10/19 Blackie PMPS 221; +4 99; +5 59; +6 58 +6.5 63

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27663

We'll see what today brings.

I read somewhere that in order to earn a dose decrease, the kitty has to be consistently giving low #'s < 50 for a week. I looked at Blackie's SS and it was only 5 days (10 cycles) when she received the last one. The time before that, if you only count the 4.75u, including the 4.75s, was only 4 days (8 cycles). Those weren't quite a week. Just curious. I obviously don't mind reducing her dose when she hits a # < 50 on any given day. :) Just thought we'd have to wait that week instead of less time.
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie AMPS 270

some people give dose decreases after they hit 40 or lower, some wait until they hit below 50 3 times. I think it depends on how well your cat sustains those decreases.

Hope you and Blackie have a great day
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie AMPS 270

Hmm.... Ok. In your opinion, how does she look if you looked at her SS? Meaning, does she look like she sustains the decreases pretty well each time, or do I need to hold the dose and see if she will give me low #'s for a few times and then decrease the dose? (hope that makes sense).
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie AMPS 270

I don't want to say much in the way of Blackies SS because I have a hard enough time seeing a pattern on mochas, but mocha is a VERY hard to regulate kitty, and does NOT hold reductions well, so we do the tight protocol where she has to go under 50 three times, on the same dose, on different days. If they are greatly spaced out, we start recounting. If mocha goes under 40 she earns an automatic reduction, though most of the times we shoot through her rebound before reducing. But like I said, mocha has no rhyme or reason to her numbers and she is very hard to regulate. I hope someone will be along soon with better eyes for blackies SS .. have a great day guys!!
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie AMPS 270; +2 173

+2 173

Thank you, ladies. :) Just a curious thing, is all. After all, nobody minds reducing a cat's insulin the first day that the magic number shows up. LOL

All in all, I think Blackie holds her reductions well. I guess it would be up to the individual kitty.
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie AMPS 270; +2 173

Nice +2 for Blackie!
Angela...here is the link to the starred sticky about "tight Regulation" viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

It states:
Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

--- If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.


You can read the links in that sticky for the Tilly page and/or Dosing Protocol for Cats on Lantus/glargine or Levemir/detemir Using Daily Home Monitoring of Blood Glucose Concentrations to Adjust Insulin Dose

Do you recall where you read that in order to earn a dose decrease, the kitty has to be consistently giving low #'s < 50 for a week? It's best if yo stick with the dosing Protocols in the sticky anyway, okay?

Hope you both have a great day!
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie AMPS 270; +2 173

I can't remember where I found it, however, I've saved the 2 links in my favs. Just 'cuz.

Basically, though, I just keep on doing what I'm doing with regards to the dose decreases, right? If she gives me a # < 50 today, then tonight's dose will be a 4.0u instead of the current 4.25u, correct?
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie AMPS 270; +2 173; +4 147

Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
I can't remember where I found it, however, I've saved the 2 links in my favs. Just 'cuz.

Basically, though, I just keep on doing what I'm doing with regards to the dose decreases, right? If she gives me a # < 50 today, then tonight's dose will be a 4.0u instead of the current 4.25u, correct?

That is correct! Glad that you saved the links...it's good to refer to them every once in awhile...good job!
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie AMPS 270; +2 173; +4 147

No sense in confusing this bean anymore than she's already confused. LOL I like the "increase the dose the first time you see a # < 50" idea better. :)
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie AMPS 270 +2 173 +4 147 +5 162

I just weighed her on our bathroom scale (the old dial type), and I know it's not 100% accurate, however, according to it, she's 11 lbs. The last time she was weighed, she was about 9 - 9.5 lbs. Diet time for one of and it's not me. LOL Knew she was looking a bit more on the chunky side. She's eating 2 1/2 cans of FF T&G a day (1 can each after PS, and 1/4 can about each +6 time), and normally gets about 3-4 cooked meat treats after each testing. I've now started giving her 1 meat treat after testing. I'll be reducing her 1/4 can to 1/8 can 2x a day now. I think that'll work. I know that the insulin also puts on weight, too. Bad insulin! LOL Bad, but good, but bad insulin. LOL
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie AMPS 270 +2 173 +4 147 +5 162

I think 11 lbs could be OK as Moonie weighs about that--She also eats about 2 cans a day of FF, and I would'nt reduce her food, as it is what she needs--
especially if she should drop, Moonie will self feed--Angela, Moonie had a real blue day yesterday & low & behold, today she is green..
I never lower her dose, unless she is in the 40's twice or 3 times, in a number of days, as she is an long timer--I use Shaves instead, which work for her-
Blackie is looking good today! Blue is real good too!!--Have a good Tuesday!
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie AMPS 270 +2 173 +4 147 +5 162 +6 149

