10/19/21 Squints AMPS 96, 52+2, 45+4, 50+4.5, 59 +5 ...PMPS 445, 347 +2, 172 +4, 144 +5, 160+6

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by StephanieNJ, Oct 19, 2021.

  1. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    Good morning - I was wondering if someone can help me.

    He wasn't below 50, but he was 52 once this morning.

    I was wondering if I should lower dose to 1.5
    I am trying to understand the TR rules.

    thank you for any advice
     
  2. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Please test again right now

    Did you shoot or skip
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2021
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  3. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    It looks like he is breaking a bounce. Since you got such a low preshot, ideally you would have stalled without feeding for 20 minutes and then retested to see if he was still sliding down

    You may be in for a long day - the slide, combined with Lantus kicking in will likely keep him on the lower side all day

    Also, please do put your test values in subject like first, and the TR Advice part at the end. People scanning the board this morning would have jumped on this one to help if they saw the 96 then 52.
     
  4. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    Unfortunately no one is home to test
     
  5. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    When will someone be home? Can anyone head home now? Does he have food left out?

    In the future if you get a number like that and absolutely have to leave it's best to leave some higher carb food
     
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  6. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    I did feed him before I left. I gave him some friskies pate and tiki cat mousse
     
  7. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Ok hopefully that keeps him afloat but someone should try to get home as soon as they can. Little hard to say if he's going to continue to drop, "surf" in greens, or bounce again
     
  8. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Update for anyone stopping by, she did shoot, is heading home to check on him. I advised 2 tsp HC right away and test while he's eating it just in case
     
  9. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    At 45 at what I think is +4, hopefully she pops over soon to update
     
  10. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    59 after HC, she had to go back to work. Advised to leave 1/2 can MC, may put him into higher numbers but will hopefully keep him afloat
     
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s important to put the amps and tests in the subject. It’s good you updated the ss though.
     
  12. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    Can I drop his dose down to 1.5 when we do the PM dosing.
     
  13. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    With a drop to 45 likely yes. I would decrease the dose. Congrats!
     
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  14. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    yayyyy!! Thank you. this wouldn't be possible without the help from all of you on here!
     
    FrostD and tiffmaxee like this.
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    When you get a green amps and know you will need to leave at +3 for work, feed and get a +1 to see if there’s a food bump. If not or minimal feed a little higher lc, around 9% and see the +2. I can’t imagine how worried you must have been leaving. It was good you fed hc and left out food.


    Do you have an auto feeder? Seeing how good Squint is doing I think you need one if you can get Squint to eat from one. I wish I had started using one. By the time I did Max was deaf and I never took it out of the box.
     
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  16. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    I was scared to death!! I wanted to stay home with him!! He's my first baby LOL
    I just told my husband to stop at Petsmart to get an autofeeder. One was recommended on the Feline Diabetes facebook page. Its Petsafe 5-meal auto feeder.
     
    FrostD likes this.
  17. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I don’t think I would have been able to shoot and leave but good that you did. That’s the feeder used a lot here. I would start using it while you are home so she gets used to it.
     
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  18. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Just checking in, I see the PMPS. This is a bounce because he went low today, possibly combined with the food I had you leave out. It's normal and expected. Had.you been home the whole cycle we'd have been able to steer it a little better, but prior was keeping him safe.

    If you can, I'd suggest getting some +9s and +11s the cycles where he bounces, it will help us see when he might be breaking the bounce and give advice as to how to handle it if you won't be home. So tonight Id try to get a +9 and +11 if possible, same with tomorrow when you get home. It can last a few cycles, but some cats do clear them quickly.
     
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  19. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    +9 would be 2am here
    Is that correct?
     
  20. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Ah didn't realize it was so early. Just one test sometime around +10 or +11 would work. Basically we just want a heads up if he's dropping coming into the next cycle like he did last night. So if +10 to PS shows a drop, it changes things a little
     
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  21. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    Ok.
     
