10/19 Blaze amps 433, +3 424, +6 450, PMPS 277, +2 290, +3.5 345

Sarah and Blaze

Member Since 2019
Happy Saturday everyone :)

Blaze is back up in the reds this morning :oops:

I’m really starting to think about a TR trial because SLGS doesn’t seem to be working for Blaze, he spends most of his time in high numbers:mad:

TR seems much harder though, it’s a little confusing to me. But I just feel like with all these numbers, maybe we need to try something else. I don’t know.
 
Last edited:
Blaze is due for a dose increase on Tuesday, unless he drops lower soon. If not, I may try a TR trial starting Tuesday when he’s due for the dose increase.
 
It's not any harder. You increase after 6 cycles on a dose. Besides preshot, get at minimum 1 test mid cycle each cycle, one before you go to bed is a good one. Which you seem to be doing now. That's 4 tests a day, I'm a testaholic. Depending on mid cycle test is whether I get more pokes in.
 
It's not any harder. You increase after 6 cycles on a dose. Besides preshot, get at minimum 1 test mid cycle each cycle, one before you go to bed is a good one. Which you seem to be doing now. That's 4 tests a day, I'm a testaholic. Depending on mid cycle test is whether I get more pokes in.
Ya I don’t think it will be any harder and I can increase sooner instead of waiting 7 days, like i am with SLGS. Because I work Monday through Thursday and don’t always have enough time on lunch to come home, I might not always be able to get a mid cycle test during the day though. I could get a +1/1.5 before I leave for work, but that typically is a food spike for Blaze so I’m not sure how helpful that will be. Blaze usually goes low at night, not during the day so I feel like he will be fine during the time I’m at work on Monday through Thursday, and I have a timed feeder to leave the necessary carb % food while I’m at work. I always get a +2/3 and test more in the evening when necessary. I think it’s worth a try.
 
Exactly! I think you should give it a try too...Blaze needs the extra help right now (a dose increase)...

Hang in there Sarah!
Yes I definitely want to give TR a try! I was thinking of riding out this 1U until Tuesday, which would be when he his due for an increase. I know with TR, you can increase sooner, but I’m trying to time it to where the increase most likely will start taking affect closer to the days I’m off work. I’m hoping the increase will take 2-3 days to start showing its affect, which would put me around Thursday, which I’m off Friday through Sunday to monitor more. Waiting to start TR until Tuesday will also give me some time to get some advice from others (like you) so I feel a little more prepared to start a new protocol.
 
Exactly! I think you should give it a try too...Blaze needs the extra help right now (a dose increase)...

Hang in there Sarah!
I don’t know, maybe I should start the TR trial sooner to be able to increase him? His numbers haven’t been great. What do you think?
 
I don’t know, maybe I should start the TR trial sooner to be able to increase him? His numbers haven’t been great. What do you think?

All I can do is share with you what I'd do if it were me - obviously circumstances are slightly different since I work remotely - which comes with plenty of distractions but it's not the same as being away from home. However, with that said, Blaze has a long ways to go before he starts to get into the places where you'd worry more - those high numbers worry me - it's just not healthy for him to be up there in those high numbers for so long.

If you can swing it, you may want to switch to TR, increase the dose by .25 and see what his response is. Have your auto-feeder set up for when you're not there - just in case he decides one morning to be in a nice lower number and you need to leave. Then you can test more frequently when you're home and see how low he goes without the help of the auto-feeder.

What do yo think?
 
All I can do is share with you what I'd do if it were me - obviously circumstances are slightly different since I work remotely - which comes with plenty of distractions but it's not the same as being away from home. However, with that said, Blaze has a long ways to go before he starts to get into the places where you'd worry more - those high numbers worry me - it's just not healthy for him to be up there in those high numbers for so long.

If you can swing it, you may want to switch to TR, increase the dose by .25 and see what his response is. Have your auto-feeder set up for when you're not there - just in case he decides one morning to be in a nice lower number and you need to leave. Then you can test more frequently when you're home and see how low he goes without the help of the auto-feeder.

What do yo think?
I think that sounds good. I don’t like the numbers that Blaze has been in either, it can’t be good for him to be so high so often.

Do you think I should increase tonight or tomorrow morning then?

And when you say, test more frequently when you're home and see how low he goes without the help of the auto-feeder, do you mean to not feed him when he starts dropping in the evening? Or do you mean, I just don’t need to rely on the auto feeder when I’m home, I can test and feed accordingly based off his numbers?
 
Also, when starting TR, what is the no shoot number? On the mornings I work, I can possibly stall for 15-20 minutes without feeding to see if numbers are rising, but I can’t stay longer than that, due to needing to stay on schedule for work and also having to leave for work at a certain time. I want to be prepared for these situations.
 