Thank you, Roni. :) Congratulations on the :mrgreen: numbers today! :)

I won't reduce her 2 full meals, but I will reduce the +6 and the bedtime meal by 1/8th (so instead of her getting 1/4 can 2x a day, it'll be 1/8th can 2x a day, plus the meat treats between her 2 full meals). She's also getting the turkey/chicken bites after each test,too. Blackie's a smallish cat... One of her daughters is small in stature like she is, just not wide like Blackie is.
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie AMPS 270 +2 173 +4 147 +5 162 +6 149

Do you remove their food 2 hrs. before their breakfast & dinner??--Most of the time my DH forgets, or I do--BRB going to weigh Moonie-EEEKKK!! :lol:
Moonie weighs 10.6 lbs! That's pretty good!!--She was very thin at 9.9 lbs at dx in 2008.
So Blackie isnt that far off the mark--A pound is quite a bit in a cat--I think you are doing a good job!!
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie AMPS 270 +2 173 +4 147 +5 162 +6 149

Again, thank you, Roni. :) I think Blackie needs to shed that 1 lb., though, and I'll try my idea for a week and see where she's at next week. Hopefully, it'll make a difference. For her +6 meal, I fed her 1/8 can of FF T&G with 3 pcs of boiled turkey on top of it. For each test treat, she'll get 1 boiled turkey pc. She is a bit hefty, and I guess I wasn't seeing things. LOL Fat and diabetic don't make good bed fellows.
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie AMPS 270 +2 173 +4 147 +5 162 +6 149

Good job Angela and Blackie's numbers look very nice today. Gracie lost weight, too, but now she's put it back on (those HCs when she's low don't help :lol: :lol: ). I use the calorie calculator on Dr. Pierson's site: I want Gracie to stay at about 8.5 lbs (she's little) so 8.5 x 15 = 127.5 so I give her between 130-135 calories/day...I do like Ann and measure her food out. Otherwise, I'm afraid she'll get back up to 9.2 lbs where I think she is a little "shubby" (as my housekeeper says).
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie AMPS 270 +2 173 +4 147 +5 162 +6 149 +8 16

+8 169; fed her 3 turkey pcs this time. (I know... I'm venturing off my own "rule" LOL)

I can't leave food out because of the others, and she'd be meowing all day long if I left her locked up in a room with LB, food and water. She doesn't like being locked up. I know because I have to keep her behind closed doors to allow the others to finish eating, and in case anyone decides to make a mess, which needs to be cleaned up before she finds it and ruins those good #'s of the day. While I'm waiting on the others, she's already done, and wanting to be let out. I have to keep talking to her to try and calm her down, but it never works. LOL

I don't measure her food. I simply give her 1 full can 2x a day (every 12 hours), and between at +6 in the day time she used to get 1/4 can with a few meat bites, and again 1/4 can with a few meat bites before my bedtime. Now, it's still 1 full can 2x a day, but 1/8 can with a few meat bites each time at +6 and before my bedtime, and a meat bite (or 2) after each test).
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie PMPS 221

... And the battle continues... LOL I'm thinking today was a bounce day due to the fact that I had given her MC yesterday to keep her stable. Perhaps a tad too much MC...? One of these days... She'll maybe give me some greens again... One of these days. LOL
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie PMPS 221; +4 99

yeah, right at bedtime. guess you are going to be up for a while yet. got the baseball game on? The hubz is watching but I'm not. I jinxed them the other night - the only game I watch all year they lose. Then I don't watch and they win. So I'm not watching. You know, I think I remember reading something about reductions after several times in the 50's but it was directed at long-term FD kitties and that's not us, so it didn't really stick with me. I read and read every chance I get and it some of it gets to running together. KWIM? Have a good night you guys.
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie PMPS 221; +4 99; +5 59; +6 58

+5 59
+6 58 - fed 1 pc turkey bite

No, she's not a long term diabetic since she was diagnosed March 13th of this year. I'll be testing 1/2 hour. I'm hoping that she'll hit a lower green so that I can feed her some MC and hit the sack. LOL :) I'm not a night owl.
 
Re: 10/19 Blackie PMPS 221; +4 99; +5 59; +6 58

good luck on Blackie's numbers. smart of you to go with the turkey for a snack - 0% carbs, right?
 
+6.5 63

Fed 1 tsp MC and 3 pcs turkey bites to keep her from dropping further, should she decide to. Expect a bounce tomorrow, or next day. Off to bed as it's 12:37 a.m. CST here, and I've set the alarm for 5;30 a.m. to give test and shot and food.

Yes, cooked turkey bites has 0% carbs. (I think) She gets FF T&G, which I think is 3.9% carbs, if I'm not mistaken. Goodnight folks. See you in a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top