10/19 Gandolf PMPS 340

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmk77

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27684
WCR: All P's Present

Good Morning Everybody, ~O) ~O)

Hit one pink yesterday: 301 at PMPS. We didn't stay there long. It seems to me this is a good dose (2.25)to stay at while I'm gone. We'll see if Gandolf surfs the yellows today. He's doing very well with evening & early a.m. feedings. Not bugging me at night though he sleeps with me. Appears he does not need food every 2-3 hours. More like every 3-4hrs. Which is very convenient and still makes about5- 6 meals in 24 hours, plus a treat or two. Do I see a rhythm setting in?

I hate to impose on anyone, but if my DD should need guidance or face an issue with Gandolf while I am away is there anyone who wouldn't mind letting her call for advice directly if she just didn't know what to do? Of course, she and I will be in touch, but I'd sure rather her have access to a "real" FD coach then me if she needed serious help or needed to act. She'll have the vet's number, but they have no idea what I'm doing - haven't communicated with them yet, planning to. I'm certainly not expecting anything and thinking he may surf very nicely in yellow and blue land for the next few days, which would be just great for getting ready to take him lower when I get back. Now that's how I would like it all to work out...but then there's kitty logic...

Wishing our LL buddies a beautiful day, and for healing of hearts in the land.

See ya later,
Cee & Gandolf cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/19 Gandolf 261 DD??

So glad to see you guys didn't stay in the pink zone for very long, you barely put a paw in it! This mid yellow is a nice place to start the day out at ... I would offer my advice to your DD but I think she is in much better hands with more knowledgeable people on this board then me! I'm sure someone will offer to be there for her .... have a great day guys!!
 
Re: 10/19 Gandolf 261 +1 260 DD??

It is helpful to write everything down for your DD...I did that recently for my pet sitter.
I wrote HC on top of those cans with markers so they wouldn't be confused with the LC cans.
I wrote down the dose and what number was the NO Shoot number.
the BG number that I wanted her to give the HC for...
the vet number on that page too just in case..
All that is good to have on paper....

ETA: tell her to that if she gets a weird number or a low one, to recheck to confirm it, okay? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/19 Gandolf 261 +1 260 DD??

Cee, do you think DD would be comfortable posting here if she needs help while you are away? The reason I ask is that the way we try to do things here is to keep advice posted on the board, so that more eyes can see what is going on offer suggestions, or suggest something that another person didn't think of....it ensures the best possible guidance. It isn't that no one would like to talk to your DD and offer input, it's just better to have MORE input than just one person. She can have the whole board for input!

Also, someone is almost always on the board no matter what time of day or night....one person may not be available all the time.
 
Re: 10/19 Gandolf 261 +1 260 DD??

Can you either give her access to your FDMB password or can she set up an account for Gandolf? Will she have a computer she can use?

Generally, we try to not do any advice giving off the Board. The benefit of having all of the exchanges in this format means that if someone has a differing point of view, you get to hear (see?) the big picture rather than just one person's opinion. There is such a range of experience here that something one person may overlook, may be a red flag to someone else.
 
Re: 10/19 Gandolf 261 +1 260 DD??

When I leave instructions for our pet sitter I put the food for KB on the counter with the notes and meds. Any other food is clearly marked on the top and the sides with a sharpie so you can quickly see the carb count in case I have to direct her to something else.

Can you print a copy of the SS? If you have it open in a windows internet browser of some time, there is a File menu just under where the large Google heading is. Choose File/print and print a few more times in the various windows until it asks if you want to save the file. It will save it in a PDF format and you can open it and print it - it's a little small but preserves everything when you do it that way.

I also leave a copy of the hypo-kit instructions that I got from the main Health page - I'm sure they're posted on FDMB in stickies several places.

It sounds like you'll be leaving him in a very safe pattern, though, so I hope you can relax and enjoy your time away.
 
Re: 10/19 Gandolf 261 +1 260 DD??

I should add that I don't think my pet sitter looks at the SS. I print it out and leave a fresh copy in case she needs to take him to a vet for some reason. Yeah, I may seem a bit over-prepared, but I've improved - I used to also drop a copy of the SS off at the vet if we were going to be away more than an overnight. : )
 
Re: 10/19 Gandolf PMPS 340 +3 300

Good Evening All,

Gotta keep this short and sweet. Don't get it about his numbers. He hit that mid pink. If I were not leaving for the next four days I think we'd do a docrease to 2.50. But will now wait till I get back. We'll just trust everything will go smooth.

My fridge is covered with printed information. I've set up a BG/WCR easy record keeping journal and have left all the info I can think of or that's been suggested - (thanks everyone for your feedback)
I certainly understand and agree with all your posting policies. They make wonderful sense to me.
I've left the info for posting for DD but I have no idea as to whether she will do so or not. That's something I do. But the info's here. So if she drops in I know she'll get excellent help. So I'll just leave it at that. I can tell I'm a little apprehensive. OK. I am taking a computer with me and I may (long stretch) have a chance to post what I hear from DD, then again I may not. This is not a vacation, its business. 9 - 9 kind of thing.

This event has been in the oven long before my sugar kitty's dx. New factor. Such is life. See you when I get back. A heartfelt thank you for everything. Good night. And I'll update when I get back.

Cee & Gandolf cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top