Can you grab a test when you get home or is that pmps time?
It’s usually PMPS time when I get home. I’m sure there will be some occasions I will be off work early here and there and might be able to get a +11 test before PMPS, but I wouldn’t count on it happening often.
 
Can you grab a test when you get home or is that pmps time?
I do try to go home at lunch when I can, during the work week. But it’s not possible every day, I live 20-25 minutes away from work. Blaze rarely goes low during the day, if you look at what day time data I do have during the work week. He goes lower at night.
 
Do you think I should increase tonight or tomorrow morning then?

With numbers like these, I'd increase tonight.

And when you say, test more frequently when you're home and see how low he goes without the help of the auto-feeder, do you mean to not feed him when he starts dropping in the evening? Or do you mean, I just don’t need to rely on the auto feeder when I’m home, I can test and feed accordingly based off his numbers?

Feed him at shot time - always. After that get a test, if he has dropped 100 points or more, feed him to slow the drop...test again. Feed him if he's hungry and keep testing as long as the numbers are coming down. I know this is hard when you have to get up for work, and he may not decide to drop anytime soon...he's got a bit of work to do before those numbers are going to get into the range where you may have to set an alarm to get up and check on him...if it gets to be too much, too late and you're exhausted and have to get up for work the next day, then set up that auto-feeder with some higher carb food and gets some sleep...

You're already seeing a pattern that Blaze doesn't get much action during the daytime - it won't always be like that...but when you get an early test and then a 1 or 2+ before leaving, you'll know if he's going to drop fast and hard from his AM shot...and would fill the auto-feeder according...big drops = higher carb foods, so it will steer him back into higher numbers for when you aren't home.

IF you're feeling out of your depth, post here for help and advice. IF at any time you're uncomfortable with the accelerated dosing, you can back off...but you'll need to stay consistent with the dose for a few days...don't change the dose based on AM or PM preshots unless you get a number that according to your protocol is too low to shoot.

You've had a couple of months to sorta get the idea of how easily he responds, or not...so give it a try and let's see if he can get those numbers down a bit... :)
 
With numbers like these, I'd increase tonight.



Feed him at shot time - always. After that get a test, if he has dropped 100 points or more, feed him to slow the drop...test again. Feed him if he's hungry and keep testing as long as the numbers are coming down. I know this is hard when you have to get up for work, and he may not decide to drop anytime soon...he's got a bit of work to do before those numbers are going to get into the range where you may have to set an alarm to get up and check on him...if it gets to be too much, too late and you're exhausted and have to get up for work the next day, then set up that auto-feeder with some higher carb food and gets some sleep...

You're already seeing a pattern that Blaze doesn't get much action during the daytime - it won't always be like that...but when you get an early test and then a 1 or 2+ before leaving, you'll know if he's going to drop fast and hard from his AM shot...and would fill the auto-feeder according...big drops = higher carb foods, so it will steer him back into higher numbers for when you aren't home.

IF you're feeling out of your depth, post here for help and advice. IF at any time you're uncomfortable with the accelerated dosing, you can back off...but you'll need to stay consistent with the dose for a few days...don't change the dose based on AM or PM preshots unless you get a number that according to your protocol is too low to shoot.

You've had a couple of months to sorta get the idea of how easily he responds, or not...so give it a try and let's see if he can get those numbers down a bit... :)
Okay then, we will start our TR trial tonight and give 1.25U tonight!

And I just want to make sure I understand you, test/feed/shoot and get a test at +1 after insulin, or do you mean get a test sooner than +1 after insulin? On work days, I will only be able to get a +1 after AM shot, I leave shortly after that so if he’s dropping at +1, I will load up the auto feeder and do my best to make it home on my lunch on days like that.
When he’s dropping at +1/+2, say 50 points or more, do you recommend feeding MC food to slow the drop? Or would you suggest HC for those situations? Like what % of carb do you recommend?

And when starting TR, what should my no shoot number be? No shot if pre shot is 150 or lower? Until I get more data/more comfortable?
 
Most cats do drop more at night for some unexplained reason.

If you can get +9 or +10 on days you work then more mid cycle on days when home will be fine.
 
Most cats do drop more at night for some unexplained reason.

If you can get +9 or +10 on days you work then more mid cycle on days when home will be fine.
+9 or +10 during the day? I won’t be home from work for those tests. I’m not usually home from work until PMPS time.
I’m going to do my best with this TR trial and get the tests I can with what my work schedule allows.
 
It was a thought. It will work, you will do just fine.
I appreciate it Paula! I wish I were able to get those mid cycle tests during the day! I will just have to get them on the weekends. Thank you:) I think I can make this work. Thankfully I have you guys here to help me out!:bighug:
 
Back
Top