Briere Fur Mom
Member Since 2019
10-18 (Yesterday). Good morning. Ittle and me had an interesting night last night. We shall see what today holds for him. I'm pretty sure I didn't follow the dosing method for Ittle. He should have gotten a reduced dose, last night and this morning, having a lower than normal AMPS/PMPS. I hope I don't get criticized too much
Moey is the same ole' same ole' sassy pants. He'll get his dosecrease tomorrow. Would be nice to have him back at the beach and lagoon.
I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!
I feel like such an idiot!
There was a post on the Lantus forum regarding Dr. Elsey's canned formula's carb. content. I went ahead and bought several different formulas based on, what I thought, was different ranges of carbs. I thought I had the HC covered with the beef formula at 15%. Well come to find out that is the dry matter analysis, not as fed. The as fed carb count of the beef formula is 3.77%. Last night I was trying to steer Ittle's curve with food. LOL and thank god everything ended well but, I was using the beef for HC! No wonder there was no affect on Ittle's #s. I finally broke out the friskies salmon with extra gravy at +2.5 today. Gave him 1 tsp...boom he gained 12 points in 1/2 hour. I def have more homework to do re: Dr. Elsey's different canned formulas. I've emailed the company asking for as fed carb. #'s.
I wish I could feed friskies. All of my cats developed yeast infections in their ears when fed friskies. I treated them all with an ear medication containing steroids. 1 month later...Ittle became diabetic! Go figure.
**Update**
Moey AMPS +8=231 PMPS=249
Moey is the same ole' same ole' sassy pants. He'll get his dosecrease tomorrow. Would be nice to have him back at the beach and lagoon.
I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!
I feel like such an idiot!
There was a post on the Lantus forum regarding Dr. Elsey's canned formula's carb. content. I went ahead and bought several different formulas based on, what I thought, was different ranges of carbs. I thought I had the HC covered with the beef formula at 15%. Well come to find out that is the dry matter analysis, not as fed. The as fed carb count of the beef formula is 3.77%. Last night I was trying to steer Ittle's curve with food. LOL and thank god everything ended well but, I was using the beef for HC! No wonder there was no affect on Ittle's #s. I finally broke out the friskies salmon with extra gravy at +2.5 today. Gave him 1 tsp...boom he gained 12 points in 1/2 hour. I def have more homework to do re: Dr. Elsey's different canned formulas. I've emailed the company asking for as fed carb. #'s.I wish I could feed friskies. All of my cats developed yeast infections in their ears when fed friskies. I treated them all with an ear medication containing steroids. 1 month later...Ittle became diabetic! Go figure.
**Update**
Moey AMPS +8=231 PMPS=249
Last edited:

I could have steered his #'s beautifully, to fit the SLGS. Fortunately, I have the friskies, just in case I need to guide him a bit this evening. The friskies will be a temporary solution until I find something else.