10/19 Chanel PMPS 473

Laura & Chanel

Member Since 2019
Sorry, it was a long time and many bad things happened....covid...deaths due to covid etc.
Chanel got diagnosed with kidney stones (struvites) and asthma. The vet is also suspecting she is on the cusp of getting hyperthyroidism (her T4 is high, the TSH is still low for now but we will keep testing).
The vet gave us the Hill's c/d food to dissolve the stones and although Chanel loves the food, her glucose level is already 473 and I was forced to increase her dose to 1.75 U to keep up.
Anybody has had similar issues with their furbabies? I would like for her kidney stones to disappear, of course, but not killing her liver and pancreas on the other hand.
Is it possible to be able to do so with some diabetic-friendly food or medication?
Also, could you please tell me what would be some guiding principles for a kidney-friendly diet? I know the magnesium, phosphorus, and calcium should be low...but what would be a healthy range?
Also, any advice to get her urine pH back to normal? Her urine pH is now 8.5.

Sorry to be so short, my husband is sick too.
Not to be melodramatic, but I lost 10 pounds in a week between them two. Not the ideal diet, unfortunately.

Thank you very much.
 
Max was on way too long. Any wet low carb food should be just fine. It was for him. I'm sorry things are tough right now and hope all settles down very soon. :bighug:
 
Max was on way too long. Any wet low carb food should be just fine. It was for him. I'm sorry things are tough right now and hope all settles down very soon. :bighug:
Oh, thank you so much. Chanel is on wet food diet for years now. It is heartbreaking to see her not even able to raise her head, just looking at me with sadness.
 
CD is pretty high in carbs. I would try a wet low carb pate and add plenty of water.
It is FREAKING HUGE in carbs. On their website it says 29.6% in dry matter. This is a far cry from previous Fancy Feast diet that was between 1 and 5%. The vet insists on dissolving the stones. I understand her concern with the renal blockage, but my mind is not in a good place. She said that for now the best choice is to get the insulin dose up and dissolve the stones, then go with a diet more urinary care friendly.
She wants the best for Chanel, but it breaks my heart to see my furbaby suffering.
Still, I am out of the trust circle. Chanel refused the old food and she wanted the high carb pate, not much though. I trust her when it comes to food choices, Chanel usually avoids high carbs probably because she is not feeling well afterwards. Still, now she preferred to nibble on that Hill's food instead of her all-time preferred Fancy Feast Purely.
Is it even possible that the kidneys are maybe not in so much pain and she relates that to the new food? Checking her urine with a reagent pH strip (sorry, no pet pH strips in the house), the strip shows pH 6. It is hard to believe she can go down from 8.5 to 6 in 2 days, Chanel is not a miracle kitty.
 
I had a civvie diagnosed with urinary issues a week after Neko was diagnosed for diabetes. Vet put the civvie on C/D. Neko kept trying to steal it. :rolleyes: I got tired of being the food police and asked the vet what I could feed instead. She said a raw food diet. Turns out, actually any low carb food, ideally with low phosphorus is a good choice. https://catinfo.org/feline-urinary-tract-diseases/ Make sure you add lots of water to flush the crystals out. And perhaps help lower than PH. As it turns out, the lower phosphorus is a good idea if you are getting higher kidney numbers too. If you look up the CKD/Diabetes option in this set of tables, it'll give you some choices. Best of luck.
 
I had a civvie diagnosed with urinary issues a week after Neko was diagnosed for diabetes. Vet put the civvie on C/D. Neko kept trying to steal it. :rolleyes: I got tired of being the food police and asked the vet what I could feed instead. She said a raw food diet. Turns out, actually any low carb food, ideally with low phosphorus is a good choice. https://catinfo.org/feline-urinary-tract-diseases/ Make sure you add lots of water to flush the crystals out. And perhaps help lower than PH. As it turns out, the lower phosphorus is a good idea if you are getting higher kidney numbers too. If you look up the CKD/Diabetes option in this set of tables, it'll give you some choices. Best of luck.

Hi Wendy, thank you very much for the advice (the food police thing made me imagine you positioned strategically to see Neko approaching the Hill's food). Chanel does not like raw food diet, I tried before and had to throw out everything I bought because she wanted nothing of it. I will get the phosphorus numbers from the article, thank you so much.
Chanel was on low carb diet for the past 3 years, like 1-5% carb, with protein and fat percentages close to each other. She ate mainly Fancy Feast Purely Chicken & Beef because she likes the soupy thing and at times some Wellness Core pouches like Turkey & Chicken. I did not think those were high in phosphorus, but definitely rechecking. With the food usually she would have the Purina Chicken Broth pouches and the results did not show she is dehydrated. Her phosphorus was 5.1 (range 2.9-6.3).
The only thing that truly bothers me is that she had lots and tons of UTIs, like every other month. I ordered some D-mannose and some cranberry chews, some catwater and hopefully they will be here tomorrow.
I checked her urine with a reagent pH strip (sorry, that is the only thing I have now) and it showed pH 6. I am guessing we may need to go a little lower in the pH to help her. Would the cranberry chews help?
How much water she would need to have a day? She was never a water drinker and I was thinking to give her like 2-3 ml every hour for 10 hours (by syringe). On the other hand, I do not want to give her too much and get the kidneys to work extensively.
 
Back
Top