle for her. Just wait, it'll get better. I've heard of some kitties coming when the beans just open up the testing supplies! They hear the rattling of the supplies and here they come!

Just get a routine place, set up the same things, make the same sounds, go to the same place - every time - and soon Lulu will be right there with you.

Have a lovely evening :)
 
Back
Top