10/19 Jean Luc AMPS 298/366 PMPS 360 +3.5 251

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Member Since 2012
Jean Luc Previous

Hello All LL -

It has been a little while since I posted. Life moving too fast over the last week. Jean Luc is maintainoing his normal quirky behavior.

Purring - Yes. Enjoying his night time loving session in our bed. Love it when he cuddles close and I can put my ear to his side and hear the vibrating purrs.
Playing - Still not so much. He did follow the string with the freeze dried chicken on the end for about 5 minutes a couple of nights ago
Peeing - Consistently in LB.
Pooping - it's been kind-of firm; starting giving him miralax again this morning; he also seems to prefer the area in front of the porch doors rather than LB. He's done that for years. Not new behavior. Annoying as ever and stinky tooooo.
Preening - oh yes...

I raised his dose again this morning. He didn't keep those pretty green / blue numbers for long. I'm not sure what is going on with him on that prespective. His appetite is good. He doesn't seem like he feels bad. He just sleeps alot during the day and at night likes to hang-out on our enclosed back porch enjoying the fall temperatures and night sounds. When I got home yesterday afternoon, he was very happily sitting on a table in the porch digging his nose in a pot of dirt. I think he was completely engrossed in what the pot held. He got startled when I mildly asked him "What are you doing with that dirt? Interesting things in there?"

Feedback on his spreadsheet is appreciated.
 
Re: 10/19 Jean Luc AMPS 298/366 +6 370 +9 443 -- Eyes ?

hi shannan. i took a quick look at jean luc's spreadsheet and there appears to be a missed reduction after saturday's (10/13) dip into the 40s.
too much insulin is known to cause high numbers just as not enough insulin can. if i were in your shoes, i would go back to 0.75u tonight and carefully watch for another drop into low numbers and then take the appropriate reduction.


just my thoughts...



edited to add after taking another look:
since 1u appears to be too much and 0.75u appears to be not quite enough, you might want to try dosing somewhere in-between. although, it's *possible* jean luc saw green on wednesday (10/17) night.
 
Re: 10/19 Jean Luc AMPS 298/366 +6 370 +9 443 -- Eyes ?

How do you suggest I do that? I have the 1/2 unit marked needles and right now am giving in the middle, between the .5 and 1. JL is being tricky, tricky. A little ghoul in my house confused_cat
 
Re: 10/19 Jean Luc AMPS 298/366 +6 370 +9 443 -- Eyes ?

whenever alex is at a hard to measure dose i try to relate the dose to the closest line on the syringe. in this case it would be the 1u line. i would call the dose a skinny 1unit since i'd be looking for slightly less than 1 unit.

i usually overdraw the dose, remove the syringe from the insulin, and then "dial in" the dose i want... expelling the "extra" insulin until the plunger is less than a hair past the 1u line (closest to the needle end). the idea is to try (as much as humanly possible) to duplicate the same dose every day. it's not easy, but it'll become easier with practice.

some people are very successful counting drops or using calipers (which i don't have).

just do the best you can. we've all been there. i detest those in-between doses and am thrilled when i can dose on a line!
 
Re: 10/19 Jean Luc AMPS 298/366 PMPS 360

PMPS 360. Attempted to give little less than 1U. Black marked aligned at very tip top of unit 1. My 1u is usually in the center of the thick black unit mark.
 
Re: 10/19 Jean Luc AMPS 298/366 PMPS 360

The microdosing can be challenging. Like Jill, I use the marked lines on the syringe as my reference point an try to make sure I've got a "picture" of the dose firmly implanted in my head.
 
Re: 10/19 Jean Luc AMPS 298/366 PMPS 360

Oh dear i do not envy you on the microdosing, luckily i have a big gulper! I hope JL comes down into some nice greens for you tonight.

Have a great evening Shannan and Jean Luc.
 
+3.5 251
Home from nice dinner with DH and I have yellow along with a very snuggly kitty!! JL just jumped in my chair and is getting cozy. It is a good night. He usually prefers DH. Thank you for all the feedback.
 
Oh, I LOVE ear-to-belly purrs! My Molly does that - she purrs even at the vet!

The microdosing is a bit of a pain. I am using 1 unit marked syringes because I haven't found 1/2 ones that I like yet. I count drops, but I also eyeball like Jill and Sienne mentioned. Between the two of them, I think I am reasonably close. But the calipers are in the mail and I want to try them. Good luck with that - the drop counting takes some practice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top