10/19 Jerry AMPS 381 +2 423 +4 381 +6 412 PMPS 385 +2 290 +4 203 +5 193

Jerry dutchboy

Member Since 2019
previously

We're back... sorry for no postings the last couple of days we were offline.

Anyway no good news from us, Jerry is still running high. I use to actually like the colors pink and red but I'm starting to hate them now..;) Don't want to sound flippant but if I don't, I think I'll just melt into a puddle of tears and lose it!

I have an appointment with the vet for Monday (it was the earliest appointment they had) and we'll see if they can determine what could be going on with him. He seems ok, looking for attention, eating and drinking well LB ok and he's even playing..

Hope everyone is having a more productive day and Jerry and I. Stay safe my little furry friends.:cool:
 
Last edited:
:bighug::bighug: I understand so much how you feel Deirdre! Don't get discouraged, things will get better! At least Jerry feels OK and is playing, that's a good sign! Sometimes it doesn't take much for the numbers to climb, maybe just a little infection; you'll see with the vet Monday!
Sending you tons of positive vines! :bighug::bighug:
:bighug::bighug::bighug: lets hope so. As always Lyane your encouraging words mean a lot.
 
So sorry you're going through this Deirdre, it's so unlike Jerry. But like Lyane said, it could be just a little infection that's sent him off track. It sounds like he's feeling good though so hopefully the vet can get this figured out and fixed for you soon. Sending you lot's of hugs and sending healing vines for whatever is bugging Jerry. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So sorry you're going through this Deirdre, it's so unlike Jerry. But like Lyane said, it could be just a little infection that's sent him off track. It sounds like he's feeling good though so hopefully the vet can get this figured out and fixed for you soon. Sending you lot's of hugs and sending healing vines for whatever is bugging Jerry. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you so much Sonia. I've become a big Debbie downer these days... and for that I'm sorry.
I'll take all the healing vines I can get, I'm just hoping its an infection, dental etc. It's so hard when his numbers were in the blues/greens for quite a long time and then WHAM...:bighug:
 
Hang in there! Don’t get discouraged. I had the same thing happen once with Bubba; he was going down the dosing ladder and right when I thought he was heading for OTJ, Bam! I had to start increasing him up and up for awhile before I could get him back down again.

Jerry is still on a low dose of insulin . But, I’m glad you’ll have him checked out. Maybe he needs a good cleaning and /or has a bad tooth.
 
Hang in there! Don’t get discouraged. I had the same thing happen once with Bubba; he was going down the dosing ladder and right when I thought he was heading for OTJ, Bam! I had to start increasing him up and up for awhile before I could get him back down again.

Jerry is still on a low dose of insulin . But, I’m glad you’ll have him checked out. Maybe he needs a good cleaning and /or has a bad tooth.
Thanks Bonnie, love to hear others experiences. It gives me comfort. I tend to forget he's still on a low dose, but I think I'm looking at an increase soon. I know others on here are probably shaking their heads at my reaction as they are on such high doses and asking themselves WTH is wrong with this woman, but the unknown is not a great place to be. :bighug:
 
Sorry that Jerry's numbers are still high. Are you still feeding the higher carb foods? Do you see a correlation with when you started the higher carbs and his BG numbers rising? Just a thought, I hope it gets resolved soon :bighug:
OH NOOO Debra I'm back to 3% FF until I find out what is going on with him. He is carb sensitive so 5% would be adding insult to injury. Experiment is cancelled.:bighug:
 
It’s been more than six cycles since his last green. Time to increase to 1u.

Even if he came down “some” last night, he needs an increase. It’s hard to see these numbers, I completely empathize. Like Bobbie said, we just keep going up until we hit a breakthrough dose.

Wise words from Jill to me when I was dealing with a similar issue, “don’t get attached to a dose”. I know you don’t and you understand he needs what he needs. But taking him to the vet will, I hope, help us figure out why he needs more suddenly.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I agree 100% with @Marje and Gracie on the 'don't get attached to a dose'...so often people look back at better times on a smaller dose and are completely certain that - that was 'the dose'...and now are perplexed that the dose that worked so perfectly before, well, it just doesn't work anymore. What could the problem be?:eek: Well, unfortunately we know that our kids don't have that great working pancreatic/liver system to handle those sugars anymore...so I'm going to be completely optimistic...so how about trying an increase...just to see if you can help him to see some better numbers? IF the vet finds a bad tooth or some other infection...well then you will at least have increased his dose - possibly to a therapeutic level - enough to help him find some lower numbers - and once the infection or whatever is going on is diagnosed and he is treated - and hopefully greener days ahead :D:D

I really hope he just needs an increase...sending you lots of support vines and healing vines for Jerry...try not to get discouraged! That's what we're all here for...a shoulder to cry on :) Hang in there and have a pleasant evening!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I agree 100% with @Marje and Gracie on the 'don't get attached to a dose'...so often people look back at better times on a smaller dose and are completely certain that - that was 'the dose'...and now are perplexed that the dose that worked so perfectly before, well, it just doesn't work anymore. What could the problem be?:eek: Well, unfortunately we know that our kids don't have that great working pancreatic/liver system to handle those sugars anymore...so I'm going to be completely optimistic...so how about trying an increase...just to see if you can help him to see some better numbers? IF the vet finds a bad tooth or some other infection...well then you will at least have increased his dose - possibly to a therapeutic level - enough to help him find some lower numbers - and once the infection or whatever is going on is diagnosed and he is treated - and hopefully greener days ahead :D:D

I really hope he just needs an increase...sending you lots of support vines and healing vines for Jerry...try not to get discouraged! That's what we're all here for...a shoulder to cry on :) Hang in there and have a pleasant evening!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you so much. I will increase this evening and hopefully we'll see some movement. With the pep talks I've gotten today I'm taking a deep breath and ready to do whatever it takes to get him back to those healing numbers.

:bighug::bighug:
 
I'm glad Jerry is being playful. I know it's frustrating, but remember he is more than his numbers. I hope the increase helps and the vet can give you some answers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hang in there! Don’t get discouraged. I had the same thing happen once with Bubba; he was going down the dosing ladder and right when I thought he was heading for OTJ, Bam! I had to start increasing him up and up for awhile before I could get him back down again.

Jerry is still on a low dose of insulin . But, I’m glad you’ll have him checked out. Maybe he needs a good cleaning and /or has a bad tooth.
And he’s already been on this dose 7 days minus one cycle. I agree with you that with the testing she gets, we aren’t going to get any more data that would change the fact that he needs 1u.

Deirdre is experienced enough and we just don’t need him to stay at these high numbers just to make it an even 7 days ;)
 

I am so incredibly grateful to you all for your wonderful words of encouragement, sharing of your experiences and advice. It has made a world of difference and helped me get things back into perspective. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Thank you!


I did increase his dose to 1.00 IU this PM and we have a couple of YELLOWS. I know he will probably bounce but I'm so happy to see some movement again... at +5 he's 193 and into the blue. :woot:
 
Last edited:
Back
Top