  22. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    For the future when you see a big bounce at preshot when a reduction has been earned you have the option of shooting through the bounce. You could have shot 1.75 tonight and then reduced tomorrow morning. Sometimes that helps shorten the highs or even the duration of the bounce. It’s just an option.
    If high at +2 you won’t need more tests tonight. If much less than PMPS I would get at least one more test.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2021
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  23. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    Ok. I will post test results when I get them. Thank you
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  24. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    347 +2
     
    FrostD likes this.
  25. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    That’s a big drop. I’d get a +4.
     
    FrostD and StephanieNJ like this.
  26. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    172 +4
     
  27. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Hoo boy.

    Wait abiut 5 mins for Elise to chime in, but I'd feed about 2 tsp LC. Test again in an hour
     
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  28. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    So quick explanation - you still have the depot leftover from the higher dose. So when you reduce, that depot can still affect things for a few cycles. He's got quite a bit of downward momentum too, he may go low again tonight, we'll see what next test says.
     
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  29. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Yeah he's dropping fast. I'd feed him a teaspoon or 2 of his regular food and test again in an hour to see if he's still dropping so fast
     
    StephanieNJ and FrostD like this.
  30. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  31. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Yes I will keep an eye out for the next test.
     
    FrostD and StephanieNJ like this.
  32. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    Hes eating some LC food now. I will retest in an hour
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  33. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Sorry I wasn’t around. I was watching the dodgers and then making dinner and feeding my cats. I’ll check back.
     
    StephanieNJ and FrostD like this.
  34. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I would test an hour from the last test in case he’s still dropping.
     
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  35. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    Should I test an hour from when he finished eating, or now (this an hour from last test)
     
  36. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    How long ago did he finish eating.?
     
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  37. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    He was done at like 930.
     
  38. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I am in Australia so 9.30 means nothing to me sorry. You need to either talk in + number of hours after shot or just say 1/2 an hour ago.
     
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  39. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    If it's been more than 30 minutes since he ate, go ahead and test now

    ETA....it takes 20-30 minutes for food to get broken down and into the bloodstream, so testing sooner than that really won't tell you much. Now if you ever use a simple sugar like Karo, honey or syrup, that gets into the bloodstream faster and you should start to see something in about 15 minutes (we use those when they've dropped so low that we need to get them up NOW)
     
  40. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    144 +5
     
  41. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    OK at least that's slowed down how fast he was dropping. We'd expect a 30 point drop between +4 and +5.

    How you doing? Think you can test one more time in an hour? (with no more food)
     
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  42. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    He’s slowed down. I’d test again in 1 hour, but don’t feed him any more.
     
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  43. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Two people, sharing one brain again!....LOL
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) and FrostD like this.
  44. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    I can do it.
     
    tiffmaxee and Chris & China (GA) like this.
  45. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    We'll see you in an hour then!
     
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  46. StephanieNJ

    StephanieNJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    160 +6
     
  47. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    We have to stop meeting like this Chris!
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  48. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Looking good. I think you are ok to go to bed. What do you think Chris?
    I’d leave him out a small low carb Snack to have when he wants.
     
    StephanieNJ likes this.
  49. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I agree....time to get some well deserved Zzzzzz's!!
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  50. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Do either of you have guidance for AM, shoot/no shoot/BCS cutoffs? She shoots at 2am here and not many are around. She grabs a +2 then is gone all day for work (today I caught her on FB and she ran home).
     
  51. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    She shoots at 2am/2pm EST?

    I'd stick with the 1.5 as long as he's over 150 and depending on the +2, leave some LC, MC or HC down
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  52. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    I'm sorry, 5a/5p. But still usually very quiet
     
  53. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Whew! That makes more sense at least! Yeah, that's a pretty dead time around here, but now that @Bron and Sheba (GA) is back (not sure what time that is for her though...I think 8pm?) maybe she can keep an eye out for her.

    Also, I'll let @Bandit's Mom know to try to peek in since I know she's up then!
     

Share This Page