10-19 Ittle AMPS=124 +2=82 +3=83 +4=90 +6=126 +8=159 +10=163 PMPS=129/Moey AMPS=291 +3=217 +6=167

Briere Fur Mom

Member Since 2019
10-18 (Yesterday). Good morning. Ittle and me had an interesting night last night. We shall see what today holds for him. I'm pretty sure I didn't follow the dosing method for Ittle. He should have gotten a reduced dose, last night and this morning, having a lower than normal AMPS/PMPS. I hope I don't get criticized too much:(
Moey is the same ole' same ole' sassy pants. He'll get his dosecrease tomorrow. Would be nice to have him back at the beach and lagoon.
I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

I feel like such an idiot!:facepalm: There was a post on the Lantus forum regarding Dr. Elsey's canned formula's carb. content. I went ahead and bought several different formulas based on, what I thought, was different ranges of carbs. I thought I had the HC covered with the beef formula at 15%. Well come to find out that is the dry matter analysis, not as fed. The as fed carb count of the beef formula is 3.77%. Last night I was trying to steer Ittle's curve with food. LOL and thank god everything ended well but, I was using the beef for HC! No wonder there was no affect on Ittle's #s. I finally broke out the friskies salmon with extra gravy at +2.5 today. Gave him 1 tsp...boom he gained 12 points in 1/2 hour. I def have more homework to do re: Dr. Elsey's different canned formulas. I've emailed the company asking for as fed carb. #'s.
I wish I could feed friskies. All of my cats developed yeast infections in their ears when fed friskies. I treated them all with an ear medication containing steroids. 1 month later...Ittle became diabetic! Go figure.:(

**Update**
Moey AMPS +8=231 PMPS=249
 
Last edited:
Ittle sure looks great! Looks like you had a bit of a PJ party! :D
Good luck with Moey's dosecrease! Who's who in your picture?
Glad everything turned out well with the LC that you thought was HC, don't beat yourself up about it. :p With so many different flavors and carb contents it's hard to remember what's what. I use a black felt pen to mark the MC and HC cans in case I need them.
Have a great weekend Briere! :bighug:
 
Ittle sure looks great! Looks like you had a bit of a PJ party! :D
Good luck with Moey's dosecrease! Who's who in your picture?
Glad everything turned out well with the LC that you thought was HC, don't beat yourself up about it. :p With so many different flavors and carb contents it's hard to remember what's what. I use a black felt pen to mark the MC and HC cans in case I need them.
Have a great weekend Briere! :bighug:
Ittle is the fiery red head and Moey is the dark and handsome:) Thanks for your kind words Sonia!:bighug:
I've emailed Dr. Elsey's. They are currently batch testing each formula with an independent lab. Once they have the as fed results I'll be able to mark the different formulas properly:cool:. Thank goodness for the friskies with extra savory gravy that I have left. I probably would have never figured out I was using LC:eek: instead of HC!
I hope you and Leo have a relaxing and pleasant weekend!:)
 
Oh Briere...I think that run in the lagoon last night that Ittle had is just beautiful! What perfect numbers...well, okay a little borderlinish for SLGS...but then I love those greens...and the timing was not so great...but personally I think you did great!

Are you not able to feed any Fancy Feast gravy styles to those kids?

Bummer about the yeast infections...and those darn steroids! I know the vets know the risk and that's the first thing they want to pull out...a darn steroid...have you looked into any homeopathic remedies for yeast? I know it's an itchy business...but just wondered if there was something safer than those steroids...not a fan of steroids myself...

Hope Moey gets busy too...

I'm still taking my hat off to you - for managing two babies at once! Cheers!!:bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Briere...I think that run in the lagoon last night that Ittle had is just beautiful! What perfect numbers...well, okay a little borderlinish for SLGS...but then I love those greens...and the timing was not so great...but personally I think you did great!
Thank you Sue. Ittle is trying to show us something. I'm glad I waited on the increase. He's just a late bloomer and does things at his own pace. Those red-heads! I agree the numbers are a bit low for SLGS. However, it's about where I wanted him to end up. I hope no one gets upset that I didn't decrease his dose. With the proper food:banghead: I could have steered his #'s beautifully, to fit the SLGS. Fortunately, I have the friskies, just in case I need to guide him a bit this evening. The friskies will be a temporary solution until I find something else.
Are you not able to feed any Fancy Feast gravy styles to those kids?
I'm not sure. I have fed it to them in the past, around the same time frame as the friskies. I would need to do a "food trial" on one of our civvies to see how it affects their little earballs!
have you looked into any homeopathic remedies for yeast
I have not. I need to google it. There's probably a ton of info on it.
Moey will get the hang of this dance. He just needs to practice a little harder:p And if my boys weren't purrfect gentlecats this would be a much harder task. They make it easy except for predicting their cycles!:)
Have a great evening Sue and Luci!
 
Back
Top